1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PS3 region question.

Discussion in 'Games' started by OzzmanFloyd120, Sep 4, 2009.

  1. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    I'm looking for Little Big Planet for PS3, I've found a cheap NIB copy on eBay, but it's the PAL version, will this be an issue on my NTSC TV and with my US version of the PS3?
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,483 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,724
    It won't work.
    OzzmanFloyd120 says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  3. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    That sucks, because this auction I found I can get it NIB for $28.
  4. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6,927 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I thought the PS3 was region free. Any PS3 game will work with the any PS3, no?
  5. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    you can use it it is region free, i own a PAL version of Siren and play it fine on my NTSC console and i just ordered demons souls and it works fine.

    both games are from over seas.

    Enjoy
    OzzmanFloyd120 and AphexDreamer say thanks.
  6. MN12BIRD

    MN12BIRD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    469 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    PS3 is region free? Holly cow that's crazy I can't remember the last time a console was totally region free! Sega Master System? 3DO? That's about it!
  7. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,598 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    ps3 games are all region free but if you have an older tv ie 480i, pal games won't run on it since eu tv's have 576 lines, you will get an error code, but if you have a high def tv you should have no problems
  8. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6,927 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Ha I knew it! +1 for the PS3! lol :rockout:
  9. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,093 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    yes PS3 is region free,i got a 20GB model which is only sold in japan and i'm playing UK games on it and it works perfectly,you can play any games from any region on the PS3 apart from the blu-ray movies they are region coded.
    All of my games are PAL since i live in UK and i got a NTSC ps3
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,452 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    US
    Here's the Region for the Slim version, right from the manual.

    Attached Files:

    lemonadesoda says thanks.
  11. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    yep Region one and All

    smooth move on sonys part
  12. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,452 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    US
    Thing is i am having a issue playing a Pal DVD that was sent to me.. And not seen a option IF there is one to set it to any thing else. Although this is a movie not a game.
  13. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Hm from what i was told you can play all region dvd's just not blu ray hm.

    i know for a fact that most games work though, there are a few ones that don't.
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,677 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    PAL and NTSC are resolutions.

    PS3 uses 720P and 1080P, so as long as you have a HDTV hooked up you're fine.
    If you're using an old school TV, you may have issues.


    PS3 games are region free, however the blu ray drives inside are not - no PAL (region 4) BD movies in your american (region 1/NTSC) PS3's
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,452 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    US
    From what i read in the manual thats correct. And what it says also in the manual that PS2 games work too but not all but also says they don't lol.. Which would make sense with it having a option under games memory card utility for both PS\PS2.

    It just says it cannot play the unknown format (PAL) lol. I don't have any other PAL DVD's so cannot try other's although i might rip it and change the region if that done right should work then maybe.
  16. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ha the slim says ps2 games work on the ps3?
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,677 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    then its likely the DVD drive follows the blu ray component as well.

    i'll amend my statement:

    The Games are region free, the movies (DVD + BD) are not.
  18. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,452 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    US
    Oops :ohwell: looks like i mistaken a ® for a 2 lol. Which means not all PS1 software works on the PS3.
  19. dinjo_jo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    162 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Does that means PS3 Slim wont work on 21 SD TV
  20. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    It will work as long as you use the standard red/white/yellow connectors
  21. dinjo_jo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    162 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    But i have heard that the text etc are not visible when PS3 is connected to a 21' SDTV
  22. dinjo_jo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    162 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    And can you suggest me any 26 ' Full HD LCD TV
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,677 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    SDtv's always had bad text. they're interlaced, and that has nothing to do with the PS3
  24. dinjo_jo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    162 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Is the same for XBOX 360 also ? and what difference would it make if I dont use a 1080p LCD TV and rather use 720p LCD TV ?
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,677 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    it would be blockier.

    my TV isnt 1080P and i have no problems with it, but a 1080P would look better, all other things being equal.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page