1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU and Consumption issues...

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Greenmousa, Oct 23, 2009.

  1. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    I've got personal experience building with the Biostar board and it's solid. My only gripe would be there's no esata/FW outs but if you don't need them, it's not an issue.
    Greenmousa says thanks.
  2. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    Well...

    Ive read your comment, and did some research...

    First of all i will do my best to get a nice Mobo like that one (either, they both work for me) as long as the memory of my current Rig, i will probably Ditch them, since im planning to upgrade my brother's computer with mine (it's like that old Tux that you used in prom and you gave it to your brother when you couldn't fit in it anymore) So im getting new Memos either DDR3 or DDR2, i will see, anyway i like the posibility of being able to use one or the other, that i love about the migration sistem that AMD implemented (with all theyre flaws...)

    I can't quite see myself with an Athlon II....ive read 2 reviews...dude...it's mind blowing what it can achieve for that price but i don't know...i like having a phenom XD!!

    Meanwhile what you just said about the 925, and the 810 being no good or even pointless i stumbled upon this:

    http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,697850/AMD-lowers-CPU-prices-and-cuts-several-models/News/

    You sir, are correct.

    This is counter producting for me right now but it may prove to be an achievement on the long run, i mean, by waiting a week i found out that AMD discontinued 2 products that were in my buying plans...i mean that doesn't mean that they're bad products but you know...i remember when i got my first AMD XP 3500+ S939....it was the bomb...one week later, boom Am2 and there's go the neighborhood... Athlon X2 S939 got discontinued and my cheap upgrade options were long gone...so im tired of buying discontinued things.

    On the other hand, the life of the computer builder it's a though one...every week something new comes along and your stuff it's old and so on every other week.

    So, Bottom line, if the Phenom 2 X4 925 it's really 95w in power consumption, then im going for it at full speed! If it comes at a more expensive cost than the 720BE i will reconsider...but well...i guess ill have to sit and wait for a nice price on the processor area...

    I will keep you guys updated on the subject this week when i start talking to providers and local stores trying to find something worth mentioning, meanwhile, you guys rock thank you for all your help, hope this thread is helpfull to someone else but me.

    DoInkansas: Thanks for your feedback, and you are correct eSata and FW are not in my plans XD it's a 3rd world country here dammit XD
  3. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida

    In regards to what he said I completely agree, if your main purpose is budget, work and mild gaming in mind there is no reason to go for anything more. The only thing I would recommend is with the price of memory so low you might as well go with ddr3 on a new am3 board. Amd is know to suppport older platforms unlike intel and will further future proof your build for the next new thing. I'm sure with AMD's past track record an AM3 board will last for some time to come. Who knows when they will drop ddr2 support all together. At least this way when they come out with a new chip you can be certain it will work on your board.
    Greenmousa says thanks.
  4. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    Certainly sir, AM3 mobo and DDR3 it is then, so im going for the best bang for the buck processor.

    Thank you again dude :)
  5. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,074 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Glad we could help.

    One more thing the TDP of 95W is not the power consumption. TDP means Thermal Design Power. It refers to how much heat the CPU cooler has to dissipate for the processor to function. While it is a good parallel as processors that product more heat, need more power, it is not always the case.

    What you should look at for power consumption is the Voltage being drawn and number of cores. Look for a review of the processors you want. Most review will have a power consumption chart. While you will most likely not get exact numbers, you can get an idea of which one needs more juice.
    Greenmousa and Woody112 say thanks.
  6. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    Good info. I was going to point that out but you hit the nail on the head.:toast:
    Greenmousa says thanks.
  7. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    You see? that's a good tip right there, didn't know that, my knowledge about voltage it's the knowledge of a monkey about dungeons & dragons.

    Thank you sir(s) i will check some reviews based on what's offered to me and bring the results here so you can help me decide, you've been an enormous help so far :D
  8. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    Keep ur ear on the ground and u wont buy EOL products
  9. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    Oh and by the way are power supply calculators any good??

    i made 2 tests trying my current system and my target system and they both scored 310 watts

    i mean i don't know...i added a 5870 to the mix and the wattage in full load went up only 5 watts so...i reaaaallly doubt thats really accurate...

    But then again when it comes to wattage and voltage...this could be telling me the speed of a cheetah running thru the savannah and i wouldn't know so...are those results acurate??


    [I.R.A]_FBi:

    Yeah... i will try, i was young back in the day but no more...i've made up my mind no more EOLs here. And by the way are you allways so cryptic about your statements? im new here, maybe im not used to them. Theyre like...

