1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU & 580 SLI Question!

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by MicroUnC, Sep 28, 2011.

  1. MicroUnC

    MicroUnC New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    250 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Israel
    Will it be ok to SLI 580's from different brands like: ASUS & Zotac? Will 850W PSU be able to handle both of them.

    <-- Specs to the left!

    Thanks!
  2. LDNL

    LDNL

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    453 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Finland
    If the cards run or you set them to run at the same core and memory frequancy.
    E: Noted and edited. I was looking at a wrong psu.
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2011
    MicroUnC says thanks.
  3. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,077 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,978
    yes, you can SLI different brand name cards as long as they are the same model, ie. two GTX580 cards.

    No, your PSU isn't enough for two GTX580 cards. A single GTX580 requires 42 amps on the 12 volts rail, two needs 84 amps then(and that's not accounting for the other hardware in your computer). Your PSU, while it is a strong PSU, only has 70 amps on it's 12 volt rail.



    Check the specs of his powersupply LDNL before giving advice.



    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2011
    MicroUnC says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. MicroUnC

    MicroUnC New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    250 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Israel
    Ok thanks on the PSU! :)

    My asus is at 782mhz (factory OC) & the Zotac i want is at 772Mhz, 10mhz difference! The mem clocks are the same at 2008Mhz. Will i have to overclock Zotac to match Asus clocks or down clock Asus to match Zotac???
  5. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,077 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,978
    yes, clock speeds have to match
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. MicroUnC

    MicroUnC New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    250 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Israel
    so the 772 or 782 or it doesn't matter!?
  7. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,077 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,978
    as long as both cards are stable, no, it doesnt matter
    MicroUnC says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. MicroUnC

    MicroUnC New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    250 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Israel
    Ok thanks guys! :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page