1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problems with my new build

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Sho-Down, Jan 15, 2008.

  1. Sho-Down New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    <--- My build

    Built my new computer a few weeks ago with the help of you guys :) Everything has been fine up until a couple days ago when I started getting blue stop screens out of no where. Also Firefox sometimes freezes, and I can't close it or force it closed, so I have to restart my computer. I ran 'Windows Memory Diagnostic' tests and both of my ram sticks failed on all tests, there were like 2500 errors found. So I took out my ram, put them in different slots and then all tests passed. The system was fine for a few hrs, then the blue screens started coming back.

    Some of the Stop screens:
    DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
    PFN_LIST_CORRUPT
    SPECIAL_POOL_DETECTED_MEMORY_CORRUPTION
    BAD_POOL_HEADER

    STOP: 0x000000C1
    STOP: 0x0000008E
    STOP: 0x000000D1
    STOP: 0x0000007E
    STOP: 0x0000004E
    STOP: 0x0000000A
    STOP: 0x00000024
    STOP: 0x00000019

    Checked a few memory dumps and found:
    Warning : Unable to verify timestamp for sr.sys
    Probably Caused by : hardware (sr!SrpDeleteContextCallback+6d)

    Warning: Unable to verify timestamp for Ntfs.sys
    Probably Caused by : hardware (d347bustd862)

    And my latest mem dump:
    Unable to load image ntoskrnl.exe, Win32 error 0n2
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
    Probably caused by : hardware ( Ntfs!NtfsOpenFile+6b6 )

    NTFS_FILE_SYSTEM (24)
    If you see NtfsExceptionFilter on the stack then the 2nd and 3rd
    parameters are the exception record and context record. Do a .cxr
    on the 3rd parameter and then kb to obtain a more informative stack
    trace.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: 001902fe
    Arg2: b6c5e220
    Arg3: b6c5df1c
    Arg4: 8054afd2

    Debugging Details:
    ------------------




    EXCEPTION_RECORD: b6c5e220 -- (.exr 0xffffffffb6c5e220)
    ExceptionAddress: 8054afd2 (nt!ExFreePoolWithTag+0x0000038f)
    ExceptionCode: c0000005 (Access violation)
    ExceptionFlags: 00000000
    NumberParameters: 2
    Parameter[0]: 00000001
    Parameter[1]: 00000005
    Attempt to write to address 00000005

    CONTEXT: b6c5df1c -- (.cxr 0xffffffffb6c5df1c)
    eax=00000001 ebx=8a6a9078 ecx=8a6a9110 edx=0000000d esi=e10acc20 edi=000001ff
    eip=8054afd2 esp=b6c5e2e8 ebp=b6c5e33c iopl=0 nv up ei pl nz na po nc
    cs=0008 ss=0010 ds=0023 es=0023 fs=0030 gs=0000 efl=00010202
    nt!ExFreePoolWithTag+0x38f:
    8054afd2 894804 mov dword ptr [eax+4],ecx ds:0023:00000005=????????
    Resetting default scope

    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 1

    PROCESS_NAME: NMIndexStoreSvr

    ERROR_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc0000005 - The instruction at "0x%08lx" referenced memory at "0x%08lx". The memory could not be "%s".

    WRITE_ADDRESS: 00000005

    BUGCHECK_STR: 0x24

    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: NULL_CLASS_PTR_DEREFERENCE

