1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problems installing the GPU of i5-2500k

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Valenciente, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. Valenciente

    Valenciente

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Hey guys.

    I've put together a computer today, and have succesfully installed all drivers, except the driver for the onboard GPU of the i5-2500k.

    When I first installed the drivers from the dvd, everything went fine. I rebooted, and the computer got stuck with a black screen on my monitor, and it saying no-signal, after the windows logo.

    So I booted into safemode, removed the GPU drivers and it booted fine again. Now I'm trying to reinstall the drivers, and all I get is "The setup failed to install one or more device drivers" when running the setup. If I try to do it manually through the device manager, it says "Windows found driver software for your device, but encountered and error while attempting to install it. Intel(R) HD Graphics Family. There is no driver selected for the device information set or element"

    This occurs in safemode as well. Installing the driver through Windows Update does also not work.

    Any hints to fix this?

    The specs are:
    Intel i5-2500k
    2x4GB Kingston ValueR. DDR3 1333MHz
    SUS P8H61-M PRO
    Corsair CX V2 500W
    Seagate Barracuda® 500GB SATA 6Gb/s

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    i have had issues with my igpu as well messing up my boot. no idea how to fix it. mine kinda just fixed itself after about 100 reboots. lol also, maybe get the 2550k and send back your 2500k for a refund if its still possible. that way no igpu issues.
     
  3. Valenciente

    Valenciente

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Problem is I cant even install the driver anymore. And I dont think I have time to return it..
     
  4. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    I have a 2500k, but never even tried using the IGP.

    I have heard that there can be motherboard options related to the default video to use. I would have thought it would default to the IGP if you have no discrete card installed.

    Wish I could be more help, but I would look at the bios settings. Also try a different video output.

    Of course the simplest answer is that you monitor has not selected the appropriate input. That's the kind of thing that happens to me.
     
  5. Valenciente

    Valenciente

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Already tried fiddling with bios settings.

    Fun thing... when I went out of my current safemode session, I got the black screen again. Apparantly it installed the drivers on it's own. How, I dont know.

    I tried switching to a vga cable instead of hdmi, and what do you know. Got a signal. So it seems like it's just the hdmi part of the iGPU not working correctly.

    Question. I seem to recall vga not being able to fully support full-hd resolution. Is that true? (Though it seems to look fine)
     
  6. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    Not sure about resolution, but it just won't look as sharp. That I know.

    Win 7 likes to go ahead and install it's own drivers for everything, which is usually fine. But if you have the driver disk for the motherboard, you could try reinstalling the video drivers. The HDMI should work.
     
  7. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    723 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    First of all i have a Board with DVI-I, HDMI and Display Port, along with a 2500K and a GTX460, so the thing is The HDMI works perfectly it even produces sound too able to output 7.1 audio so HDMI works fine for me via 2500K The Display Port also has the ability to produce visual along with sound and up to 7.1 tried it works too, and the DVI-I i tested in both DVI-D and also used a vga adapter on it works fine, so 2500K has no problem nor the motherboard or chipset.

    About VGA, vga has the ability to display a max res of 2048x1536 so i guess it does HD res with ease which are 1920x1080
     
  8. Valenciente

    Valenciente

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Not sure I dare uninstall anything again :p
    However, it is not the standard windows drivers installed. It is the actual Intel drivers, so they do work now. I'm not sure what the problem was. Gonna try to fix the hdmi if I can somehow..
     
  9. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    reset the cpu: sounds like something might not be making good contact
     
  10. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    723 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    I guess/highly think its an Operating System issue seen this kind of issue on a Laptop with Radeon 7670m 2GB was behaving like this after installing Windows 7 x64 ultimate then it kinda fixed it self after restarting twice but i installed the display drivers again just to confirm it has never had this problem again, so i guess it's operating system related issue
     
    Valenciente says thanks.
  11. Valenciente

    Valenciente

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Yeah, I think I might do a full format and start over. It's giving me troubles again. Erased the actual drivers and installed the "standard vga driver" instead.

    EDIT: Did that, and managed to get drivers installed and updated properly. Still no hdmi or dvi though, for whatever reason *shrugs*
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page