1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

problem of regulation CPU

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by sizzla, Dec 28, 2013.

  1. sizzla

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    24 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    reunion island
    hello. since reinstalling my windows, I noticed that my CPU bus speed drop every moment which lowers the frequency of the core, all my drivers are up to date I put the CPU cooler on liability in the management power, I deactivated "cool and quiet", ecc and ce1 in the bios and I put a fixed frequency on the bus speed but the frequency continues to decline each time however the frequency remained fixed before réinstalling. you have an idea? thank you
     
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,861 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,464
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Try setting your "Power options" to "High performance". That should keep the clock speed up, but then you lose a bit of power saving when your machine isn't doing anything. Fully loading the CPU should make it bump back up again, then back down when it stops. You don't need performance if the machine isn't doing anything. This sounds pretty normal to me.
     
    sizzla says thanks.
  3. sizzla

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    24 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    reunion island
    thank you for your answer. I solved the problem because I forget to change the power state when the CPU goes into "low state." I also forget to mention that during the games, when the CPU is loaded 100%, it also drop 3 ghz or even less, and it was losing fps (not much but it bothers me ^ ^) :)
     
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,861 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,464
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    If your overclock isn't holding, the CPU could be throttling. I would find out how warm the CPU is running under load. I've found 4Ghz to always be a bit challenging, on both a 960T and a 965. My 940 never could hit 4Ghz stable.

    As I said before though, I would check CPU temps.
     
    sizzla says thanks.
  5. sizzla

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    24 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    reunion island
    Capture005.jpg yes it was a real challenge! after several hours of testing and crash. it was necessary to 1.515v core voltage to 1.3v and cpu / nb. in digi + power, it was necessary to put the energetics capacity CPU 130% and the load line calibration to extreme, blow in when the CPU is in full load voltage rise to 1.535v core voltage to stay stable. but this setting is possible through my h100i I configure a way that when the CPU is at 55 °, fans and pumps running full-speed. therefore I never exceed 63°. its been nearly one year and a half as I turn her. I try to stick to 4.4ghz as a user's post on the forum but after SEVERAL test I concluded that it was impossible because of the tension need to apply (1.610v! 70 ° in a few minutes in the desktop), so the maximum allowable for my 955 be it is 4.1ghz.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2013
  6. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    That much voltage is not required. You do not need to alter much of those Digi VRM settings either. Just set the Load Line calibration to Extreme and set the CPU voltage to 1.4375V and the multi to x20. Another tip, I recommend you to set the CPU/NB multi to x14 i.e. 2800 MHz. That increases a lot of memory bandwidth and L3 cache bandwidth. Enter the CPU/NB voltage to 1.3V manually. :)
    This is the performance I get at 3.86 GHz. I am using the stock cooler and so I cannot do 4 GHz 24/7. But I overclocked two 955s of my friends with good coolers and both of them were stable at the above settings. All are C3 revisions.

    [​IMG]
     
    sizzla says thanks.
  7. sizzla

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    24 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    reunion island
    on my motherboard I do not have the option to change the CPU / NB multi therefore for the NB frequency and HT frequency at 2800 mhz, I am forced to push the FSB to 280 and manually set HT and NB 2800 mhz. by its I can not put my 1333mhz RAM as options go a 1085,1400,1830mhz or more. so this is why that I am simply push the ratio to 20. if you have a solution to push my FSB while keeping a 1333mzh RAM ... I'm interested ^ ^
     
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,861 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,464
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You really should try to keep your CPU under 60*C. You could be damaging your CPU with it getting higher. Just an FYI.

    Additionally you 12v rail seems to be a little low. 11.6 is okay, but anything below 11.4 is out of ATX spec (+/- 5% tolerance). I'm assuming you're PSU is okay, but why such a big PSU for such a machine?
     
  9. sizzla

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    24 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    reunion island
    lol. I agree with you to the temperature and the voltage rail. the person who sold me the SLi had this PSU, he not sell it to me cheap because he had to leave the country so I enjoy to buy and replace my 650w. I know its a lot 1200w but for the price I think I would have no other opportunity like this (90 euros ) :)
     
  10. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Interesting! Can you post me a picture of the screen of the overclocking options?

    I get these on my board(taken a few months before)

    [​IMG]


     
    Aquinus and sizzla say thanks.
  11. sizzla

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    24 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    reunion island
    sorry for the delay but there was a hurricane in my country and I had no internet for a while. thank you very much for this screenshot because I see clearer now I like you parameterize to the difference in the ratio I leave 20 and there is a better now. in fact it is the HT link which can vary without affecting the FSB and suddenly changing it's almost as impossible to have a value of 1333mhz RAM unless you know one. one last question is this-taht changed the spread spectrum of cpu and pcie bring me something? thank you
     
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,861 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,464
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Spread spectrum is to reduce EMI on a particular frequency, it's used to "spread" the EMI over a wider bandwidth. I haven't found it to impact my overclock on my Intel CPU, but I've traditionally disabled it when I overclock AMD CPUs, but I'm not completely sure if it's necessary. It won't hurt your machine if it's on or off, that's for sure. It's a system stability thing.

    Wikipedia might have a little insight to what it's actually doing.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spread_spectrum#Spread-spectrum_clock_signal_generation

    Edit: Wikipedia says...
    It's not sourced, so I wouldn't rely on it, but it could explain why turning it off would be better for higher overclocks.
     
    itsakjt says thanks.
  13. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    I see. Well if that is the issue, you can keep your RAMs stable at 1400 MHz I think. 66 MHz is small. HT link increase does not increase performance but always keep it equal to or greater than the effective RAM speed. For the CPU/NB, can you set it using the +/- keys on the keyboard? You might get a few options marked UNSUPPORTED. But after a few, you will get 2000 MHz, 2400, 2600 and it goes. If you don't get those, I think it has something to do with the optimization for FX.
     
    sizzla says thanks.
  14. sizzla

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    24 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    reunion island
    ok thanks a lot bro ! i 'll try this
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page