1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Project Thief - CaseLabs TX10-D Dual Workstation/Gaming Build - Gulftown and SB-E

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by stren, Jan 16, 2012.

  1. f22a4bandit

    f22a4bandit

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    574 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Location:
    SATX
    This is a really clean build in progress, Stren. I'm glad you've shared the build with us here on TPU!
     
  2. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Man I wish you the best with your Razer mouse, atleast I hope you won't be unlucky like me, had to RMA my Naga 3 times, just gave up using it :(
     
  3. Drugsh

    Drugsh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    FAAAAAAAAAKKKKKKKKKK......awesum case :eek:
    All the best for your future plans :)
     
  4. stren

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Thanks :)

    Yeah I've heard some bad things with them so I was wary to try try them. It does feel like it will break, but so far so good hopefully I'll get lucky because I like the shape - I wouldn't mind if it was a bit bigger though (I have large hands)

    Thanks :)
     
  5. stren

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Tease mode activated

    A box arrived

    [​IMG]

    You said flap :rolleyes:

    [​IMG]

    The largest usb flash drives known to man and some awesome sauce:

    [​IMG]

    Sometimes the front view is better than the back:

    [​IMG]

    Opening a door:

    [​IMG]

    Socket 2011 is bigger than I thought:

    [​IMG]

    Inside the box is two more boxes:

    [​IMG]

    - Curiously only a 2x CFX cable, but yet 2/3/4x SLI cables
    - The sata 6gbps cables are black with partly white connectors as opposed to full black for the rest of the cables.
    - The OC key that plugs inline with your monitor doesn't support high res monitors - bit of a fail there Asus. Shouldn't affect me as I can use the USB cable from my other rig anyway
    - It would be nice if the back of the backplate was also black rather than the shiny tin foil like other boards

    [​IMG]

    And the last tease for the night:

    [​IMG]
     
    theJesus says thanks.
  6. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,969 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    It really surprises me that most boards nowadays don't come with both plain and black I/O plates, considering the amount of all-black cases on the market. I spray-painted mine.
     
  7. H 3 L L S M A N

    H 3 L L S M A N New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Sault Ste Marie
    I really wanted to get that one when I saw it looks awsome, but I had gotten the Corsair Voyager 3.0 16Gb so stuck with that for now.
     
  8. stren

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    I know right? ROG go so far to make things different and consistent (i.e. custom colored sata cables etc), I'm really surprised they don't offer this.

    To be honest I knew nothing about these, got them free with the RAM. First flash drive that I've seen that is rated for 300m underwater though lol. They are large though.
     
    theJesus says thanks.
  9. stren

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Had some time for another photo session seeing as the cpu doesn't get here for a few days:

    Took the board out:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Took the ram out, seems to be the fastest I've seen at 1.5V with 4GB sticks.

    [​IMG]

    Installed the ram, note that the polarity is reversed on each side, which makes sense if they flipped the pinout on the chip.

    [​IMG]

    The paint job on the fins wasn't that even - some sticks definitely got more coverage:

    [​IMG]

    Time to take off the heatsink in preperation for the EK full cover block:

    [​IMG]

    Only the VRM area had thermal pads on the back and front of the heatsink:

    [​IMG]

    Looks like Asus have moved away from that horrible yellow TIM they had on the R3E:

    [​IMG]

    The VRM area with heatsink removed:

    [​IMG]
     
    theJesus says thanks.
  10. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Awesome stren, which EK full cover are you going to put?
     
  11. stren

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    The plexi nickel version. I know plexi is bad for the long term, but I can't resist the occasional dye for at least the show photos and LANs lol.

    Also getting the plexi nickel ram blocks.
     
  12. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Plexi holds on rather good if it is high quality, of course it's not pom delrin or acetal but if you are going to fill your loop with some fancy mayhem coolant it's going to be wicked :toast:
    I hope you are going to host LANs in your house because traveling with that case would need an helicopter backup :roll:
     
  13. stren

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Lol yeah I know - I can't actually fit the assembled case in my car, so I may need a friend with a truck lol.

    Also a big thanks to CaseLabs for officially sponsoring this build! I love CaseLabs and I'm very proud to be working with them on this. I will be doing my best to make this as epic as they are.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. user21

    user21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    282 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Peshawar
    Freakishly sexillent work there
     
  15. stren

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Thanks :):)


    Chip arrived, motherboard and ram blocks don't come until tomorrow though.

