1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU dying?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by hugz, Aug 13, 2011.

  1. hugz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    138 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Hey,

    It's not that a power outage happen very often, but since a week there is someone working on my kitchen and they turn the power off constantly for a good while, which must piss off my PSU making it unable to start the pc. Whenever the power is gone for longer than 5 minutes, I've to go trough a 20 minute episode of power on's n off's, the thing would power on, and off almost immediately, normally after 5 to 6 attempts it would start, but lately it doesn't and I'm quite sure the SDD drive doesn't like it though..

    I've just lost 30 minutes with it and I've enough. I'm quite sure it happens since I've replaced the 8800GTX for a HD5850OC, although it's at least surprising that the Radeon needs more power than the nvidia's power swallower. Check my PC specs, the Zalman PSU has 5 years now, it's been working like a charm until now, I'm guessing it's dying or it has lost some capacity over the years, is it time to for a replacement? :)cry: :()

    Thanks! :eek:

    __________________________
    News

    After a long holiday I'm back and a brand new Corsair TX650 V2 arrived today.
    Everything was set up, powered up, I'm on desktop, all looks fine, nevertheless I hear an annoying buzzzz coming out from somewhere that I cannot certainly tell what is causing it, it was not the PSU though.

    Then all of sudden the thing turns off, great! I'd power it up, lights go on and off, what!
    Pressing power button makes no effect now, I'd turn the PSU off and on, power up again and lights go on and off.

    Next step is unplugging the two 6pin power cables from the Gigabyte HD5850 OC, miraculously, the god damn thing starts, monitor stays off, obviously not enough power gets in the gfx card.

    I plug'em back, back to the problem, what the ...?

    Help?

    Thanks
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2011
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,579 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,233
    do you have a spare PSU you could try out??

    thats pretty good PSU, but if i knew the builders were in, i would have left the main rig off and shifted to a laptop or something.

    try unplugging a few of the hard drives and see if it boots up. also try re-plugging in all the motherboard connectors, maybe somethings loose
    hugz says thanks.
  3. hugz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    138 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    I have one, it's not a beast though, it's a 500W NOX Urano, I was going to do that, but it's build in another rig, was the last thing to try. It's not that the power is cut all of sudden & the pc turns off, I have a UPS. It's when the PC is off for a few minutes without power and you try to turn it back on. I've tried unplugging the HDD's, didn't help, although surprisingly if I "help"/push the few fans in the case manually, the PC seems to start more smoothly :shadedshu :eek:
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,579 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,233
    Id definitely say its the PSU then. I had a friend who had a similar problem when he was using an underpowered PSU. sometimes his rig wouldnt start at all, when it did start but if he had to shutdown the PC for 30mins or 1hr it wouldnt start up again for another 2hrs -- totally random behaviour

    After 5 years of use, id say you got your moneys worth out of the Zalman. look for something like a Corsair TX/HX650 V2 or OCZ ZS 650w.

    I know that corsairs come with 7year warranty, OCZ only comes with 3year warranty but its every bit as solid as the Corsair. personally, even paying a little extra is worth it for the extra few years warranty on the corsair.

    dont bother putting your 500w NOX in, it would just be a waste of time.

    good hunting.
  5. LquidSnak New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    It definitely sounds like the PSU is going to component heaven. Five years is pretty decent run though :) , and I'm sure that the power getting shut off isn't helping any of your components. Corsairs, Antecs, Thermaltakes, and Seasonic PSU's are what I recommend to my customers for builds.
  6. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Sounds like its time for a new psu.
    anything corsair,or seasonic you can't go wrong.
    most antecs and silverstone are good choices
    some ocz,thermaltake and xigmatek arent bad.
    Do your research and ask any questions on here and we will be happy to help.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. hugz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    138 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    After a long holiday I'm back and a brand new Corsair TX650 V2 arrived.
    Everything was set up, powered up, I'm on desktop, all looks fine, nevertheless I hear an annoying buzzzz coming out from somewhere that I cannot certainly tell what is causing it, it was not the PSU though.

    Then all of sudden the thing turns off, great! I'd power it up, lights go on and off, what!
    Pressing power button makes no effect now, I'd turn the PSU off and on, power up again and lights go on and off.

    Next step is unplugging the two 6pin power cables from the Gigabyte HD5850 OC, miraculously, the god damn thing starts, monitor stays off, obviously not enough power gets in the gfx card.

    I plug'em back, back to the problem, what the ...?

    Help?

