1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU Help

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by dude12564, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. dude12564 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    472 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    I have a 350 W PSU with a 18A Rating on the 12VA Rail, and a 12A Rating on the 12VB Rail producing a max of 300W on the 12V Rails.

    (Yes it's a dell stock)

    My video card calls for a 300W Minimum PSU, with 22A on the 12V Rails (It's a GT440)

    I'm wondering if I should go upgrade to another power supply.

    Specs:

    I5-750 @ 2.66
    DDR3-1333 8GB
    1TB WD Caviar Blue
    Dell Stock Motherboard
    350W PSU

    If you need any other info, just ask.

    Thanks :D
     
  2. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,924 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,652
    Location:
    Oregon
    Yes, so you might as well get the 450 /460 6850 you been eying just to make it a descent gamer.

    If its a full size dell you should be ok. But measure the PSU just to be safe. Or post you Serial Tag / Model #
     
  3. dude12564 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    472 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    It's a Studio XPS 8100, and do you want the serial of the PSU or the computer?
     
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,924 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,652
    Location:
    Oregon
    The generic specs says it has a Nvidia GeForce GTX 260.



    What your Tag # white Tag on back
     
  5. dude12564 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    472 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Mine actually came with a HD 5450, swapped it out for a GT 440

    I'll get the tag once I go find my computer.

    (Working at friend's house)
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2011
  6. MGF Derp

    MGF Derp

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    170 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Michigan Tech
    I dont think you need to upgrade. i5 could pull 95w max on the 12v and the GT440 max pulls 65 watts even factoring in leakage or weird stock volt settings combined it wouldnt be more then 175w. Also just assuming your psu is rail 1 cpu and rail 2 gpu/everything else. 18A covers the i5 and 12A covers the GT440 and HDD and Mobo. I doubt you will have a problem if you use the power supply you have.
     
    dude12564 says thanks.
  7. dude12564 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    472 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Alright then, thanks for the help! :D
     
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Let's put in retrospect this way. Max 12a * 12v = 144W Max'd.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2011
  9. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,101 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    ^^ What? ^^




    It should be fine, especially with the system at stock speeds.
     
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  11. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,101 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    Outside of the math the whole sentence structure is what threw me... :)

    He mentioned in the first post that there are 2 rails, 12vA and 12vB as he called it. 30A as listed for the two rails... BUT combined it will pull 300W=25A.
     
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Oh I know what you are saying but they can't be combined like that.
     
  13. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,101 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    Correct..I am well aware you cannot add the rails up to get its true output (as was alluded to in my post above). The OP stated 'added up ' totals and the actual combined (as usually noted by some writing on the PSU).

    Unless Im missing something...? Either way, I think you and I get it Jr. :)
     
    dude12564 and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  14. dude12564 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    472 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Total combined is 300W for the 12V
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page