1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Production Radeon HD 7850 Packs 768 Stream Processors

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 3, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,553 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Tom's Hardware Germany found it difficult to explain lower than normal performance of an AFOX-branded Radeon HD 7850 graphics card. Upon looking at its stream processor count in GPU-Z, it was amazed to notice a value of 768, 25% lower than HD 7850 normal count of 1024. Attempts to replace its BIOS did not change the stream processor count, leading them to believe the stream processors were physically disabled. AMD was of little help, and they were redirected to talk to AFOX, which told them that since March, AMD has been shipping Pitcairn chips with 768 stream processor configuration to some OEMs. Could this be a new SKU under works? HD 7790? HD 7830?

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Tom's Hardware
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2012
  2. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    To bad they didn't publish the results.

    I hope so as I am looking to up-grade my 6850's cause they only have 1gb of memory and a 7850 is a little too pricy for me right now.
     
  3. Isenstaedt

    Isenstaedt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    211 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    AMD is not that intelligent. They would name it 7790.

    Remember:
    Barts LE -> 6790 instead of 6830
    Turks Pro -> 6570 instead of 6650
    Redwood Pro -> 5570 instead of 5650
     
  4. farquaid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Whats the point?

    256 bit memory bus serving a gpu slower than 7770?
     
  5. washd123

    washd123 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    if it's a 256bit bus it'd probably end up as 7830 if anything, could be a fluke.
     
  6. Zakin

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    123 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Has twice the memory bus width of the 7770, and 128 more stream processors. Not entirely sure how that equated to slower. Most likely a 7830 if they do it on a smart naming scheme due to 2GBs of ram and the 256 bit bus.
     
  7. farquaid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Doesnt 7770 run at 1ghz versus this one running at 860mhz?
     
  8. farquaid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So it has memory bandwidth equal to that of 7870 and the gpu power slightly higher than 7770.
     
  9. Inceptor

    Inceptor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    This is all speculation.
    But since it's all rolling, I'll throw in mine:

    If it's 128 bit, 768 SP, 1GB RAM, then it'll probably be 7790
    If it's 256 bit, 768 SP, 2GB RAM (or even 1GB), then it'll probably be 7830.
     
  10. farquaid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    You can call it whatever you want, its still a pointless product. I wouldnt pay any more for this than i would pay for 7770.

    edit: also look at the picture it says 256 bit memory bus
     
  11. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,300 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,186
    Cheap chip purchasers hoping to make a quick buck off consumers?
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  12. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Since when are GPUs only about clock speeds?
    The 7770 only has 16ROPs while a 7830 could potentially have 32ROPs like in this card.
     
  13. No_Asylum New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    83 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    I'm not one to judge a book by its cover, but that PCB looks cheap as helllll. I have $40 VGA cards from the early 2000's that look more well put together.
     
  14. Inceptor

    Inceptor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Doesn't matter what the screenshot says, if it's a mix up and the gpu used (and shipped by AMD) was intended as an OEM cheapie, the final 'official' configuration is unknown and probably variable, and subject to variable branding depending on card configuration.
     
  15. arterius2

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    AFOX??? WTF IS THAT?

    probably some shoddy Chinese off shore sweatshop operation
     
  16. Alvy Ibn Feroz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    That's right never heard of it
     
  17. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,616 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    They make very cost effective cards as you can see from the pics.
     
  18. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    949 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Where is the rumored 7890 that I think may hit the midrange market ?
     
  19. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,616 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    If that would ever be released i think it would be based on tahiti not picairn.
     
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,441 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,472
    Im not sure about the tahiti being used for the 7800 series since its Pictarin I believe tahiti is totally reserved for the 7900 series
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2012
  21. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    No it's the other way around it's going to be the 7980 high end card & the dual GPU's will be base on that card...

















    ...Joke! :laugh:
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page