    Thanks
  8. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Sounds like a defective unit, or your getting mad vdroop, I had a similar problem, and it was due the 3v power being non existant.
  9. hugz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    138 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Great news :/

    The buzzzzz sound was coming out of the asus dvd-reader with a dvd in it.
    It's running now without the 2 6pin cables, can't access BIOS, nor windows, black screen.. god damn.
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2011
  10. hugz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    138 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    I have used two 4 to 6 pin converters like this:

    [​IMG]

    and the effect is exactly the same, does that mean anything? Shouldn't these come from 12V rail and have enough kick out to power the bitch? :ohwell:
  11. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  12. hugz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    138 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    I wish I had one.

    I found this: http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=95863

    That is exactly what is happening to me, except my old Zalman is a lemon, my cheap NOX Urano 600W was able to run it last time I've tried.
  13. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Maybe is the video card?, if disconnecting the video card power connections make the computer start (though without video) then I would think your PSU is fine (specially top quality like your new one) try another video card if you have another one :)

    Because it is very capable of running your computer.

    EDIT: I noticed now (your last message wasn't there when I replied :confused:) you said the 600W Nox run it fine, then yes, I would RMA that Corsair PSU .
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2011
    hugz says thanks.
  14. hugz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    138 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Well, I've been suspecting the video card, but it's just 8 months old :wtf: I had many lil power related problems when I switched from 8800GTX onto the radeon. But you know why, you made me go and grab my older HD4850 and stick it in, guess what? it works. :D Lemme stick the hd5850 in my older setup and see what happens! brb


    /Yep, exactly the same effect. I guess we found who is guilty. It's surprising the way the setup's fail with a faulty video card, I'd expect it to run with no screen but power on and off each and every time, weird.
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2011
    Derek12 says thanks.
  15. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    What I suspected, that video card may have a short or something and causing overload in the PSU (that PSU is very capable of running it). Lets see how it work with the 4850 :)
  16. hugz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    138 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    I will RMA it. HD5850s are out of stock, hoping for a juicy new video card ;D

    Thanks!
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,579 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,233
    you have a long wait ahead then (im guessing the 5850OC is from gigabyte??) if they dont have any 5850s floatin around for RMA then they will send you a card thats equal or equivalent to the performance or value of the RMA'd card.

    and since the 5850 sits between a 6850 and a 6870. they will most likely just give you the 6850 because its cheaper.
  18. hugz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    138 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Yeah, it's Gigabyte. If they decide to replace it with a new card, you're right, it will be the HD6870 at best, nevertheless judging from the past, when I RMA'ed a Samsung 500Gb HDD, they didn't have one to replace it and offered me a full refund, which was 90€! for that price, the day I received the coupon 1Tb drives were roaming the 50€ price point :nutkick: :D
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,579 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,233
    each company handle RMA's differently.

    so it depends how you went about your RMA. if you sent the card back to the shop you bought it from. then it would be up to the store if they offered you a refund or a new card depending on the conditions. the shop can only give you what. the manufacturer sends them back if they havent got it in stock.

    Same thing happend with a 4870 of mine. I RMA'd a 4870 though a shop. Sapphire refused to fix it because it had been the second time the same card had been in for RMA in the space of 3 months. they sent a 5770 back to the shop to give to me.

    My 4870 was a lot faster then the 5770 as i had some serious overclocks on it. not only that i was running 2 of them in crossfire. I explained my situation to the shop owner and he agreed to offer me credit instead so i put money ontop of the 5770 which i didnt accept and bought a 5850 with it which i then got £90 of it back because i sold my remaining 4870 to a friend. (this was years ago before you bollock me about ripping my friend off)

    youd be lucky to get a 6870. I still see a few retailers here in the UK that stock the 5850OC so theres a big chance they will give you back the same card.
  20. hugz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    138 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Well, you've been lucky!

    I don't really care, I was looking for a replacement and a 6850 will resell better than 5850 due to a large number of refurbished 5850s selling for 95€ here, 6850 never dropped under 120€ :p

    I spotted a Gigabyte GTX 560 Ti OC for 10€ less than what my 5850 cost me back in march, if I get full refund I'll go and grab it. :D
  21. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,561 (4.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,967
    i think the mobo is a lemon.
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,579 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,233
    WOW! thats great - how did you manage to come up with that idea after we already found out it was his 570 playing up?

    rather then being a nobhead and posting for the sake of posting so you can 1up your postcount. why dont you try to be a little more mature and helpful by posting something more relivant or useful??? People will even click the thanks button if you did that.
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2011
  23. hugz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    138 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    RMA going to take 6 to 8 weeks. Trolled hard.
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,579 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,233
    sounds like they are attempting a repair then in that case.
  25. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,561 (4.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,967
    oops. my bad. i was kinda drunk last night. sorry.

    6-8weeks, may also mean that they cant find a replacement of the same model.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page