1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problem with my graphic card XFX 4670 1GB GDDR2

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Mohammed, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    268 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    XFX 4670 1GB DDR2 Crashes Upload Video ( Update Jun 7, 2012 )

    Hi :)

    I have problem with this graphic card XFX HD 4670 1GB GDDR2.


    When I play games after 5 or 15 minutes I got a black screen and monitor going to sleep. Every thing frizzing.
    even when I watch video on YouTube or PC I got a black screen.


    I tried many thing to solved this problem, like :

    - I flashing to it's original BIOS
    - Change Driver ( used recent and old Catalyst Control Center )
    - Change PSU ( 600 watt +12v support 26A )
    - Change Thermal to Arctic Silver 5
    - Change Heat-sinks ( I get max Temp 65 with full loud + 2 hour using MSI Kombustor )
    - Tested on different PC ( this card was tested on 3 PC . all of them has Win7 32 Or 64 )


    When I search about this problem I see some people said something about
    " removed the drivers, pulled the card, reinstalled the Onboard Graphics chip" or something like that.

    Anyway I don't know what dose that mean:confused:


    please help!!! :respect:





    ******************************

    Note: The problem disappeared when tried to do this :

    1 - Change CPU clock from 750MHz to 600MHz . Where I can play hours + Watching movies + used media. without any frizzing or stopped
    but If I change memory to 401 Or 399 crash :confused:



    2- Change clock\ voltage Then I flashed BIOS , problem disappeared
    I keep it at this setting
    I can play many of games as I can watch Video without any frizzing issue.

    But I have one problem

    MSI afterburner shows GPU clock and Memory clock = 0

    I can't change any thing, but fan speed monitor, Temp & memory usage ..... works fine

    Also "Catalyst Control Center " doesn't show performance option :shadedshu "disappeared"


    May 1+2 solved the problem, but I am not happy by that solution. I mean people overclock GPU to get more performance , but me decrease GPU clock. That really joke!.






    My PC

    Intel® Core™2 E7500 2.93 GHz
    GPU: HD XFX 4670 1GB GDDR2
    RAM: 4GB Samsung
    Motherboard : Pegatron Corporation 2A94H
    OS Win7 32bit
    Power Supply 600watt




    thank you all
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2012
  2. KingPing

    KingPing

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    828 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Argentina (South America)
    If you tested the card in another computer and it had the same problem, then the problem seems to be the card itself, RMA the card.
     
    Mohammed says thanks.
  3. Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    268 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Thanks bro

    as you said " the problem seems to be the card itself"

    I believe that problem in BIOS

    also, some people solve this problem by Update BIOS or chip of graphic card
     
  4. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,636 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    672
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    If you havent already;

    (first) go to XFXForce.com
    (second) create an account
    (third) register your product
    (fourth) login

    you will then have access to any updates including a vga bios update if available and support

    Hope this helps

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
    Mohammed says thanks.
  5. Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    268 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Hi

    I try that but useless, no one respond


    If any one that have BIOS please upload it

    ___________________________________________________



    I had like this problem with my another graphic card which is Intel

    When I play any Games like Zoma , IGI1 or any other game My PC frizzing

    and the sound of game will be trtrtrtrtrtrtrtrtrtrtrtr << something like that


    So I go to Intel support then I download last update for graphic card

    then every thing fine


    So I think this problem happen because 3D



    When I play Zoma on Intel graphic card, I was always going to sitting Of game and I turn Off 3d then play fine





    but In this card I can't fix it. I try to download last update from ATI but useless
    In my country we don't have repair shop to fix it

    I don't have any problem to shipping it to another country but I don't know for Who I shipping it

     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2012
  6. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,092 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,415
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    where you buy it?
    local shop? if you buy from local shop just bring it back to the shop and ask for rma
    sometimes its more easy than online rma
     
  7. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Is this the same one you flashed with RBE to get a faster fan speed?

    If you do RMA the card make sure you flash the card back to the original unedited BIOS first.
     
  8. Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    268 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    I buy it from American website. The seller has 100% Feedback

    I try 3 times to send him a Messages but no respond :banghead:

    Also he said accept return with in 30 days, but that graphic need more time to arrive Asia

    at first time I play games about 10 minute or less, So there is no issue

    but when I ply NFS HP2010 after 15 minute my PC frizzing:shadedshu
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2012
  9. Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    268 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    No bro it's Different


    I have 2 graphic card

    1-XFX HD 4670 1GB GDDR2 which make me sick


    2- Dell HD 4670 512MB GDDR3 which has fan problem but solve.



    XFX HD 4670 1GB GDDR2

    Really it's greet graphic card with good price

    I play crysis at max sitting

    but it has a problem, even me I can't get fun for 10m with this card. :(


    I try to connected to XFX support, but useless


    really I don't care what I do for this card to make it work good Or dead good
     
  10. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,590 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    Try to disable your onboard graphics chip from the bios.

    Also, you can try going for an older driver. If I'm correct the 4670 was released in 2008. Try to find an ATI driver dated 2009.

