1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problem with my monitor (Hanns G... HG216D)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by DeusEx, Apr 28, 2008.

  1. DeusEx New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've had this monitor for about 7-8 month's now and have not had a problem with it until the other day. When I turned on my computer, a series of whitish lines appeared from about 2/3 of the way down the screen, running to the bottom. They faded in and out for a while and after a few minutes dissapeared completely without me making any adjustments to anything. It was almost like the monitor had to warm up or something. This has happened a few times since then and the lines have appeared in the same region. Any idea what the problem could be?
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,382 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,684
    try it on another PC. the problem could actually be your video card.

    Also try other cables/adaptors, maybe somethings loose or damaged.
     
  3. Trompthar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hanns g HG216D

    I know this is an old thread but have been searching around for an answer and just cannot find it. I have a Hanns.g 216D 22" monitor and it has been working very well for the past couple of years. Just recently, the display has become very bright and the response time is very slow, as in when you move your mouse across the desktop, the reaction on the monitor is slow. I have disconnected it from the PC and when powered on, it is very slow to respond, when it does, it gets very bright and you can see the lines form, then it goes back to black with the box stating no signal detected. This happens on regular VGA and HDMI both. I have checked it with 3 different PCs plus and XBOX via the HDMI port. Just wondering if the main board is bad. I have taken the board out, no blown capacitors and nothing looks burned out. Any helpl would be appreciated.
     
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,125 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,097
    Location:
    Oregon
    LCDs are tricky to fix. Its a guessing game. Disassemble it and put it back together. If that's doesn't work I wouldn't put any money into it. The boards work together so it could be your main board or the PSU or the t con. Or a ribbon

    cable. You could try to change the capacitors as they are only a couple of bucks
     
    Trompthar says thanks.
  5. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,469 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I've been extremely unhappy with my HannsG/HannSpree display. I've had to RMA the damn thing 4 times. One of those times something similar happened. My display got stuck in some form of diagnostic mode. It would show different basic patterns and solid colors of red, green, and blue and wouldn't connect to a display. Occasionally it would make a buzz noise and the display would go dark. I would just send it back if it is in warranty and if it isn't, it might be bad caps if it is looking dim or if the backlight just cuts off.
     
    Trompthar says thanks.
  6. Trompthar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I found a main board online for about $30. I might try that as it is basically inexpensive, but there are no blown caps on either main or PSU. Was just hoping that someone else has had the same issue and knew a fix.... but thanks for the replies.... Greatly appreciated!!!!!!!! :)
     
  7. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,125 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,097
    Location:
    Oregon
    I have bought inverters, main boards, and other things. Only one time was I able to fix an issue like this. It was a cable. Buy a new monitor
     
  8. hildseller New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    good info, Only one time was I able to fix an issue like this. It was a cable. Buy a new monitor,thank you[​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page