1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Project Thief - CaseLabs TX10-D Dual Workstation/Gaming Build - Gulftown and SB-E

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by stren, Jan 16, 2012.

  1. stren New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    128 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Haha yeah it's a beast!

    Yeah, I should really start binning chips to try and get that elusive one

    haha thank :)

    Temps are good, folding at 4.9GHz puts the cores between 59 and 69C with an ambient of 24c. Pushing volts and frequency higher didn't increase temps much, but I don't want to risk the volts. Not so much for the sake of the chip, I'll get the extra OC warranty anyway, just for the downtime it would cost me.

    Thanks :)
  2. stren New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    128 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Took a break to put together an ivy rig for a co-worker:

    A board!

    [​IMG]

    blah blah blah marketing - where's the window that the extreme boards have?

    [​IMG]

    Now there's a board

    [​IMG]

    I liked the door hanger - unfortunately this is for an overclocked workstation so not too useful here:

    [​IMG]

    A large box for some memory (32giggles):

    [​IMG]

    Matching:

    [​IMG]

    Oh and a cpu:

    [​IMG]

    Best put that in the socket then:

    [​IMG]

    We should remove that plastic cover too:

    [​IMG]

    Putting in that H100:

    [​IMG]

    Yeah I know no custom water loop, but this is going to someone who can't be trusted with such things ;)

    miniThief is getting there:

    [​IMG]

    miniThief- now with 100% more PSU:

    [​IMG]

    Don't forget a GPU (9800GT ftw!)

    [​IMG]

    Close up:

    [​IMG]

    ISO:

    [​IMG]
  3. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,561 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Definitely a nice, clean looking rig. I'm sure whoever is getting it will enjoy it. :cool:
  4. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,280 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,195
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    [​IMG]
    yeah, as usual, when you build a rig the clean thing is before you put psu and connect many cables on that
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,411 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    nice siggy
  6. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,561 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I was thinking how well the water cooler fit into the case. I have no doubt Stren will do a clean wiring job. :rockout:
  7. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,997 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    Imagine that case rolling around the house due to all the fans, very scary XD

    That build is insane! How much did the case itself cost? $500-800?
  8. stren New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    128 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    The TX10-D is $870 these days I think, add on the pedestal ($270) + radiators mounts (4@ ~$50 each) and the HD side mount ($50), extra HD bay($15) 4 ssd mounts (9 each), 1u covers (not sure), custom powder coat ($900). Probably about 2.5K with tax/shipping total to buy it like that now.
  9. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,960 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    :eek::twitch::wtf: that's more than twice the cost of my entire rig just for your case! :cry:
  10. stren New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    128 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Lol yeah this is the insanest build I've ever done lol!



    So back to the *real* project. Now that my workstation was up and running, I could take the old one down:

    [​IMG]

    OMG dust! This is three months worth:

    [​IMG]

    Still yucky:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Got out the duster and started taking it apart:

    [​IMG]

    Nearly done

    [​IMG]

    Now I've gone and made the kitchen messy again:

    [​IMG]
  11. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,561 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Filthy radiator. D: The temperatures couldn't have been very good.
  12. stren New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    128 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    You know I was surprised - I had an H100 that was just as dusty and the temps went up 20C. However with this loop the temps barely changed much at all, maybe 5C or so. I'd been watching them because I could see it was filthy but I knew I was taking it apart soon lol, i thought I'd wait and see how bad it would get before the temps got really bad, but I couldn't wait that long.
  13. stren New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    128 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    So as it's the weekend you get bonus updates :)

    This is how I initially wanted the PSU's to give maximum air intake:

    [​IMG]

    However the left PSU once it had cables would conflict with the 360 rad mounted in front of it, so I decided to move it:

    [​IMG]

    Done, you can see there's still a good amount of space in between:

    [​IMG]

    Now to mount them - they're going in the second to bottom compartment:

    [​IMG]

    and mounted:

    [​IMG]

    Now time to mount all the hard drives - here are the gaming rig drives:

    [​IMG]

    Now let's add in the workstation drives:

    [​IMG]

    old skool x25e:

    [​IMG]

    All done:

    [​IMG]

    Now to cable it - I hate how asus only give you sata cables with right angles at one end and straights at the other. For this build I really need straight to straights, so I had to order some more from the egg, this is the temporary rats nest:

    [​IMG]

    Yikes!
  14. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,562 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    Nice Pics. That's a lot of disks.
  15. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,319 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,404
    Two AX1200's!!! That is a lot of power:)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,960 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    I don't think you have enough drives :p
  17. stren New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    128 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Lol yeah, since then I picked up another M4 too!

    One for each rig, the gaming rig isn't extreme enough yet to require a 2nd PSU :)

    lol
    theJesus says thanks.
  18. stren New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    128 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Alright a quick update as I got some more time to process photos (on a side note the first mdpc package came woot!)

    I got the workstation back up and running:

    [​IMG]

    But I had to use the gaming side for location of the power supply as the cables were not long enough to reach the real location. As you can see it makes a good storage room also:

    [​IMG]

    Workstation in action - no 2nd 8800gt yet because I'm only driving two screens, the card is being used as a test card for now for some other rigs I'm building.

    [​IMG]

    Again a lot of fittings are temporary. So now back to the gaming rig. I transferred the sweet trident ram from my worksation to the gaming rig (I think it maybe hypers), it can do 2130 CL 8 and probably more but that's the limit of my 990x IMC. Should have tried two sticks in the 3770K rig I slapped together to see what it could really do! The ugly p6t board that was being used for the workstation is now going into a generic network maintenance use and will be put in a rack.

    [​IMG]

    A shot of that sexy ram:

    [​IMG]

    And the motherboard tray:

    [​IMG]

    Here you can see I had soldered on an extra molex connector to the board (just to the bottom of the STX). My old case didn't have room to connect a power cable to the real connector, so this helped me give the gpus enough power.

    [​IMG]

    And now time to swap the 920 for that sweet 990x:

    [​IMG]
    Aquinus and PopcornMachine say thanks.
  19. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,561 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Looking good. :toast:

    What were you thinking you were going to do about the short PSU cables?
  20. stren New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    128 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Make custom wiring harnesses, it's a pain, but I wanted to sleeve anyway so it's just a bit more work lol.
  21. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,561 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Are you going to use adapters to plug the current cables into a new harness or are you going to cut or re-solder new wires to the PSU?
  22. stren New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    128 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    It's fully modular, so in general I'll be replacing the connectors inside the plugs as much as possible. Some I may have to solder on if I can't find the right metal parts to crimp on.
    Aquinus says thanks.
  23. Tokio

    Tokio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    64 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Bucharest, Moscow, London
    one word: Beast!
    please do tell the total amount of $ you spent on this...
    also how many builds do you have going on, I cant even tell, there seems to be an additional case on every page lol
  24. stren New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    128 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Lol the Z77/Ivy Bridge system was just a temporary distraction - that's been delivered to my buddy now. There will be another distraction this week, but then it's back to the main two systems that live in this case ;)

    As for cost, I don't have hard numbers, partly because I don't want to have a heart attack, but also because I got a lot of stuff second hand, sponsored or as part of my job. To buy the whole system new would probably run between 10 and 15K though.
  25. codyjansen

    codyjansen

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    319 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    This is so epic

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page