1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

problem with ECS NFORCE4M-A(v1.1)

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by joinmeindeath417, Aug 8, 2006.

  1. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    so i just upgraded to AM2 and there seems to be a problem with my Mainboard or my CPU?? i bought a 3800+ x2 and its reading 50-60 degrees idle with a coolermaster cooler (better than the stock) even with the stock it was reading 60 degrees i havent overclocked the processor and it still reads up to 60 degrees idle....im thinking its the onboard probe and if thats the case if its misreading it keeps shutting down towards 70 degrees i thought it was a falesafe for the motherboard so it doesnt fry the cpu but i checked to see if there was a way to shut it off and i dont think there is...a processor shouldnt be reading 60 degrees celsius right? i mean my old 3000+ and even my gf's 3800+ (sk 939) read around 38 degrees idle with stock processor

    oh and i have 4 case fans in my computer and no wires showing so there is plenty of airflow

    thanks for any advice on that...
     
  2. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    Did you use the correct amount of thermal paste?
     
  3. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    i beleive so i put a layer on the whole IHS like it said to...
     
  4. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    feel the heatsink. how is it? make sure its putting enough pressure on it aswell.
     
  5. randomperson21

    randomperson21 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,535 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    what are you using to read these temps? i know the ecs nforcer-a939 has some issues with that if you're not using a specified nvidia thingy. is this thru bios?
    I'd reccomend using nvidia monitor that comes with the nvidia ntune package. it seems to give the most accurate readings.

    and like dippyskoodlez said, i'd reccomend checking your hsf. You only need a thin layer of thermal paste, or if you are using a stock hsf, you don't need any because i think it comes with one of those little pads.

    just for refrence, my 939 x2 with a zalman cnps7700(i think thats the number) is getting 34idle, 45 load.
     
  6. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    its the nforce4M am2 verson motherboard i felt the heatsink and its not hot at all...hehthe heatsink is pressed against the IHS and its still reading almost 50-60 degrees idle and thats with a coolermaster heatsink not the stock and it got good reviews so i bought a gigabyte motherboard (not a budget board) this is my first ECS board and will probably be my last -_- i've always used gigabyte and asus, never really ECS but hey you get what you pay for i guess thanks for the help :)
     
  7. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    though a bit off the subject, ECS makes great mobos. Its probably just a thermal probe installed wrong (I hope I said that right) alot of times, some folks or some manufacturers will put probes in the wrong places or in spots where it interferes with cooling, like between the cpu and hsf. Not saying that is the case with you, but the probes could be wrong.
     
  8. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    yeah i know that, and rather than RMA'ing it and waiting for another one i'd jsut spend about 40 dollars more and get this...http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813128321


    i love gigabyte and there tech support is good and they update there bios ..ect alot so i mean alls well that ends well :p
     
  9. jph1589

    jph1589 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    126 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm am curious

    I am curious why you are ready to assume the problem is the motherboard?

    I am also curious why you bought the ECS board in the first place if you don't like them.

    I have two machines I built with ECS boards in them and they are both rock solid.

    **EDIT** Also, what kind of thermal paste did you use.

    Also, what are your cpu temps after 10 minutes in the bios monitor screen?
     
  10. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cause i've tried more than one heatsink that is compatable with that processor, the cpu temp was always above 50 degrees C when i would initally boot the computer, and even so after 10 min. it only got hotter, there is no way at stock clock and no volt increase it should be reaching that temp. i've tried silicon based,arctic 5 based and thermal grease all resulting in the same readout, even so when i tried to use a benchmarking program ot see if that was the case even so about 5-10 minutes into the test my computer would shut down (Fail-safe i assume) so no bad words towards ECS this is my first board from them, the only reason i say its my last is cause i've never gone wrong with gigabyte, or asus, or jetway, i know not every motherboard is perfect but why get another ECS if i had spent just as much extra money for trying to figure out the problem and at no point was it sovled at this point i might as well just buy the gigabyte mobo for 40 dollars
     
  11. jph1589

    jph1589 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    126 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Imo

    You should do what I suggested and monitor the temps in the bios screen for 10 minutes. That will give you an acurate load temperature reading from the bios.

