1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Proper Drivers (Realtek)

Discussion in 'General Software' started by SeanC, Mar 22, 2010.

  1. SeanC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hey everyone,

    I am currently trying to install WindowsXP (I know, I know) onto my system. When I previously tried to install it a few weeks ago (this is a new copy I am trying this time) the internet wouldn't function, the desktop was blank when first booted up, my mouse driver (wireless), had to be reinstalled each time I booted up and generally there seemed to be a lot of issues. Now this partially might of been due to the drivers (though I don't know how) so I am attempting it again but this time with a clean-installation (no leaving the previous operating system on at the same time - dual OS and choosing between them at Start Up).

    My question, or request, is this: Can someone help me find the proper Ethernet Card driver for my Reaktek RTL8138/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC.

    If I can get the Internet working upon starting up WindowsXP I can, obviously, download all the relevant drivers for the computer afterwards. I just need to get past that initial lack of internet to be on my way.

    Cheers if you can help me. That would be grand.
     
  2. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,924 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,601
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    SeanC says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. SeanC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  4. gaximodo

    gaximodo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    268 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    I'm pretty sure you will have internet access without installing that driver first with a fresh installed XP, and if you're not sure, get the driver for your mobo now, and that will be all you need.
     
    SeanC says thanks.
  5. SeanC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Well, see, I did a freah install of XP a few weeks ago but the internet didn't work. The whole thing just seemed really buggy for some reason. All of the problems I stated in the original post above: mouse didn't work everytime I restarted, blank desktop, no internet, etc.

    I just want to be prepared this time, really. How would I go about figuring out my board model? I am fairly certain it's a GA-7VAXP-Ultra made by Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd
     
  6. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    http://www.cpuid.com/pcwizard.php


    I always keep an older 10-100 card laying around for probs like this.(I pop it in, XP installs the drivers than I go to the mobos website and get the onboard driver)
     
    SeanC says thanks.
  7. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    cpu-z can identify your board also.
     
    SeanC says thanks.
  8. SeanC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Well, I'm using that/cupid now and that's why I am fairly certain it's a GA-7VAXP-Ultra made by Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd.

    That's what it says under "Maker" and "Model"
     
  9. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
  10. SeanC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  11. SeanC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    *bump*
     
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    download the LAN driver and see if that gets your internet going
     
    SeanC says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. SeanC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    If I partition my C:\ and install XP on there, will it wipe my D:\ as well during the installation?
     
  14. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    sorry I missed this, I would get the Chipset, Lan and sound drivers (if you are using the onboard sound)
    The USB2.0 isant needed as long as you are using XP SP2 or newer.
     
    SeanC says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page