    "The end...Will come...."
  10. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    .. indeed it will ...
  11. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    [​IMG]

    I loled

    Any word on the consumption calculation things??
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
  12. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    300 to 350 is what id guesstimate
    Greenmousa says thanks.
  13. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,074 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    They are and hear is your proof.

    Check the power consumption of the 5850 and your current card.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/HIS/HD_5850/28.html
    Greenmousa says thanks.
  14. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    Great, thank you man, it's great to know that it peaks even lower than my 4850 :D im a happy little person :)

    Thank you once more dude, ill just have to open a Thank you account just for you XD
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
  15. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    Guys quick one.

    I know im an asshole i didn't bring this up before but...

    I am doing the right thing by upgrading my CPU before my GPU right?? I mean if this were the 2 possible scenarios wich one would you do??

    1 -LEAVE PHENOM 9600BE, BUY ATI 5850
    2- LEAVE ATI 4850, BUY PHENOM II (ANY MODEL) AND NEW MOBO WITH DDR3 MEMOS

    Im asking this cause im afraid that my agena friend over here could be a bottleneck to a 5850, so, im as allways expecting feedback :D
  16. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    Bumpity bump?
  17. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,074 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I would upgrade the CPU in your case first. While I don't think it would bottleneck the card much, the new processors are faster, run cooler, use less power, and OC far better. I think you would see a bigger difference in overall performance change the CPU first.
  18. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    I have a doubt about that...ive been checking Phenom 9600BE Power Consumption charts, and it seems to consume less than the new ones, i know this is probably wrong but, can you help me prove that the New processors actually use less power?? like...with a link to a chart or something reliable??

    Thank you a lot for your constant support :D
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
  19. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,074 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Well to be honest, I am probably wrong about the power consumption when comparing a 9600BE one of the current Phenom II BE's. Maybe the e models, or the dual and triple cores were being compared on the chart I remember when they Phenoms were first released. The other this remain true though.
  20. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    im sorry i don't understand that part :(

    I found this, Isolated Watt consumption using a volt clamp:

    PHENOM 9600BE

    IDLE LOAD
    24 watts 88 watts

    PHENOM 2 X3 720

    IDLE LOAD
    10.4 watts 55.6 watts

    This it's a really helpfull page, if anyone it's in doubt about the ISOLATED power draw of your CPU:

    So im much more confortable now wattage wise than i was before, and yes, im thinking about upgrading my CPU and MOBO first, mainly because i fucking hate my motherboard:

    On that subject i got new offerings from local stores!! Tell me wich one do you preffer :)

    CPU Offerings:

    CPU AMD PHENOM II X2 550 B.E 3.1GHZ 7MB 80 AM3 BO $598.-(divide this digit for 3.68 to get the dollars result)
    CPU AMD PHENOM II X3 720 B.E 2.8GHZ 7.5MB 95W AM3 $719.-(divide this digit for 3.68 to get the dollars result)

    MOTHERBOARD OFFERINGS:

    MB ASUS AM3 M4A79T DELUXE DDR3 4PCIE $1160.-(divide this digit for 3.68 to get the dollars result)
    MB GIGABYTE AM3 GA-MA79FXTU5P 4DDR3 2PCI-E UD3 $1095.-(divide this digit for 3.68 to get the dollars result)
    MB GIGABYTE AM3 GA-MA79XTUD4P 4DDR3 2PCIE UD3 $820.-(divide this digit for 3.68 to get the dollars result)
    MB MSI AM3 770T-C45 DDR3 GBLAN SND $450.-(divide this digit for 3.68 to get the dollars result)
    MB MSI AM3 790FX-GD70 DDR3 2PCI-EX16 GBLAN $1155.-(divide this digit for 3.68 to get the dollars result)
    MB MSI AM3 790GX-G65 DDR AMD790 DDR3 V/S/R $870.-(divide this digit for 3.68 to get the dollars result)

    So, what do you guys think?? The one in Bold letters is the one i think (following your advices about getting away from 790GX) will be the one for me
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2009
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
  21. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    Id keep the cpu and buy the card
    Greenmousa says thanks.
  22. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    Damn you for making me choose even between advices!!!
  23. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    Any feedback on the Motherboards and pricings??

    I guess the CPU or GPU thing will be a matter of pricing mainly and of course user feedback as usual :D

    Thank you guys in advance
  24. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,074 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Since you will not be using two GPU's ever, remove all the FX boards. Those are more money than you need to speed. All the brands and boards you picked are top notch.

    I am going to pick the board at the bottom of the list because it is my motherboard. Second place goes to the MB GIGABYTE AM3 GA-MA79XTUD4P
    Greenmousa says thanks.
  25. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    So the one i picked it's no good uh?? :'( i though that finally i could pull a nice budget mobo, life it's unfair...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page