1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Project White Boy

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by [H]@RD5TUFF, Sep 16, 2012.

  1. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Installed

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,989 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Hey [H] is there something wrong with CPUID proggy it's reading only 7.xxV on the +12V rail I hope that's not the real reading
     
  3. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Where? link?
     
  4. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
  5. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA

    Ah yeah I have tried everything from re-installing drivers to the program itself, and it refuses to not display that way, it shows fine in all the other monitors like speed fan.
     
  6. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Some more toys showed up today!



    I wonder whats inside . . .
    [​IMG]



    Sweet!
    [​IMG]




    Also something smaller and more awesome showed up today as well, more on that later though.
     
    NHKS, Random Murderer and manofthem say thanks.
  7. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,559 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,250
    Those are some nice fans :D I had 3 on my radiator: moved a lot of air but at a bit of a noisy level... I never tried the voltage step down thing, which is supposed to lend to a quieter environment. But regardless, nice fans, everything should be nice and cool :cool: Are you putting those on the H100?

    Sorry to hear about your foot! :eek:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Doing some unboxing photos, I am getting ready to install it now, going push pull.
     
  9. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    So now for the secret ingredient, for this build.

    [​IMG]



    2 256 GB Samsung 830's!
     
    NHKS, manofthem and Random Murderer say thanks.
  10. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,514 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,238
  11. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    looks like someone got a sweet lil bonus to use for a build.
     
  12. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Yes they will be in a stripped array (raid 0)

    I was aiming for 2 512's or to wait for the 840's to come out, but I bought these for $150 each NEW, so I figured the raid will make up for lost speed.:D
     
  13. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,559 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,250
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,514 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,238
    According to Samsung's specs, the 830 256G and 512G share the same performance numbers, so there will be no lost speed, just half the capacity.
     
  15. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,559 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,250
    I have 2 of those same ssds, and I did have them in raid0. Honestly I didn't love it, no real world benefit I saw, but some things did feel and seem slower. I believe th 4k reads and such were down slightly, and I hated that. Please post some benches and stuff when you get them all beautifully installed and configured!! :D
    :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,924 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,122
    im late to the party :p
     
  17. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    More hardware porn.

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    Instillation shots to follow.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2012
    NHKS and PopcornMachine say thanks.
  18. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,065 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,661
    Which Corsair fans did you get, performance or quiet? Let me know what you think of them, as I was thinking of adding them to my rig.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,559 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,250
    His pic shows the SP120 2350rpm performance fans. I had some and they were very good (moved air well but a tad too loud for my taste), and I too am awaiting to hear from [H]@rd what he thinks of them :)

     
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,065 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,661
    Thanks - I missed that pic. I don't mind the noise much since I have a fan controller for my rig. I can turn it down while surfing and turn them up while gaming or benching. :pimp:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,559 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,250
    I thought so too. The issue I found with these fans is that they don't do well with a fan controller. Turning them down a little bit made them emit this high pitch noise, just awful on the ears lol. They come with a voltage step down adapter (which I never used) which makes them quieter though.

    But I have to say they work very well! 3 in push in my rad did better than 6 yate loons in push/pull on the same rad. Very effective!

    I anticipate [H] loving them performance wise! :D
     
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    More tweaks so another round of benchmarks, still running off of the WD 1Tb black, having issues getting windows installed on the raid so any help anyone could provide would be very much appreciated!

    [​IMG]
     
  23. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA


    I put the resistors on them and they aren't too shabby the temps are good, and the noise isn't bad, they are quieter than my video card, I also have a stand fan going pretty much constantly in my room, so I really don't notice fan noise much.
     
    manofthem says thanks.
  24. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,559 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,250
    Everything is looking really great! What trouble are you having with the raid? At what point is it not working for you? I'd love to see you get it working and try it out :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Having trouble getting windows to recognize the raid driver, but I think I have it figured out, going to try again tonight.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page