1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

project water cooling in antec 600 part 1

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by DTV DRAGON, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    ok guys i finaly started today on setting up my water cooling system in my antec 600. For the first part of this build I will not be doing any painting on the case itself. This will only be the modding and fab part, and after I have that completed and ran for awhile, I will then yank it apart to paint the inside of the case etc.This will be done at a snails pace because of my pain condition, so if it looks like Iam not makeing much progress please keep that in mind.So today it was bascial just cutting away on the harddrve cage as well the cable managment panel so i can fit me rad upfront,I was thinking about mounting it uptop, but with it upfront i can still use the two 120mm fans that are stock on my 600 to pull in cool air,and then i mounted another set of 120mm on the rad so I have a push/pull air effect happining.with the front panel back on you cannot even tell that there is a rad tucked in behind there,So at this point I have the rad mounted and secured in place. and then found a nice spot for the reservoir (bought from sniperbob), but needed a way to fill it once it was mounted,so only thing i could come up with was plumbing some of my 1/2 red hose (that I bought from jellyrole) from the top of the res going through the top of my case (still need to make some sort of kewl looking cap for it) and that was about it for today as i needed to put it back together as its our only puter in the house lol, Part 2 will be mounting Swiftech MCP655 pump/EK-FC5870 for hd5870/laying out hose routeing

    Attached Files:

  2. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    well did abit more work today, and actually running on water as i type, I did not change over my 5870 yet as i wasnt feeling to great today , so i just attempted to get it to where it is now, I will run it for a few days like this and then start the second last part of this changeover Needless to say I was nervous as hell looking for any leaks or water dripping lol. but there was none. I have not run any temp benches yet, but in core temp it is idleing at 36 oc/ed to 4.1, cant wait till i have the 5870 in the loop as well, here are a few pics of todays work, also bought that neat little lcd graph temp gauge from fleebay, and drilled a hole and slid her down into the rez to give me a readout on my water temps, I mounted the gauge upfront on the case bezel.I will take some pics of that working and post them later on

    Attached Files:

  3. mav2000

    mav2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    451 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Would like to see how you mounted that read out there...nice work.
  4. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    maybe cut a hole under the psu and flip it? will help you with wm imo
  5. jellyrole

    jellyrole

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,020 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Manhattan
    That tubing looks familiar.
  6. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,730 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    Nice looking build. It's always a nail biter when you first fire up your loop. I moved to water just after Christmas and I'm still happy everyday after work when I find my computer hasn't leaked:) I'll never go back to air. Also, I like your red rad fans, they go well with the 5870. I was a little disappointed when I put the block on mine and lost the batmobile look.
    DTV DRAGON says thanks.
  7. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    yeah works great with my red theme, Also iam going to filp the psu so the wires are more to the inside of the case, wich will make it alot cleaner, Tommorow if iam up to it i will start the last phase and get the 5870 in water as well., thanx for commets guys
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,420 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Nice dragon! its nice to see you got to 4Ghz on the CPU!! i remember when you first started OCing it and we were PMing up a storm!
    DTV DRAGON says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    846 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc. Canada
    Nice job man :toast:

    Is it me or is your inlet/outlet on your cpu block backwards? :confused:
    DTV DRAGON says thanks.
  10. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    nop you caught me..good eye lol its changed already. I was wondering whp would get that, also here is a pic of my lcd meter that reads the water temp in res, I still need to fit the trim ring on so it covers the gap i have on one side

    Attached Files:

  11. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    846 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc. Canada
    :p

    Lolll, I have the same temp meter... :roll:

    EDIT: Temporary setup :eek:

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 10, 2010
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,420 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Were do you guys get that meter?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    brandon i got minr from fleebay, came from hongkong, but got here very fast,seems like stuff from hong kong gets here faster than when i order from the us, it actualy works very well. drilled a little hole in my res and inserted the probe and done deal,also today i will be doing the 5870 convert over, stay tuned for pics and results
  14. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    ok here is the 5870 changeover process, It all went very smooth,and i would say putting a water block on a gpu is a 3 out of 10 on the difficulty scale

    Attached Files:

  15. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    here are some pics of the 5870 completed with chrome backplate installed as well

    Attached Files:

  16. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    and some more pics of it getting put into case

    Attached Files:

  17. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,810 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    Those EK blocks look sexy and also perform wonderfully. Lookin good so far.
    DTV DRAGON says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    and now for a pic of the temps i get now with the 5870 on water.when it was on its stock cooler my temp was 50-52 at idle, (card o/c'ed to 975@1300 @1.25v) all I can say now is WOW what a difference water makes on the gpu!!

    Attached Files:

  19. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    846 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc. Canada
    I couldn't agree more Dragon. :toast:

    Excellent choice for GPU block ;)
    DTV DRAGON says thanks.
  20. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    loosenut,....you more than anyone would know that!!!!! I made a good friend from some compresion fittings and a ek gpu block :)
    Loosenut says thanks.
  21. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,810 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    Nice temps. I run mine @ 1Ghz GPU/1.3Ghz mem on 1.125v without issues. I've recently played around some more and it takes 1.35v to run 1150Mhz GPU/1350Mhz Mem. Still sitting under 50 celcius at full load.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    846 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc. Canada
    :laugh: Interesting story too... Maybe you should share it, I do believe it pertains to this build, wouldn't you say?

    Good job Bro, looks sweet so far :toast:
  23. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    sure does! and as soon as i come back from doc appt. i will :)
  24. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    846 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc. Canada
    Hope all goes well Dragon, we're prayin' for ya :)
  25. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    hey guys, thought id posta quick pic of my temps under full fur mark load, have to say that before water my temps were at 72 and now they are at 45 and at even higher clocks
    my clocks are now 1018@1306 and 1.287 volts, and i know i can go alot higher or at least until it starts to drop in performance, wich i couldnt do on air before, I will post more later on as i need to take a rest now, wasnt a great doc visit as some of you kinda know what is going on with me take care

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page