1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU Calculator from MSI (New)?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Polarman, Dec 23, 2008.

  1. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    p_o_s_pc, beesagtig, AsRock and 4 others say thanks.
  2. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    USA
    310 watts for my system. Too bad it doesn't allow calculating overclocked voltages
     
  3. proletariandan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    475 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Chicago
    311 Watts for my rig, which never breaks 200W at peak load despite the CPU being overclocked (though not overvolted).

    A nice tool which still overestimates but nothing like you see on retail boxes. I think the 3870 recommends a 400-450W PSU :lol:
     
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,812 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    646!!! Watts. I dont think its true but then again...
     
  5. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Better be safe then sorry i guess.
     
  6. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,502 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,109
    Location:
    Kansas City
    524 Watts! with my system specs. Could be close I guess...
     
  7. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    611 Watts for my rig. I agree with everyone else, that it would be nice to factor in an overclock.
     
  8. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,502 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,109
    Location:
    Kansas City
    I still think your PSU has headroom! ;) Those PCP&C are killer!
     
  9. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    Ya just a little.;)
    It was that or a Corsair! Their both potent.
     
  10. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    Damn.. mine says 641..I guess I better upgrade this 400 watt PS then.

    Good post Polarman its nice to see a more user friendly program.
     
  11. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    240 .. im wasting this tx750
     
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    411 here.
     
  13. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    12,059 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,237
    Location:
    US
    Lol... it says 533 Watts which is waaaaay off target. The actual max on my system is 385w full load..

    EDIT: And thats with a overclocked 2900XT..
     
  14. 3xploit New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    276 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Canada
    384 watts for me
     
  15. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    372w for my rig and 359w for my girlfriends.


    And I somehow think this is meant to show you what PSU you should have....not what your sytem will be using...as you dont want to use more than 75%~ of your PSUs rated output so AsRocks PSU should have a 550w~ PSU but his system will only use 385w. :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2008
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    412w for my new rig
     
  17. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    359w
     
  18. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,626 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    362 for mine, htough once i get a 9800GTX+ it jumps to 412, good to 560 though ^_^
     
  19. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    lol, thats nice, to see that you have the choice to choose s PII chip.
     
  20. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,365 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    349. Maybe my 750W is overkill?
     
  21. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    this is total BS...

    [​IMG]
     
  22. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    both my computers are crazy high...

    [​IMG]
     
  23. NeSeNVi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Why there are two GF 7600GS?
    [​IMG]
    First AGP, second PCI-E or first standard clocked, second overclocked?
     
  24. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,028 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    560
    Location:
    Vietnam
    375w for me - god job i have a decent 490w psu.
    Rates it as 540w if i add another HD4850, so my PSU should till be good for that, but it doesn't take overcloking into account.

    Also i think the additional PCI-E Slots doesn't mean for other GC, it's for physX cards, etc.
     
  25. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...

    ^- Read maybe?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page