1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSP Update Boosts CPU Speed

Discussion in 'News' started by Easy Rhino, Jun 26, 2007.

  1. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,412 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,234
    The latest firmware update for Sony's Playstation Portable, made available last month, officially increases the CPU clock speed from 266 MHz to 333 MHz. While current games will not see any real improvement from the update, games in development will most likely utilize the boost at the cost of decreased battery life. Many enthusiasts were already running the PSP at the increased clock speed.

    Source: TechNewsWorld
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Odd, if they can do that it must mean the CPU's are rated to run faster. What is the rated speed for a PSP CPU?
  3. kakazza New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    470 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
  4. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,412 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,234
    222 MHz for battery life reasons. but people have already clocked their PSPs to 333 MHz. this is an official developmental upgrade.
  5. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    They're at least rated for 333MHz, otherwise Sony would never give out a firmware that sets it at 333Mhz. So what is the maximum all chips can do, what are they designed to do?
  6. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,412 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,234
    no clue.
  7. kakazza New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    470 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Did anyone actually click the wikipedia link?...
  8. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    They were designed as 333mhz chips, but gimped.
  9. Nitrogliserin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    112 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    its good because some games are based on slow-frame rate playing
    upcoming games like god of war and GT portable will use that speed very well
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I have a feeling they can be oc'd more than just the rated 333mhz. I wonder, how were others doing this without a sony firmware?
  11. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!
    I still wanna overclock my xbox. Someone needs to find out how lol. Replace a crystal or something.
  12. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    too bad you couldnt get into the bios of the xbox. that would be sweet. Whats the speed of it now, like 2.4Ghz on 3 different cpus? with the external coolers they make for it, shouldnt be hard to oc it :)
  13. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!
    Well I'm talking about original Xbox, which has a 733mhz mobile celeron, 64mb DDR 128bit ram, 10gb hard drive, nvidia integrated geforce 2 graphics.

    I don't think it has a BIOS, which is why windows wont work on one.
  14. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    Windows CE works fine. ;)
  15. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    fantastic news, the psp runs much better at 333mhz, and with my extended battery i bought for mine, it should hurt battery life as much. If you play GTA:LSS/VCS, and oc'ed the psp to 333, it runs 10x smoother, the animation is much better.
  16. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!

    I have that on my xbox, but windows CE doesn't support a keyboard, and you can't see your cursor on screen, so I don't really think that counts.

    Only reason I installed it is so I can show off how uber I am.
  17. Nitrogliserin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    112 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2


    hold R1 button while switching power on button
    then you are in bios
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,602 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,990
    Odd, I posted this yesterday.
  19. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    its been done, you can put 1.4 ghz celerons in them (and 128mb ram), i posted it in another thread yesterday http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=374504&postcount=15 here
  20. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
  21. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    I want the GPU core overclocked... CPU isnt enough

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page