    MISALIGNED_IP:
    nt!KeForceResumeThread+1
    804f9deb 5d pop ebp

    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from ba64fc99 to 8054afd2

    STACK_TEXT:
    b6c5e33c ba64fc99 00000011 00000001 4146744e nt!ExFreePoolWithTag+0x38f
    b6c5e3f4 ba6509c3 89e37c08 e2b89510 e10f54c0 Ntfs!NtfsOpenFile+0x6b6
    b6c5e430 ba650e8e 89e37c08 00000001 e2b89510 Ntfs!NtfsCreateAttributeWithValue+0xb6
    b6c5e62c ba645932 89e37c08 89ddd180 89ddd334 Ntfs!NtfsUpdateScbFromAttribute+0x3f0
    b6c5e880 ba642d2d 89e37c08 89ddd180 b6c5e8d8 Ntfs!NtfsCommonCreate+0xbc1
    b6c5e964 804ef095 8a61e020 89ddd180 8a56b398 Ntfs!NtfsFsdCleanup+0x5b
    b6c5e9c0 804ef095 8a61fac0 89ddd180 8a5f6658 nt!MiCheckControlArea+0x103
    b6c5ea5c 804ef095 8a239298 89ddd180 89ddd180 nt!MiCheckControlArea+0x103
    b6c5eb4c 805bddc0 8a5f6658 00000000 89e379e0 nt!MiCheckControlArea+0x103
    b6c5ebc4 805ba448 00000000 b6c5ec04 00000040 nt!NtCreatePagingFile+0x4ed
    b6c5ec18 80574ec1 00000000 00000000 c5ec9801 nt!CcPfParametersRead+0x14d
    b6c5ec94 80575838 01a0fab4 c0100080 01a0fa54 nt!FsRtlIsNameInExpressionPrivate+0x4b
    b6c5ecf0 80577f02 01a0fab4 c0100080 01a0fa54 nt!HvMarkDirty+0xdd
    b6c5ed30 8054086c 01a0fab4 c0100080 01a0fa54 nt!RtlpInheritAcl2+0x5a
    b6c5ed64 7c90eb94 badb0d00 01a0fa1c 00000000 nt!RtlIpv4StringToAddressExA+0x149
    WARNING: Frame IP not in any known module. Following frames may be wrong.
    b6c5ed78 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 0x7c90eb94


    FOLLOWUP_IP:
    Ntfs!NtfsOpenFile+6b6
    ba64fc99 ?? ???

    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX: 1

    SYMBOL_NAME: Ntfs!NtfsOpenFile+6b6

    FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

    IMAGE_NAME: hardware

    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 0

    STACK_COMMAND: .cxr 0xffffffffb6c5df1c ; kb

    MODULE_NAME: hardware

    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: IP_MISALIGNED

    BUCKET_ID: IP_MISALIGNED

    Followup: MachineOwner

    Does any of this make sense to anyone? Is it more than likely 2 bad sticks of ram?
     
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    More than likely ram. What is everything clocked at?
     
  3. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,596 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    i would make sure the ram is set at the right volts and timings too.
     
    Sho-Down says thanks.
  4. Sho-Down New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I haven't done any oc'ing, I had the ram set to auto, ran fine for the few weeks, then the blue screens started. So I set the ram in bios to 1066 and 2.0 volts, still got the blue screens, set it at 2.2v (advertised voltage) and then today I woke up to a blue screen, shut down the comp, monitor stayed in sleep mode, wouldn't turn on, cut off the computer for 20 seconds, said "Bad BIOS checksum. Starting BIOS recovery."

    It couldn't find a floppy, cd drive or USB device. Shut down again, green light on my motherboard came on then went off, pushed my power supply cord in more, green light came back on again...started back up and it said something about "overclocking failed!" and here I am lol. I took 1 stick of ram out, set the voltage back to 2.0.

    Maybe important to note, yesterday one of my dumps said avg had an error, so I uninstalled avg. I was checking my hidden devices and found avg had some yellow ! so I uninstalled those tonight, so we'll see what happens.
     
  5. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,884 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,715
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Download and run Memtest. If you don't want to make a bootable CD ISO, then search for the Memtest for Windows version. I had those issues before as you describe, turned out to be failing memory.

    Hope that helps.
     
    Sho-Down says thanks.
  6. Sho-Down New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    About to do that now Kursah, thanks.
     
  7. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,596 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    sounds like another great bios from anus, iv had a cuople of great ones too, check their forums as im sure somone else has had the same issuse and if they found a fix it will be there first.
     
    Sho-Down says thanks.
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,832 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,203
    Are all of your drivers updated, and are you using the most current bios for your motherboard?
     
    Sho-Down says thanks.
  9. Sho-Down New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yea I'm pretty sure my Bios is up to date, I updated everything when I built this machine. I'll check their site to be sure.