    SSD is actually for my wife's rig. I don't have an ssd on my gaming rig. I only use it for games so I wouldn't see that much benefit from a boot drive. I use my workstation for web browsing etc as it's on all the time. I'd need a 512gb drive or so to cover my games, so I'm waiting for prices to come down more

    [​IMG]

    Batch on the 3930K is 3152B448, we'll see how it clocks soon :)
     
  16. stren

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Suddenly a wild EK party!

    [​IMG]

    Nickel plexi because I want to run some red dye (on special occasions only for all you dye haters out there)

    [​IMG]

    Finished cleaning the TIM off the south bridge only to find a piece of tin foil with more TIM underneath. Weird.

    [​IMG]

    Pretty easy to install when the block is in two parts, the single piece blocks are much harder:

    [​IMG]

    VRM area:

    [​IMG]

    Full board:

    [​IMG]

    and one more:

    [​IMG]

    That's all for now
     
    manofthem says thanks.
  17. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Everytime I see a set of Dominator GTs sticks on a Rampage I always get a hard, sorry for being explicit :p
     
  18. stren

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Haha np, it's good to know people like it. Now I'm adding in the ram blocks. Not sure if it looks better or worse than the red heatsinks. Just try to imagine some red dye going through the acrylic blocks.

    The fittings aren't the final ones, just more for planning. I'm working with Monsoon free to see if something special will make the tube routing super clean ;)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    the ram blocks remind me of battersea power station:

    [​IMG]

    Now adding in the gpu makes it look ugly and busy :( The copper and green pcb really don't match. I called a nickel plating company to get a quote on plating both copper GPU blocks and it was $175 for both! So that's not going to happen. I may switch to the other acetal/copper block and paint the edge of the copper silver. I have another idea for the PCB ;)

    [​IMG]

    Much better with the gpu off again

    [​IMG]
     
    manofthem says thanks.
  19. stren

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    No comments TPU? Man I should stop giving you updates ;)


    Soo like I mentioned before I really didn't like the green/copper look clashing with the black/red R4E theme:

    [​IMG]

    So I started to paint the GPU with liquid tape - first coat:

    [​IMG]

    So here's how it looks now after two coats on both sides:

    [​IMG]

    You can see some of the texture here, liquid tape is hard to work with - either annoyingly thick, or very thin and see through:

    [​IMG]

    From this angle the texture isn't as bad:

    [​IMG]

    However it would look a lot better with a backplate, I'm thinking something like this, smoked acrylic with an etch and a couple of LEDs to light it from the side:

    [​IMG]

    What do you guys think? Feel free to photoshop up your own suggestions :)
     
  20. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,522 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,621
    Nice build log:toast:
    I think the gpu would look a lot better with a backplate. Your concept looks pretty cool:)
    Sub'd
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,901 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,377
    I would agree with HammerON. I thought the liquid tape was kinda weird looking, and think it would be better with the backplate.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,940 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    [​IMG]
    last flap to awesome? cool
     
  23. stren

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Thanks - I just need to make it (or find someone with a powerful enough laser)

    Yeah I agree too

    Haha, I guess newegg are trying to be cool ;)



    The temporary parts came in to see if I could get some clean routing for the motherboard/ram/gpu loop:

    [​IMG]

    However it didn't quite work as expected- I couldn't get the 40mm extensions to work with the 5 way rotary snake, however a SLI connector did fit.

    [​IMG]

    Now I'm not sure whether to:
    - get two more sli connectors (I need this one)
    - use two compression fittings instead
    - get two of the bitspower crystal sli links to match better

    What do you guys think?

    I should probably go with the cheapest as I'm hoping monsoon free's new design will solve the problem for me.
     
  24. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,901 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,377
    I personally don't like the rotary snakes and I would rather see a 90-degree fitting off the ram blocks with tubing that criss-crosses to 45-degree fittings on the Mosfet block. And if you know anything about me, I am a stickler about short tubing runs, but I just hate the rotary snakes that much.

    Was the 40mm extension too short or something? I know Enzotech makes their extensions in different lengths - maybe you could add a couple together to make it work?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. stren

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Yeah I hear you - The length was right - there might have been a just a slight lateral difference that the snake couldn't make. However the main problem was trying to tighten the snake onto the extension - the last rotary section is harder to turn than the 45 degree one before it, so it twists the snake instead of screwing on. I gave up as I don't have sturdy enough pliers to grip it without ripping up the fitting.

    Adding an inline rotary like this might fix it though:

    [​IMG]

    One reason I didn't want to do the crossover thing was because the CPU loop will probably come out from there to go up to the roof to the 140.9. But yes the end result may be cleaner.
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page