1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problem with Seagate 7200.11 1TR

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Xorgetra, Jul 1, 2011.

  1. Xorgetra

    Xorgetra

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    230 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Havana,Cuba
    Guys , when i connect the Hard drive to the pc , i feel that its starts and then shuts down , and the process repeats every 10 secs , one friend told me that i need to install a new firmware to the hard drive ?

    Any suggestions ?

    Thanks !!
  2. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Is the drive detected in the BIOS?
  3. Xorgetra

    Xorgetra

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    230 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Havana,Cuba
    Nop , i can not even get inside the bios casue in the board screen it completely freezes!
  4. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    So you start powered off, connect the hdd, power on and then it loops in a restart?

    Try another power connector, sata cable, or sata port on the board.
  5. Xorgetra

    Xorgetra

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    230 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Havana,Cuba
    Did already .. and also tried in a friends house and the same problem ...
  6. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    The 7200.11 drives were the ones that had firmware problems. Sounds like you might need a new drive.
  7. Xorgetra

    Xorgetra

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    230 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Havana,Cuba
    Can i change the firmware or something ??
  8. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Your gonna have to check Seagate man, good luck.
  9. Xorgetra

    Xorgetra

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    230 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Havana,Cuba
    Ok ^^"!
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,331 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    IA, USA
    A hard drive wouldn't cause POST to halt. Something more sinister is going on. What happens when the drive is unplugged? What happens if the drive is plugged into a separate hard drive controller (like a Silicon Image, Realtek, or Marvell chip)?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Xorgetra

    Xorgetra

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    230 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Havana,Cuba
    Dude , thanks for the answer but yesterday i gave the HD to a friend , he said he could fix it , good luck to him =) .
  12. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    894 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    236
    We want to know how it was fixed, so please report back on what your friend did.

    This may help others.

    Thanks.
    Xorgetra says thanks.
  13. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    That drive is bad and you need to RMA it. It sounds like this friend is gonna do more harm than good, so try and get it back off him asap.

    Did he say what he was gonna do to it? I bet it's a firmware flash. However, with the drive looping like that it will be impossible. Most likely it has a mechanical failure causing it to shut down like that. Some kind of electronics failure causing a mechanical malfunction will also cause it.
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2011
    Xorgetra says thanks.
  14. Xorgetra

    Xorgetra

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    230 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Havana,Cuba
    Ok , as soon as i get something ill post here
    qubit says thanks.
  15. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,290 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    724
    from the ppl ino that had problems with Seagate's 7200.11 serie they needed to sent them to Seagate to get a firmware update, that's just all ino ^^;
  16. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,055 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    896
    Not all the 7200.11's were bad mind you. I have a 750 which i've had for almost 2 years with 0 issues out of it, now the 1.5'tbs i've had a crap load of issues. but as everyone else said you'll more than likely need to rma it.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Xorgetra

    Xorgetra

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    230 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Havana,Cuba
    Today i FINALLY got a response from my friend , he said that he couldn fix the hard drive !!! , not even with different firmware , so , case closed =)
    qubit says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page