1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Processor GFlops Compilation

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by newtekie1, May 19, 2009.

  1. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    The most interesting part of these results (over the last 2 years) is that performance has doubled on the typical enthusiasts machine... and that not matter how hard you overclock, with the space of 9 months, the next processor generation beats any overclock. OC'ing gives you about 3-6 months of effective performance gain. The cost of OC'ing in both terms of time (=money) and cost (best processor, better PSU, cooling equipment) is an investment that really only gives you a 3 month payback... Money and time possibly better spent on a new, more up to date, faster CPU in the first place. :pimp:

    I have to say I am rather disappointed in my results from my workstation. Easily beaten by a modern s1155 mITX!!! To upgrade my CPUs to gain an extra 20% performance is going to cost a fortune. s771 is expensive. And to gain 20% is hardly worth it. I'll look for cheapies on ebay I think... but perhaps I should just retire the whole system and get a single processor s1155.
  2. ST.Viper

    ST.Viper

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    40 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Slovakia
    /*Off Topic*/

    Hi guys. I would like to ask you a few questions...My uncle has old HP Compaq dc7600: P4 3GHz HT LGA 775, acording to Compaq chipset is Intel 945G, Integrated VGA.........as i have zero experience with Intel CPUs will Intel E2160 1,8GHz LGA 775 CPU fit in his motherboard or no....If yes will he see any improvements in web flash games?....maybe I will oc CPU to 2,6-3GHz???.....
  3. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,198 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    It will fit, but whether or not the Board's BIOS will recognize the chip is another story. Most likely not without an update - and because it is a compaq board, the chances of it having an update are slim to none.

    You may want to try to stay away from upgrading the platform like that since it may cause you more headaches than the money you will save.

    He needs a new system. All of those parts are EOL as of several generations already.
  4. ST.Viper

    ST.Viper

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    40 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Thanks for fast reply.....I know that pc is useless nowadays, but for some reason he does not want to spent any money on a new system....he just want to play flash games smooth ( it is silly i know :D) but anyway thanks for advice
  5. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,198 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    Yeah... might have to bring his expectations down a bit. Might have to say something like "Those compaq PSU's blow up after 5 years and you will lose all your porn"

    See if you can build a cheap high-clock system, he will like that for flash games - they will run nice n smooth.
  6. ST.Viper

    ST.Viper

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    40 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I already told him that his pc sucks and that he need to buy whole new machine but he does not listen to me....
  7. ST.Viper

    ST.Viper

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    40 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Slovakia
    i found latest bios for his "rig" on hp web from july 2009....do you think it will support E2160???
  8. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,441 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    918
    Am I missing something or are Kaluba's AVX results (GFlops Per GHz) miscalculated?
  9. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    My fastest standard run.

    [​IMG]
  10. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    735 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ad me!

    arnoo1 | intel | i5 2300 stock | 073.0132 |
    [​IMG]
    stock clocks, stock cooling, 4gb kinston value Ram 1333mhz cl9
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2012
  11. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,087 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,363
    tigger | intel | i5 2400 stock | 95.3251 |

    New run.

    [​IMG]
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,257 (10.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,889
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    How do you get higher Gflops?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,139 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,721
    Location:
    Mexico
    Updated IBT? Don't know really :confused:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,087 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,363
    Magic, I have no idea, i run the test and get a score. I am a bit stumped too tbh, but i like the score.
  15. igorb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Croatia
    Freshly OC-ed 2500k :)

    igorb | Intel | i5-2500k @4.3GHz | 108.494 GFlops | 025.230 | 64-bit | Notes

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 20, 2012
  16. igorb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Croatia
    igorb | AMD | E-350 @1.6GHz | 002.616 GFlops | 001.635 GFlops per GHz | 64-bit

    Netbook Thinkpad E125 results.

    Attached Files:

  17. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,209 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Here's my APU results:

    HTC | AMD | A8-3850 @ 2.9 GHz | 31.3755 GFlops | 10.8191 GFlops per GHz | 64-bit

    Attached Files:

  18. igorb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Croatia
    I just noticed that on i5 Sandy Bridges (maybe on i7 also) first core always shows lower max. temp than the rest of them.
  19. Lost Hatter

    Lost Hatter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Id like to revise my Gflop per Ghz its 12.7541 not 10.45

    Thank you
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2012
  20. Sotex-STI New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Add me

    Sotex-STI | Intel | I7-3820 @ 4000Ghz |avg GFlops 105.818 | Gflops/Ghz 026.704 | 64 bit | OC Genie OC from MSI, HT off

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2012
  21. Albuquerque New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    55 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Add me

    Albuquerque | Intel | I7-3930k C2 @ 4.5GHz | 171.0594 GFlops | 038.0132 GFlops per GHz | 64-bit

    [​IMG]

    Looks like I get to take home the top honors on Gflops / Ghz and total Gflops attained. Damned n00bs! :nutkick: It's on an Intel motherboard too, go figure. It (might?) help that I'm using the 1.25x strap along with all eight sticks of ram. Combined with six 240GB SSD's on the HighPoint RAID card, this thing hauls backside.

    It needs a new graphics card or two; I'm using my trusty 5850 until NV shows me what they have with Kepler. Should be an interesting decision to make in a month!
    SonDa5 says thanks.
  22. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    650 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    139
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Add Me

    A couple systems from work:

    TheEldest | Intel | 2x Xeon E5645 @ 2.4 Ghz | 76.2129 | 31.7554 | 64-bit | Only ran 12 threads even though hyperthreading is enabled. With 24 threads was around 38 Gflops.
    [​IMG]


    TheEldest | AMd | 2x Opteron 6168 @ 1.9 Ghz | 116.6449 | 61.3921 | 64-bit | Good Gflops / Ghz, not so hot per core.
    [​IMG]


    2x 6168 IBT.png
    2x e5645 IBT.png
  23. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344

    That is the fastest I have ever seen. Wow! :respect:

    What speed and timings on the RAM?
  24. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,894 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Hey HTC why's you bus clock only at 100MHz I thought AMD's did 200MHz
  25. Albuquerque New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    55 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    1666Mhz @ 8-9-8-24 1T. After that screenshot, I've been able to noodle the memory voltage down to 1.55v and retain stability, but any tighter timings (regardless of voltage) simply do even post. I've also tried loosening the timings and bumping the ram speed "just to see", but that has been fruitless as well.

    I'm currently working on 4.63Ghz stability, but I'm not happy with the VRM temperatures after extended testing (reaching ~85*c after an hour or so.) Most of this temp issue is related to a lack of fans. I have only two case fans in this entire rig; a 250mm intake on the case side panel and a 120mm exhaust for the CPU. Neither are what you'd call "high flow" fans by any stretch of the imagination.

    CPU-Z on this board does not read the CPU voltage correctly, nor does it read any of the memory settings correctly. Also, this board lets me keep all the S1 / low-idle power states intact with my overclock, so CPU-Z screenshots all show the CPU at 1.5Ghz unless I snap a pic while the bench is still running...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page