1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problem installing ancient version of XP

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Dan2312, Jul 20, 2009.

  1. Dan2312

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    217 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    England!
    Im attempting to dual boot,

    Im stuck on installing xp, my partitions are ready to accept XP, but on the MS DOS style screen in the installer, it only detects on partition at 131Gb,

    ive read its because its an old installer for xp, is there anyway around this?

    Cheers.
     
  2. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    Your best bet is to either borrow someone elses XP disk or download an ISO from a torrent site. As long as you own a legitimate key you aren't doing anything wrong.
     
  3. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,868 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Or if you have another system go and download/install nlite, http://www.nliteos.com/ and also download SP2,http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...BE-3B8E-4F30-8245-9E368D3CDB5A&displaylang=en, or SP3,http://www.microsoft.com/downloadS/...A8-5E76-401F-BE08-1E1555D4F3D4&displaylang=en. Once nlite's installed go to C:\ and make a folder named XP Pro/Home or whatever you want. Now explore the OS CD and copy all of the files to the folder you created in C:\. Open up nlite and direct it to the O/S folder you created. Once it's done figuring out the O/S then all your going to do is slipstream the Service Pack and make a bootable image. Once you have your bootable image burn it and use your key you were using before and your now in good hands.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,010 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,311
    ^ what he said.

    Depending on where you find it, it may be hard to find a legit SP3 disk without cracks/activation hacks and such.

    Make sure to match versions too (home/pro, etc)
     
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,056 (6.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,052
    Mussels says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. richardbel

    richardbel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    261 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    vancouver
    +1 on the poster above.. and yeah use a legit one.. or are guessing you using a crack one? :shadedshu
     
  7. Dan2312

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    217 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    England!
    Already done and dusted, id NEVER get any copy of windows from a torrent site.its so dodgy.
     
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,056 (6.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,052
    I know you already did it, I just re-posted it here incase someone else comes looking for the same thing and finds this thread.:toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page