1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problem somewhere?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by pentastar111, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    996 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    Left4dead2 stutters intermitantly no matter what I do. problem never happened till I trried getting newer drivers. Installed win7 3 times so far and the same thing happens. I've taken out and reinstalled the vid cards...no change. Ran the vid cards one at atime and together...no change. Did the same with the ram sticks...no change. Is this a HHD issue or am I looking at a mobo change out....oooooooorr more windows corruption? Please help.
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2010
  2. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    Id look into bios settings. Maybe try and reset it and check how it runs on defaults ? What about other games ? Also this is often caused by overheating


    PS. The thread subject is not really informative.Your language is native to your location you could at least try to use some spell check to fix your typing...
     
  3. Mr McC

    Mr McC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    323
    Did you go back to the old drivers? Did you ensure that all remnants of the new drivers that broke the game were removed?

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=52502

    Edit: if you have reinstalled Windows 3 times, there is clearly something else going on, so ignore my previous questions. Have you checked the in-game settings?
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2010
  4. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    996 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    unfortunately win7 will not allow me to do load my own...The game runs smooth on my older machine...so i know it's not a problem with steam. Anyway back to the drivers...I tried to install new drivers before and this os kept downloading it's own even after disabling that feature...even on the fresh install without doing anything to the drivers, the game stutters. so I thinking hardware.
     
  5. Mr McC

    Mr McC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    323
    Sorry I am confused, are you saying that Win7 will not allow you to install the appropriate Nvidia drivers after reinstalling the OS?
     
  6. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    996 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    come to think of it, on one of the reboots it said it shut down because of an OC...I havent OC'd this thing in about 14 months. Had a bugger of a time getting it going again. battery removal, resetting jumpers etc. But the stuttering or hicupping was there when i first ran into the driver fiasco and then continued after that OC message. Nothing has changed
     
  7. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    996 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    that is correct. Ive even ordered another copy of win7 a 64bit version to see if that might fix it by chance. I've run out of ideas...Although for some odd reason i think it is more mobo related. I hope i am not right.
     
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    hmm, sounds like you need to install the older drivers which it should allow you to do. If not, completely reformat and see if that helps.
     
  9. Mr McC

    Mr McC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    323
    I thought he had completely reformatted, he says he (or she) installed Win7 3 times and yet was prevented from installing Nvidia drivers on each fresh OS installation. I have no idea what is going on there. :confused:
     
  10. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    996 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    That is correct He did install the os three times and each time was FORCED to use default drivers that windows loaded.
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2010
  11. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    996 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    bump
     
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,678 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,072
    So what happens when you try to install the latest drivers from Nvidia's website?
     
  13. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    996 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    Even with the auto install feature disabled it install it's own driver.
     
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,678 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,072
    Ok, did you try installing the correct drivers over it?
     
  15. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,204 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    974
    Location:
    Miami
    go to User Account Control - put to minimal level.

    Then device manager, select the videocard and click - remove this device.... restart... install VGA drivers (standard VGA - Non Nvidia)... restart.

    then launch the nvidia setup.
     
  16. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    996 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    Yep it still hiccups...runs smooth for about 8 seconds then a hiccup then smooth then another hiccup. Guess I' just start buying and replacing stuff till it's fixed. if that doesnt fix it, I guess it time to say goodby to pC"s and I'll just get an Xbox
     
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,678 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,072
    I don't get it? I'll ask again, did you try installing the latest downloaded Nvidia drivers over the drivers that Windows automatically installs?
     
  18. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    996 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    Yep and it's the same damn thing. This game runs smooth a slik on my old comp but not on this newer, more expensive paperweight. I am about ready to take a hammer to it, and toss it in the trash. I am thinking of a mobo and YET another HDD change. My cards rungreat in the q6600 machine...maybe something to do with the pcie slots on this Foxconn board? I am going to go bald with this stupid problem.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2010
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    What's the exact specs of the ram you have? Also what voltage does your board default the sticks to?
     
  20. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    996 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    G.Skill ddr3 1600 at 1.60 volts...the defaults. i have a 3 gig set and a six gig set both run the same. Same issues with all six sticks...I do not think it is the ram.
     
  21. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    996 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    By the way these gtx 285's run great on the 680i mobo. I think the problem is with the pci-e slots. I do believe this bloodrage has taken a crap.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2010
  22. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    996 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    bump
     
  23. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    996 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    Well im getting another mobe....The suttering occurs on b oth drives, in Vista and the win7. Stuttering occurs on all games and 3dmark Vantage. Swaapped cards to the older Q6600 machine and they work great...put the 8800GTS in this rig and the same stuttering occurs...So after three fresh installs of the OS and countlees removal and reinstalltion of these damn drivers I have determined it is most likely a communication problem with the vid cards or a pci-e problem. Any other ideas?
     
  24. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    996 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    Just like I thought, it was the mobo. Got my new EVGA X58 and I'm back up and running smooth, sporting my new 64 bit OS!:D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page