1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

processor question..

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by adcx64, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. adcx64 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    106 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    does 2.0 ghz dual core proc mean that each core is 1.0ghz or is each core 2.
     
  2. Munki

    Munki

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    its per, but its not gonna be exactly 4Ghz
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2009
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,589 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,217
    Each core is 2 Ghz. And you really can't add speeds like that.
     
  4. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    You have two cores and one clock speed. The entire CPU operates at 2.0ghz.

    You don't add anything.
     
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    It's per core. Just check out AMD Overdrive. You can adjust each core seperately. So a dual at 2Ghz will equal 4ghz total processing power. Give or take.
     
    SummerDays says thanks.
  6. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ever since Intel stopped making Pentium 4 and Pentium D chips the 'Ghz' of a chip does not really matter as much as just how well the chip is designed. AMD proved this with the Athlon in the early 2000's, at lower clock speeds it still owned Intel chips. Another example - a 1.8 GHz Core 2 Duo will totally pwn a 3 GHz Pentium D (also a dual core chip).
     
  7. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    That's another good point. However, it's not what he asked.
     
  8. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    When the hell did that happen.

    You have one CPU with one base clock, having multiple cores doesn't increase the speed of the CPU. Only have used Overdrive for GPU overclocking, so i don't know,maybe it does let you combine CPU speed from different cores.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2009
  9. SummerDays New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    The simple answer to your question is that each core runs at 2 Ghz.
     
  10. adcx64 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    106 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    thanks guys for all those interesting answers!
     
  11. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    had that feature back when I had my 9850 last year.
     
  12. adcx64 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    106 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    can u use overdrive on a intel processor? Check my specs under my name...
     
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Each core runs at 2GHz. If I have a quad-core processor at 2GHz, I have 4 cores running at 2GHz each. This would give me 8GHz of processing power in total, but only if I was using a multithreaded application. If I have a single-threaded application, like BF2, it wouldn't matter if I had 2 cores or 2000 cores, it will run the same.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
  15. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,681 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    hat is right the cores frequency does not scale because the software was not designed to scale, and I don't blame the developers. I would not want to code my programs to run 4 cores when I also have to make sure it will run on a single and dual core computer as well.
    Each core operates at whatever the speed your motherboard says at post.(A processor with two cores, and a multiplier of 10 with a fsb of 350mhz has two cores each running at 3.5Ghz, not two cores running at 1.75Ghz, if thats what you are wondering)
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  16. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    ^^ correct, that's what I was saying also. 2GHz is not the total clock speed between all cores, it's the clock speed per core. If that was the case why buy a quad. I mean a quad at 4Ghz is the same thing as a dual at 4GHz.
     
  17. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Extra cores will generally give you extra performance in multi-threaded apps. A quad and dual at the same speed with a non multi-threaded app will not make much of a difference, but with most apps and games moving that direction a quad helps much more.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2009
  18. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,681 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    He meant in the scenario where a 3.5Ghz processor was equivalent to two 1.75Ghz cores. Which is not the case.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    you're right on the ball again. :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page