1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PS3 and linux

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by Wile E, Jul 20, 2007.

  1. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Quick update and bump. Still runnin Ubuntu. It really does work flawlessly on the PS3. I'm very impressed so far.

    There are some cons, tho. Flash and JRE are no longer developed for the PPC64 architecture, and the open source replacements are buggy, and generally just crap. I know, I've tried all of them. lol.

    Despite the power of the Cell cpu, it isn't able to playback high def content in Linux. There just isn't enough ram in the thing. Ubuntu says it has 216MB of ram. Never heard of that amount, but whatever. I'm guessing it's actually 256MB. Either way, not enough ram. lol
     
  2. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Isnt it strange how these next gen consoles dont have at least 1GB of RAM, surely that would help during gaming etc :confused:

    Any news on the PS3 playing backups/homebrew through Linux yet?
     
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Nothing yet. They haven't even figured out how to access the gpu yet.
     
  4. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Consoles suck. They always lack memory. Sony and the like need to really start realising if they gave their console more memory it would make programmers lives so much easier.
     
  5. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    interesting thing is that the 360 has 512mb shared memory (lol...shared) while the ps3 has 256 main, and 256 video.
     
  6. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    PS3 is at a disadvantage in this case, because you cannot access the GPU.

    You can't. because sony SUCKS. :p

    512 for a console these days is plenty. The problem is programming tools.

    Consoles run a stripped down OS.

    Unlike windows, where you're stuck with windows's bloat, un-needed services, services that are about 10 times larger than they need to be, useless frameworks, plus a UI, and extra drivers.
     
  7. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    lol, but like dippy said, they don't use a crazily bloated os.
     
  8. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    LOL, since you got your PS3, I notice you 'dis' the 360 more....funny that ;)
     
  9. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    I am trying to justify my purchase ;)
     
  10. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    lmao, how can I argue with a comeback like that :respect:
     
  11. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    Thats why everything is justified by the dude that has a wii. :toast:
     
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    The open source community is pretty creative. I'm sure they'll find a workaround someday.
     
  13. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    Its probably going to have to force a bios flash.. in which will likely nuke your online gaming too.
     
  14. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    What about this ISO loader that some were talking about?
     
  15. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Or sony becomes nice and unlocks the RSX with a firmware update.
     
  16. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    That'll be the same day they let the PSP play homebrew software.


    I.E. Never.
     
  17. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    I bet sony would be all up for homebrewing if people didn't use it to play backups...or other illegal software.
     
  18. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    Doesn't change the fact that neither Microsoft, nintendo, or sony support it.
     
  19. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Thought I'd bump this. Still running Ubuntu on mine. Have both Gnome and KDE going on it. Everything's great so far, save for one thing. I can't seem to get my resolution set correctly.

    It auto detects my TV correctly as a 720p set, but since it's an LCD, the native res is actually 1366x768. Ubuntu displays in true 1280x720, so there are black bars all the way around my screen. I can't seem to get it fixed in Xorg.conf either. I must be overlooking something.

    Anybody else give Linux a spin on their PS3 yet?
     
  20. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,604 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,226
    Now that makes the PS3 interesting.. Hardcore gaming + Linux makes everything good. I've been off the Internet for a while, so this is news. :)

    Anyhow, what's it like to do regular deskop things? Surfing the web and so on..

    EDIT: And can you connect mouse+keyboard? Because if you can, you have a fully fledged home PC in your hands.
     
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    It's a little slow, due to the 5400rpm notebook hard drive, and the low ram. The low ram only comes into effect when heavily multitasking tho. I also tweaked the OS and my proggies to use less ram, and that helped as well. It's blazing fast on pure cpu tasks, however. And the 5400rpm drive obviously only comes into play at start-up and program launches. It pretty much behaves like an average, mid-grade laptop.

    I'll be ordering a 7200rpm hard drive in the near future, to compensate a little. Should provide a nice boost.

    As for the keyboard and mouse, any usb combo will work, including wireless. Bluetooth is also an option.

    As a downside, Flash and Java don't work. It's not developed for the platform, and open source hasn't caught up. That's just a matter of time, I'm sure.
     
  22. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,604 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,226
    All good then. :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page