1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

problem with motherbaord. urgent problem reply as soon as possible

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by odddray, Feb 18, 2006.

  1. odddray New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    42 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    specs
    emachine mothebaord
    x850 radeon xt saphfire version
    2 gigs corsair xms version
    athlon 64 3200+ 2.0
    550 pwoer uply antec

    i bought an asus 8n-E
    i plugged it up and it turned on..but nothing showed up on monitor.
    the cd rom and and the harddrive didn't power up.
    what is the problem here.
  2. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Could be a dead board, were there any signs of it powering on? I'd check you've connected the PSU to the motherboard properly and that the power switch is plugged in.
  3. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    ...did you remember the spacers between case/motherboard? :p . lol otherwise you're dealing with dead board/processor, which will lead to a long sucky process of RMA's. try sticking the processor back in the emachines thing and see what happens. if the emachine boots up normally, you're in need of a new board, and if the emachine doesnt boot, you fried your processor AND you're board. oh, one more thing...any beep codes when you try to turn on the Asus thing?
  4. Aevum New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    640 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    processor, PSU, video card, 1 stick of ram and a keyboard, clear the cmos and give it power, if the psu is 20 pin + 4 pin, make sure the 4 pin 12v is connected.

    if it dosnt boot that way, test everything again on the emachines board, if it boots,
    return the apple,
    one piece of advice, Asus and AMD dont mix.
  5. odddray New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    42 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i put the emachine motherbaord back in my computer and its working fine. but with the new motheboud the harddrive and the cd rom dont power on. the graphics cards fan is running. and the motherbaords fan is running. theres a green light on the new motherbaord too. i dont think its dead.

    what are spacers
  6. odddray New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    42 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    should i make a boot disk

    should i make a boot disk to start my computer.
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,631 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,361
    harddrive and cd rom will always turn on if there is power coming to them .. are you sure you hooked them up to power ? (yellow black black red cable)
  8. odddray New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    42 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    they are connected.

    yes they are connected to psu.
    the screen is black and im thinking that whene its black do i have to press del pr f8 or somthing. do i need a boot disk to boot it up or is my mb dead

    im on my old mb and its working fine. but when i install my new motherbaord it goes to blank screen like the monitor isn't turning on.
  9. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    I know that this isn't quite on topic, but actually, I think you'll find Asus and AMD do mix...
    I know my system runs extremely stable even when everything is overclocked and have no problems with it, and its the same story for plenty of other people. How you've decided that I don't know.

    I'm not saying that Asus and AMD are always a perfect mix, but most of the time they work well. :slap:
  10. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Had same problem with 2 boards in last month 1 Gigabyte 1 ASUS Both would powerup fans & onboared LED's but not CPU BOARDS BOTH DEAD
    if bought from reseller try to returned to them [nerver worked from install] most will exchange on the spot or at least will test and repair ;) what have yopu got to loose?;)
  11. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    HAAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH
    oh that would explain it...you totally fried your board. Spacers (aka risers) are those little brass knobs that you screw into your case BEFORE motherboard installation (and then you screw the motherboard into the spacers). otherwise, you end up screwing all that high-end motherboard circuitry right onto the metal case, and its just like if you painted your entire board with AS5...short circuits EVERYWHERE, connections being made that arent supposed to be, nukage of parts, complete waste of good computer parts. yeah dude, your poor build sounds just like the way mine started out, and it took me almost TWO MONTHS to get the problem solved. Listen closely...RMA the board AND the processor, you probably fried both. Then, look for little brass knobs/risers that you can stick into your motherboard and look like you can screw your motherboard into. after your new parts arrive (remember, do NOT skimp out on shipping, it will take forever for your parts to get across the country otherwise), screw the motherboard onto the spacers, and then plug everything in normally (you probably did everything else right). THEN plop a fresh copy of windows on, make sure all your games work...all that jazz.
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,065 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
    o shit dude u did what i did ...um spacers or risers are little copper stand offs that screw in to the case mounts and have a hole at the tope for the mobo screws to screw into so the mobo isnt bolted directly to the case it prevents well............grounding.........i grounded mine and 80% or more of the time they die i got lucky i did experence stuff like u everything would run it just wouldnt boot so dont continue you try and start it find the risers and mount the mobo the right way and u may have lucked out like i had done.
  13. tarrah New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Did you try another monitor?

    I have the same problem with a X850 XT with a Hyundai Image Quest 790 VT. If I have the monitor connected to the card, the Shuttle will not get into the BIOS! The fans are running wild and I cannot swith it off, just from the mainboard swith! I tried another monitor, actually an older iiyama and another one and it worked just fine! Now I'm wondering to try another dvi - d-Sub converter or try something with the card ...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page