1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU makes high pitch noise

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Live OR Die, Aug 10, 2007.

  1. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,914 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    hi i have a thermaltake tough power 750w and it makes a high pitch noise when playing games or just opening windows can any one tell me if therers dose the same? thanks
     
  2. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I have one, but it doesnt do that. RMA would be my guess.
     
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    RMA, it is dieing.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,914 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    no it like 2 mouths old i just thought it was my video card making it sould like that because my GTS did it but not so loud
     
  5. driver66

    driver66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,046 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    indiana
    1 day old or 10 years old it's RMA time :slap: LOL
     
  6. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    RMA it, it's going to die.
     
  7. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,914 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    i took it back to the shop and they gave me a new but it did the same?
     
  8. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Are you sure it's the PSU? Maybe it's one of your fans?
     
  9. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    That's odd. I have a x1950xtx and i know it can stress it, It has never made any noise of any kind.
     
  10. little geek New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    194 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    cambridge, england, shed :)
    i had the same problem with my 400watt generic psu, i put it in a an older machine and the screaming went away.but like the others said rma it
     
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    They probably gave you one from another customer who had the same issue, so your parts would blow up and you would have to buy an entirely new PC, hopefully with a new Thermaltake 1000w PSU :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,914 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    no it was new just out the box i don't hear it when opening window in vista any more because my fans over power it but whem i start up a game like fear or 3Dmark06 it over powers my fans
     
  13. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,914 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    it seems to only make the noise if im using pci-e card with power plugs
     
  14. Kammster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    188 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Guyana, South America
    generic psu make a noise when when understress i think its a capacitor or something, theat thermaltake probalby can't handel the load.
    Also big wattage psu need the required voltage in, do u plug it into a line conditioner or power strip, with other things that share its current, low input current from the outlet could mess up things.
     
  15. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,914 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    ?i plug it into a power board if thats what you meen thats pluged into the wall
     
  16. Kammster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    188 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Guyana, South America
    the 110v outlet should put out about 15Aamps
    a power strip with surge porctector can handle about 13Amps,..so if
    PSU uses 10Amps
    thta leaves 3Amps free when running on max power usage.


    i had a generic 450w that require 8amps, i pluging it into a line conditoner with 8.3Amps max,with 3Amp monitor, printer...(that about 9Amps), that PSU would crash would get hot easily and crash in prime95 test, until i plugged it directly into the outlet.


    Could try a different brand like the coasir620,ocz 600,or coolermaster "real power" series. if two of the same model give the same noise somebody else probaly had the same problem, check google.
     
    Live OR Die says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page