    I ran Memtest86, ran a test for each stick individually and 1 stick passed all tests, the other stick had errors on Test #6:

    Error Confidence Value: 54
    Lowest Error Address: 0000037302b - 3.1 MB
    High Error Address: 000fffffffb - 4095.9 MB
    Bits in error mask: ffffffff
    Bits in Error - Total: 32 Min: 1 Max: 32 Average: 22
    Max Contiguous Errors: 1
    Errors per Memory Slot: 0:3

    So the culprit is pretty much the ram stick causing all these blue screens?
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yep. Looks like it's RMA time. Bad ram can even completely screw your Windows install. It's a PITA.
     
    Sho-Down says thanks.
  11. Sho-Down New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No blue screens for 5-6 hours since I took that stick of ram out, I guess that was the problem! Thanks for the help guys
     
  12. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
  13. Sho-Down New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well now I'm not so sure it's just that stick of ram. I was playing a song in media player and playing a wav in cool edit just now, and another blue stop screen popped up with the DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL error and the sound froze and stuttered until I shut down the computer.

    I checked the dumps and got that same ntoskrnl.exe error:

    ** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
    Windows XP Kernel Version 2600 (Service Pack 2) MP (4 procs) Free x86 compatible
    Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS Personal
    Kernel base = 0x804d7000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0x8055c700
    Debug session time: Tue Jan 15 12:41:52.218 2008 (GMT-6)
    System Uptime: 0 days 9:37:47.192
    Unable to load image ntoskrnl.exe, Win32 error 0n2
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe

    But then below it it says:
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for sysaudio.sys
    Probably caused by : sysaudio.sys ( sysaudio!CFilterNode::SetOrder+9 )

    IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (a)
    An attempt was made to access a pageable (or completely invalid) address at an
    interrupt request level (IRQL) that is too high. This is usually
    caused by drivers using improper addresses.
    If a kernel debugger is available get the stack backtrace.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: 00000000, memory referenced
    Arg2: 00000002, IRQL
    Arg3: 00000001, bitfield :
    bit 0 : value 0 = read operation, 1 = write operation
    bit 3 : value 0 = not an execute operation, 1 = execute operation (only on chips which support this level of status)
    Arg4: 805219c4, address which referenced memory

    Debugging Details:
    ------------------




    WRITE_ADDRESS: 00000000

    CURRENT_IRQL: 2

    FAULTING_IP:
    nt!MmCleanProcessAddressSpace+38d
    805219c4 ff08 dec dword ptr [eax]

    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 2

    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: DRIVER_FAULT

    BUGCHECK_STR: 0xA

    PROCESS_NAME: NMIndexStoreSvr

    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from 80521eee to 805219c4

    STACK_TEXT:
    baa98cb8 80521eee 00000000 0000003b c004c348 nt!MmCleanProcessAddressSpace+0x38d
    baa98cd0 80513e65 c0600260 c004c348 00000000 nt!MiResolvePageFileFault+0x1db
    baa98ce8 8051f89f 09869005 c004c348 86af4a28 nt!`string'+0x19
    baa98d4c 805437c8 00000001 09869005 00000001 nt!MmProbeAndLockSelectedPages+0x566
    baa98d64 7c918154 badb0d00 00003000 00000000 nt!`string'
    WARNING: Frame IP not in any known module. Following frames may be wrong.
    baa98d68 badb0d00 00003000 00000000 00000000 0x7c918154
    baa98d6c 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 sysaudio!CFilterNode::SetOrder+0x9


    STACK_COMMAND: kb

    FOLLOWUP_IP:
    sysaudio!CFilterNode::SetOrder+9
    badb0d00 ?? ???

    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX: 6

    SYMBOL_NAME: sysaudio!CFilterNode::SetOrder+9

    FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

    MODULE_NAME: sysaudio

    IMAGE_NAME: sysaudio.sys

    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 41107f1a

    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: 0xA_W_sysaudio!CFilterNode::SetOrder+9

    BUCKET_ID: 0xA_W_sysaudio!CFilterNode::SetOrder+9

    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------

    Why would this just all of a sudden start happening? Never had problems with my audio
     
  14. rick22

    rick22 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    629 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    I have problems with Firefox all the time....now i don't use it..also crucial takes 2.2 volts..you need more cuz of the leds...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page