    If the issue is just that you hate the ecs motherboard though, by all means make lawn art out of it and get something else.
     
  12. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey

    i dont hate ECS i really dont it was a budget board it was only 55 dollars or something around that, even if waiting in the bios for 10 minutes to get an accurate readout that still is odd that my Computer shuts down in the middle of a stress test when its not overclocked at all ....it couldbe something in the motherboard i mean maybe in the future when i can afford a higher end ECS i'll buy it i mean alot of people say there good stable mobos' but hey i got a bad one outta the bunch no harm no foul i just dont want to wait 3 weeks to get a new one after taking out that one for an RMA so i just bought the next best thing in my eyes
     
  13. jph1589

    jph1589 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    126 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well...

    I see a number of problems throughout this thread.

    If you used AS-5 and you "spread it all over the IHS", that could be one problem. There are instructions on their website on exactly how to apply it and that isn't how to do it.

    The other most glaring problem I see, is that you say it goes up to 70 and the heatsink isn't even warm. At 70c the heatsink should be noticiably warm. That tells me one of two things, either the heatsink isn't making good contact with the cpu, or the temps are bogus. I would guess that there is a problem with the contact between the heatsink and the cpu.

    If you put a drop(the size of a grain of rice) of AS-5 in the center of the cpu and just install the heatsink without spreading it around, you will not only be doing it the way they suggest, but you can remove it then and verify that the contact between them spread the compound that way it is supposed to.

    I would try that before you replace the motherboard. But that is just my older than dirt opinion@! LOL

    You may very well find that there isn't good contact and that might be the fault of the motherboard. But I'd want to know before I threw in the towel.

    **Edit.......i just reread your thread from the beginning and I deciphered your english to understand that you already bought a new board. Why are we even talking about this???
     
  14. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    1. i already said thank you for the advice
    2. i didnt spread the ac-5 all over the IHS that was my fault i should've explained clearier but i didn't basically i was trying to say that i followed the directions
    3. um, i already came to the assumption that it couldnt be making good contact but even the CPU IHS wasn't hot when it was reading 50 degrees celcius that isnt right i already said the motherboard could've been misreading the temp.
    4. all i was stating was that i got a faulty motherboard...and nothing against ECS fans or anyone who likes there mobos or ECS for that matter...i just would rather get a new motherboard than RMA it and wait anywhere from 2-4 weeks for a exchange so i was like hell with it...and got a gigabyte!

    sry for any confusion i was just saying i tried everything with no luck sorry
     
  15. jph1589

    jph1589 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    126 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    have fun

    I hope if fixes your problems.
     
  16. ~MUFF~MuNcHeR New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    48 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    and yet your sure its the mobo???? i had a 2800 recently that idled at near 60c i xchanged the 2800 and the new one read 31c same ecs mobo....

    side note...great combo deal for $60 ecs nforce3 A2mobo with 2800semp. together...gotta luv Fry's....
     
  17. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    i dont think a processor should idle at 60 degrees unless you are majorly overclocking the processor that is unhealthy concidering 70-75 degrees celcius can damage or fry MOST amd processors...anyway my point is that with 4 case fans no wires showing and my AC on high all the time (room is always freezing) and stil idleing at 60 degrees? something isnt right obviously tomorrow my mobo should arrive and i will solve my question and let everyone know if it was the mobo or the processor so look foward to a report tomorrow :p

    night guys thank you :)
     
  18. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    so in conclusion

    it was the motherboard all along, my new mobo (The Gigabyte) is reading the cpu temp at 21 degrees C and 47 degrees full load (o/ced from 2 ghz to 2.31 ghz) thank you all for the help
     
  19. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    Probably just a bad censor.;) happens a lot.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page