1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problem isntalling nvidia display drivers in vista...

Discussion in 'General Software' started by FilipM, Sep 25, 2008.

  1. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Right, i am trying to install nvidia display drivers in vista (in this case 178.13 and I DON'T get the prob in XP) I get the message:

    "Installshield Wizard Complete"
    "The system has not been modified. To install this program at a later time, run the installation again."


    And after that there is only the Finish button available, PhysX setup never started.

    :shadedshu

    I had this same problem with 177.83; 177.92 but not with the 177.98, I.E. the drivers that have physX included in them give me this problem.

    What i do: uninstall old driver from control panel, reboot, reboot in safe mode, run driver sweeper, reboot in normal mode and run the setup.


    Anyone have any ideas on how to fix this it makes me get a baseball bat and destroy the whole pc...
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2008
  2. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Bump - sorry if too quick
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    Try doing what you are doing, only do not run driver sweeper in safe mode, do it the regular way, reboot, do it again to make sure, then install the new drivers.
     
  4. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    No, that did not work...
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    Bummer... Ok, after using driver sweeper and rebooting, have you gone into "regedit" and use the search function to look for any other Nvidia entries? Do you have UAC (user account control) running?
     
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,358 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,664
    Location:
    Florida
    disable auto driver installation in wondows because it will attempt to everytime you uninstall drivers etc.
     
  7. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    I did not went in registry to check, but I re-checked with driver sweeper and it found nothing. UAC is turned off.


    How do i do that? - Got it, never mind on that, let me try now.
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2008
  8. yoelikooo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Im having the same problem !!! im running win vista 64bit 9800gx2 and i have 2 operating systems ... on the other is xp sp3 ... I cant believe i wasted tha whole day trying to install the ***** driver ...nothing works ...
    if any1 can help us out will be appreciate !
     
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,358 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,664
    Location:
    Florida
    control panel>system>(left hand pain) advanced settings>hardware tab>windows update driver settings>check "never check for drives when i connect a device"
     
  10. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    I disabled it completely, went in the driver update in the display settings and told it to ask me when it does something and it still finds standard display drivers for the graphics card and installs them.

    Not working again...back on 177.98 now...
     
  11. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    bump
     
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,118 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,177
    Are you sure you are using the correct driver package? Make sure you are using the Vista specific drivers.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  13. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,590 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    I doubt this is the problem, but check if the driver you're installing needs a modded .inf file.
     
  14. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Yes I am using winvista 32 bit drivers, I am almost sure that physX makes a problem so i will take out the physX installer out of them and then try installing them one by one.
     
  15. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    YES! I got it working! So if anyone is having trouble installing any driver that includes PhysX in them, simply extract the .exe file to a folder, drag out the PhysX exe and install the driver first then PhysX.

    Thanks for your help anyway!
     
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,118 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,177
    Ah, good to know. Driver sweeper gives you the option to uninstall the Ageia PhysX drivers too, just out of curiousity, did you try doing that before you got it working?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  17. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Well, what i do is first uninstall physx from control panel, uninstall drivers, restart, restart in safe mode, driver sweeper snd run it on bot physx and nvidia. If thats what youre thinking, nope it doesnt help.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page