1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

{Project: Freeman} T77's Build Log / Benchmarks

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by t77snapshot, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Ok the test loop is finished and is being checked for leaks. Now I am just waiting on the official tubes to arrive before I perform the full cable management build. As you can see, It will be very easy to throw a GPU block in the loop as well.;)

    [​IMG]


    The one thing that pissed me off is that I couldn't get both compression fittings to it on the block. Why would Swiftech do that? so for now I am just running a ghetto hose clamp.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2010
    KieX and Reventon say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,310 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    Looking good.

    BTW, what's in that V3 in the pic? I also have that case along with a Tempest as well, and I used to run GTX285 SLI. Am I being followed ? :D
     
    t77snapshot says thanks.
  3. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    haha weeeird! great minds think alike.:laugh:
     
    Yukikaze says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,310 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    ...and fools seldom differ :laugh:

    :toast:
     
  5. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Looks good man :) How long do you leak test?
     
  6. Ross211

    Ross211

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    473 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    Kansas
    t77, you simply need to rotate the inlet! You say in your main post that you are using the Apogee GTZ, but from the looks of it you have the Apogee XT ??? I can't tell if that's the GTZ or the XT block you have but it looks like there are some metric/allen screws that will allow you to rotate the inlet.

    You'll have to drain your loop unfortunately, but you can do it like this -

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I stole all this infos from Swiftech's main page - swiftnets.com

    I will warn you - Swiftech makes great products... However, they hide from you and their support is non existant. Go ahead, call them on the phone, go to their forums, see how many unanswered and unattended threads there are.

    Oh, and if you call you'll likely get this dumb sounding blonde (maybe she's hot, IDK, her name is Michelle) - Whatever problem or query you have she'll ask you to email the information to michelle@swiftech.com - Well, everytime I've ever called in and sent an email I get no reply from anyone and nobody I reach has any idea what the F*ck is going on. WTF kind of way is this to run a company?
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2010
    t77snapshot, DannibusX and MT Alex say thanks.
  7. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,084 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Subbed because this is awesome. I read the title as freshman under water. [​IMG]
     
  8. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,501 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    705
    awesome, looking great! btw this pic is for you...

    [​IMG]

    I've been playing throuh HL2 again on my comp with the HD3200 and a mod adding EP2 graphics to HL2. I have to run at lower res but it still looks pretty good and i get between 30-60fps. not bad for onboard gfx.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Ross211

    Ross211

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    473 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    Kansas
    Cinematic Mod 10 :rockout:
     
  10. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,501 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    705
    yea that's a good one too but some things it changes too much. also my HD3200 would die with that lol. The mod I'm using is a little simpler. it replaces the resource files with those of EP2 and so my other mods also look like EP2 as far as graphics quality. wish i could remember the name of the mod...

    anyway... looking forward to seeing the end result t77

    edit: found the mod http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1093025
     
  11. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,868 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,691
    Very nice. I imagine that now you are hooked. :toast:
     
  12. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Thanks for correcting my typo in the OP, yes it is the XT model. I remember viewing these pics from the Swiftech site but didn't even notice mine had been switched the other way. I will fix that once the new tubing comes in. Thanks for the info :)

    Haha that's awesome! I love your avatar too:rockout:
     
    xBruce88x says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    When's the new tubing come in? Is that thing all leak tested yet? I wanna see some temp results!
     
  14. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Tubing should be here by Friday, no leaks what so ever, and I haven't had a chance to hook everything up yet because of work. Hopefully I will have time later today..
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Hope so too! Im anxious to see this :)
     
    t77snapshot says thanks.
  16. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Looking fantastic t77!!! and yes, all you have to do is swap that one fitting around and you should have no problems getting that compression fitting to work.

    BTW.. that loop looks AWESOMELY familiar :D !
     
    t77snapshot says thanks.
  17. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    ahhhhh you caught me J5:eek: I was wondering when you were gonna notice that.:laugh::respect:
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I see what you did there. :D

    Looking awesome t77!!!!
     
  19. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    For now I'm just keeping the airflow traditional (see pic), I have two 120mm fans as push/pull intake on the front radiator, another intake fan below that and as for the top rad I have the two 140mm fans exhausting out the top.

    [​IMG]

    Another quick pic of the build atm..
    [​IMG]
     
    KieX, Josh154, johnnyfiive and 3 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,665 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Looking good so far:toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,501 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    705
    yea i love HL series lol. my other 2 fav are Starcraft and CnC. (i know rts) I'm anxiously waiting for the Blackmesa Source mod to finish.

    Setup is looking good!
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2010
  22. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    My original plan was to do black and orange tubes, well I couldn't seem to find Orange tubing in the size (7/16"ID, 5/8"OD) I wanted so I have decided to just do Black tubes with UV Orange Coils. I did find two sites that sell orange tubing in that size but they are both outside the US. I'm not a big fan of the coil look, but I think incorporating the orange on black will turn out quite nice with this theme case anyway. Plus black tubing is such a neutral color I probably can use it for a future build as well.:)

    site 1
    site 2

    [​IMG]

    Now for the tricky part....I want to use uv cathodes to make the Orange coils glow, but I have noticed that the uv lights also illuminate the window with a sorta purple reflection eww! So I am going to try and use my custom Orange cathodes for the window and the UV ones for the coils/ Orange paint...not sure if they will work well together.

    [​IMG]


    btw, I just finished my OCCT tests...I will post temps here shortly.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    I performed a small 10% overclock (2.8 to 3.0) and ran OCCT tests to check the temps and see if it needs improvement. I know the voltage is high for such a small oc, but I wanted to push the temps test and see it it leave some head room. Well sure enough I am not satisfied with the load temps and I think I need to reconfigure my fan setup and cool the radiators a better way. The temps are not bad, but I feel I can do better.:)

    Idle:
    [​IMG]

    100% load:
    [​IMG]

    cpu-z
    [​IMG]
     
    Velvet Wafer and (FIH) The Don say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    t77snapshot and Velvet Wafer say thanks.
  25. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,868 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,691
    That must be a cool chip?!?

    My 940 hits 44-50+ (depending on ambient) at full load, at stock volts, 3.6-3.8 MHz. That is with a 2.120 & 3.120, same pump, 2 res, and 5870 block. I'd say you're doing pretty well.

    One thing that has alway had me puzzled: My 940, which is supposed to be stock at 1.35v, has always shown 1.41 at full load. Maybe that's why I never have to give it more juice, to 3.8, that is.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page