    I had a similar problem once with an older card, it ran better on older drivers. The newer drivers made my monitor flash in certain games.
     
  11. Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    268 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Hi
    sorry bro I don't Understand the first line

    Someone said like that in Newegge

    Post number4


    but I don't know how to do this
     
  12. Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    268 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    I hear some people said " Driver may Crash Or frizzing PC "
    Is that true
    :confused:


    I mean I download last driver from AMD :wtf:
     
  13. Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    217 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Bolton, England.
    google AMD

    u will see support/drivers click this

    now in middle of page u see :


    Automatically Detect and Install

    Download Now ---click this

    install the app and run it and it will detect your GFX card

    if not goto amd web site top right of page you see Download Drivers under this select in drop down Desktop Graphics
    next drop down select Radeon HD series
    next drop down select Radeon HD 4xxx Series PCIe
    next drop down select your windows you are using win 7 or xp 64 bit or 32 bit
    get driver with catalyst and install..
     
    Mohammed says thanks.
  14. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,432 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    615
    honestly.... this sounds like overheating to me.
     
    Mohammed says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  15. Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    268 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Okay

    If that card got too hot and frizzing my pc

    Why when I saw video on YouTube it's frizzing too

    I mean when you see video hot doesn't be more than 80c or 100c

    I am always monitoring GPU temperature

    So when I play some game PC frizzing on 67c
     
  16. Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    268 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    At last time, I change CPU clock to 600MHz, problem solved

    but I don't like to keep it under it's original clock


    I mean people overclock card to get more performance
    but me reduce that CPU clock . this is joke !!!!!
     
  17. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Tried replacing TIM and reseating the HSF?
     
    Mohammed says thanks.
  18. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,885 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,111
    mohammed 46xx series has errors in RBE. i cant mod my BIOS either, even if i removed the power play profiles and set all the values to stock maximum, i couldnt get a boot :(
     
    Mohammed says thanks.
  19. Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    268 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    What dose mean
    Also

    ++++++++++++

    I think this is memory clock problem, because I can't overclock it more than 400 Or reduce lees than 400 :confused:

    So it's 400 at all :shadedshu



    Is that possible to fix it?


    Thank you all
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2012
  20. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    692 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Toronto
    TIM = thermal paste (thermal interface material?)
    HSF = heatsink fan
    RBE = radeon bios editor (in your pics earlier)

    are we sure the power supply isnt messing up or overheating? or the motherboard, maybe physically or it needs a bios update
     
    Mohammed says thanks.
  21. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    Are you sure that this "is a Ati 4670 Graphics Card"
    I got a PowerColor HD4670 1GB DDR3 Duel DVI in another pc i own
    here is a GPUz Screen Shot
    [​IMG]
    Your Gpuz should show Your Card as a 4670 not 4600
    Did Your version of GPUz always show what you have posted

    Your card spec should be

    Bus Type: PCI-E 2.0
    GPU Clock: 750 Mhz
    Memory Bus: 128
    Memory Type: DDR2
    Memory Size: 1024 MB
    Memory Speed: 800 Mhz

    if its never shown the above clock and memory speeds (like when you first acquired it)
    Download an original bios
    Flash the bios Back to the original factory state

    These cards were released over 3 years to 4 years ago
    ARE YOU SURE ITS NEW
    was it pre owned by someone else
    You Said "I buy it from American website. The seller has 100% Feedback"
    this Sounds like it was a private sale and not from a retail store ( 100% Feedback sounds like a ebay/craigslist term)
    if so you got to consider that if its pre owned did the previous owner bad flash bios/brick card /then resurect it and offload it via said website to an unsuspecting buyer (YOU)
     
  22. Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    268 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Thanks kn00tcn for translation.

    ****************


    Yes I am sure it's 4670. because it's box has same info built in that card

    you are right 100%. I bought this card from E-bay the seller posted as " new "

    And It's shown 4600 series from first time


    Bus Type: PCI-E 2.0
    GPU Clock: 750 Mhz
    Memory Bus: 128
    Memory Type: DDR2
    Memory Size: 1024 MB
    Memory Speed: 400 Mhz ( I think DDR2 cannot be 800Mhz that for DDR3 )



    I have DDR3 which GPU-Z shows it's 4670 ad memory clock 873Mhz



    Thanks a lot
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2012
  23. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    Now that you have restored the card to its original Bios (as Shown in your screen shot)
    Does the problem you posted about ie clock speed issues still persist or has the problem been solved ????
     
  24. stayplation3

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    314 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    where did u buy it? ebay? even if its past 30 days tell the seller or complain to usa the extra time it took to get to you in shipping and that the card doesnt work, you should be able to send it back. just dont keep waiting
     
    Mohammed says thanks.
  25. Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    268 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Okay. I flashing it to its original BIOS It's frizzing PC. Also still shows HD4600 series.

    the thing that change is I can overclock GPU to 850MHz but after 15m playing freezing too:( .

    I can't overclock memory even to 401. it will crash


    When I reduce GPU clock from 750HHz to 600MHz problem solved
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page