1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Project Thief - CaseLabs TX10-D Dual Workstation/Gaming Build - Gulftown and SB-E

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by stren, Jan 16, 2012.

  1. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Do you have animals? Could be fur.
     
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,463 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Dust and other particles that like to float in the air?
     
  3. stren

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    137 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Thanks for the ideas guys. Here's a close up, you can scratch it off with a fingernail:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,948 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    looks like oxidation or water trace
    the case is pretty huge and must be expensive
    [​IMG]
    the left side is for board and the right for wardrobe
    4 thumbs 4 u
     
  5. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Seems more like sand to me, do you live in a dusty place? I mean near a desert or a beach.
     
  6. stren

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    137 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    About 0.5 mile from the beach, but it doesn't feel like sand - too fine, and too stuck to the paint?
     
  7. stren

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    137 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Well I haven't done any more on it yet. Still working through the photos from the last two weeks. So here's another update...

    So we left off with the antec 300 emptied out, here's another shot of it next to the TX10 now that it's empty:

    [​IMG]

    I was also now left with a big stack of fans. This is without the 15 fans that have already been used in the TX10:

    [​IMG]

    Now I could start rebuilding the gaming rig into the TX10:

    [​IMG]

    Adding the 120 rad for the motherboard loop:

    [​IMG]

    Testing that it still fits in the case:

    [​IMG]

    Soon it must be time to start tidying up before I get slapped!

    [​IMG]

    However first I need to get my work computer up. The free 360 is being used for the workstation motherboard/ram/gpu loop and will sit approximately here:

    [​IMG]

    So now to take apart the loop that was leak testing in order to add the rad:

    [​IMG]

    I changed out the 45 degree bitspower compression on the GPU as it felt like it had a slight leak in in that position, so it has a temporary barb, I also removed the pump sticker. It's much cleaner now, and who needs an overpriced dress kit ;)

    [​IMG]

    That's all for now!
     
  8. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,808 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,070
    finally read through everything. this is full of awesome!
     
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,463 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Stren's build is (and is going to be,) so awesome, that the definition of the word "awesome" will be Stren's rig by the time he is done. :)

    I really do love the pictures, though, keep them coming because I'm sure I'm not the only person excited to see this beauty come to life. :rockout:
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  10. stren

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    137 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Thanks guys you make me all warm and fuzzy :)

    So I have a question about sleeving, I'm getting grey, titanium grey, black and red from mdpc and wondering the best pattern to do, what do you think?

    [​IMG]
     
  11. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    I vote for option D :)
     
  12. PHaS3

    PHaS3

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    I vote Option A... :D
     
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,808 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,070

    :banghead:
     
  14. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Holy mother of god!!! :eek:

    This is by far the most insane build I have ever seen, very very meticulous, I salute you!!! :respect: :rockout:

    P.S where in good gods name are you going to put your rack case??? :confused: :roll:
     
  15. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,948 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    [​IMG]
    i take: C
    :D i give you 4 thumbs for your effort and money to build that :toast:
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,463 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I personally like B.
     
  17. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,808 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,070
    i take C and E
     
  18. stren

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    137 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Thanks for the feedback it helps :) If anyone else has some please let me know and I'll round up the results from all the forums soon :)

    Here's a quick update - time to start drilling!

    [​IMG]

    Adding some fill ports:

    [​IMG]

    2 done:

    [​IMG]

    All done:

    [​IMG]

    Not as messy now:

    [​IMG]

    Time to get the workstation up and running so I can get back to work (once I've cleaned up of course). I'll be using the Koolance dual bay dual D5 reservoir for now. It's a real pain to use because it doesn't bleed well, however if you add on some tube from the fill ports on the res up to the fill ports on the case you can keep the water level above the reservoir and it really helps.

    [​IMG]

    Now we've freed up a 360 rad for the workstation gpu/motherboard/ram loop, we can put the loop together:

    [​IMG]

    I'm using AP15's temporarily until I'm done painting the low speed yates. Also that one barb is temporary too:

    [​IMG]

    The wiring is temporary too. So for loop testing, I disconnected the QDC's pulled the motherboard tray out of the case and the 360 out seperately, then I reconnected and filled the loop and left it to bleed/leak test on the counter for a few hours.

    [​IMG]
     
    Mindweaver, Aquinus and de.das.dude say thanks.
  19. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,808 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,070
    its sexy and you know it ;)
     
  20. stren

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    137 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Haha thanks dude!


    Alright time for another update. Here's the loop testing for the workstation. Bear in mind this is not the final loop - it will be tidier with nicer fittings, for now I need to get my workstation up and running, I can pretty it up later.

    [​IMG]

    Some of the tube is the pink tube that I had mentioned before, that will be replaced. Bleeding of the annoying koolance reservoir was made easier by the dedicated fill ports and by the QDC's. The D5's struggle to push that much air out of the system, so it was much easier to bleed the cpu section and the radiator seperately and then connect them up as a whole:

    [​IMG]

    Now that it had passed leak testing it was time to take it to the office:

    [​IMG]

    It was now heavy (and bulky) and I didn't trust the BP crystal links not to loosen up if I didn't take it down the step smoothly, so I found a piece of plywood in the shed to help:

    [​IMG]

    First boot! Yay! It wasn't just the kitchen that was covered in parts, so was the office, it's a real mess as I still had my old workstation running while I tweaked the clocks on this one.

    [​IMG]

    I temporarily put the power supply in the top chamber while I did the overclocking tweaking:

    [​IMG]

    Did a quick bench to see the limit of the chip, I couldn't get past 5.22GHz on water. I tried up to 1.66V, but nothing past 1.56 really helped. 5.22 means it's a pretty average 3930K, certainly no golden chip :( I tried to settle for a 24/7 clock of 4.95, but I didn't like the volts, so settled down for 4.9 instead, I'll see if I can tweak the memory faster than 2133 CL9 later, here's a SS of the 5.22:

    [​IMG]

    Next I installed the power supplies properly, here you can see the optional PSU support bracket for long power supplies. It's probably not necessary, but why not? It comes with some rubber tape to damp any vibrations:

    [​IMG]

    Here's the first PSU installed:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2012
  21. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,970 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    861
    Location:
    Ohio
    3rd pic, where you can see the fridge really shows off it's size . . . It will never cease to amaze me.
     
  22. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,808 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,070
    most intel chips are average now it seems :(
     
  23. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Mother of GOD! :eek: :respect:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,463 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I would lax CL9 to CL10 and opt for higher memory speeds, it will lower your memory latency even if initially memory isn't as fast until you find that sweet spot. I don't know how it works with your 3930k, but I bet it's similar to my 3820. Nice pics too, how are the temps?
     
  25. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,528 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,633
    Sweet update:toast:
    Glad to see the beast "alive":)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page