1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problems with new build

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Fallap, Dec 21, 2007.

  1. Fallap New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark, Scandinavia
    So ive builded my new PC today (Still need the Videocards though) Ive connected everything as it should...

    .. and nothing happends, the PSU fan does not spin, neither does the case fans. Only thing that happends is that the green LED on the mobo lights. (ASUS P5E)

    When i turn on the power, and pressed the Powerbutton on the case. All the fans with LED's on them, Blink for a 1/10 second or so.

    Help will be rewarded with cookies :D
  2. xman2007

    xman2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    634 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    have you made sure all cables are where they should be and secured properly (double check all to be sure) and all the motherboard risers are fitted where they should, probably the 2 most common problems easily overlooked when building a new pc
    Fallap says thanks.
  3. Fallap New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark, Scandinavia
    The IDE, SATA cables, the 24pin and 4pin from PSU to mobo should be set the right place. But Im lost in the small "headers" my manual's didnt help alot to make them match. Thats prolly where the problem is.

    I should probabaly get somethign to eat (Have forgot to eat all day because of building my system, even forgot to show up for work... lol )

    Thanks anyway :D *Cookies*

    Edit: Ive doublechecked the "Headers" and the other cables, and they all appear to be placed in the right spot
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2007
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    What kind of PSU is it? What's the complete specs of the rest of the build?

    EDIT:Typo
    Fallap says thanks.
  5. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    I remember this one time trying to help my buddy figure out what he did wrong with a build, pretty much same thing you're describing, but really a shot in the dark. Every now and then teh CMOS jumper is shipped in the reset position. When I was looking at his board I didn't notice right away, but in the manual it was in big bold letters. I slapped him with it, switched the jumper, and hit the power button. He is STILL kicking himself over it.
    Fallap says thanks.
  6. Fallap New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark, Scandinavia
    Thermaltake Toughpower 750Watt

    Rest of the spec:

    Samsung Spinpoint T166 500GB Hard Drive
    Samsung Super-WriteMaster SH-S202J
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6850
    ASUS P5E
    Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme with 1x Scythe S-Flex 120mm.
    Thermaltake Armor case VA8003BWS
  7. Fallap New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark, Scandinavia
    Il go check that right away, thanks!
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yeah definitely not PSU. It's mroe than likely an error on the motherboard. Like Silverel said I "+1" that!
    Fallap says thanks.
  9. Fallap New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark, Scandinavia
    How do I unreset the CMOS on my board? :S
  10. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    You should have a cmos jumper, usually near the battery. Check and see if it is on the right two pins. You should have information in your manual regarding which cmos jumper pins are which.
    Fallap says thanks.
  11. Fallap New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark, Scandinavia
    Okay, I removed the battery and changed the location of the blue plactic thing,
  12. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Mmm, the P5E should have a switch instead of jumpers. Check your manual, It should be page 2-22. Item 2.6

    English version manual anyways.
  13. Fallap New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark, Scandinavia
    I noticed the switch, but I thought it was for something else
  14. Fallap New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark, Scandinavia
    This is getting rediculus, everything is where it's supposed to be... and yet it wont work.

    Note to brain: NExt time order the dang thing pre build.
  15. Fallap New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark, Scandinavia
    YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEES! i GOT IT TO WORK :D:D:eek:
  16. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    well, what was it?
  17. Fallap New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark, Scandinavia
    It was the 4Pin PSU connector on the mobo, it was placed in the wrong way *Embarresed* :p

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page