1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Psu or Gpu

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by humacyrnus, Jun 16, 2007.

  1. humacyrnus New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have a strange problem. First off, my system is :

    Abit nf8-v2
    Athlon 64 3000 Venice core @ 2.3 ghz (stock 2.0)
    1 gig patriot value ram
    Gecube radeon x1600 pro 512 mb
    and a 450W Rosewill RV450-2 ATX 2.01

    My problem is this, I can't run ANY 3d applications at full clock speeds anymore, i have to use ATI tool to underclock it from the default 500C 400M to around 300C 300M. If i try and run it at full speeds, it makes this weird high pitched(almost like electrical crackling) noise from the computer (tried to pinpoint but can't), then in under a second shuts down, and i have to turn the PSU off at the switch press the power button to drain it, then it will work.
    If i don't turn it off, i get an alarm when i start it back.

    And running at the underclocked speed, sometimes it makes a different noise, kind of like a screech. but will run ..(crapily)

    Any help on this ? as to what is making that noise or how to fix this ? :banghead:


    ::::edit::::: I HAVE tried this without the CPU overclock, makes NO difference
     
  2. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Try your graphics card in another puter, or switch it out for a different one. Doesnt sound like a PSU problem, but has a slight hint of it possibly being that.
     
  3. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    go to you local electronic and buy a new card, if it fixes it, return it and buy it somewhere else for less!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. humacyrnus New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok

    Will try in another PC, Gime 15 min :)

    And that strange noise ? what could that be ? it ONLY happens when i'm running a 3d app

    (was going to try in another PC, but i just needed a few opinions lol)

    Thx for taking the time to reply.
     
  5. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Some components just make more electronic noise than others. However if its unusually loud it could be a capacitor is on its way out.
     
  6. humacyrnus New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK, same strange noise and crash with a Gf 6200, and the ATI works flawlessly in another PC

    Any suggestions ? and if it is the Power supply or something else, how will i tell ?
    also, i am going to get a recording of that noise if i can, maby you can tell me what it is
     
  7. shoe16

    shoe16 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    225 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I've actually heard that high pitch noise when turning on an older computer. it was the psu. but that was right when i turned it on not running benchmarks. (it was a pentium so i didnt really try any benchmarks)
     
  8. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    mmmmm, strange issue. The only way you can find the prob is changing parts with another PC. The prob maybe resides on your VGA card and the slot on your mobo, quit your VGA card and try to use only the Onboard VGA and run some 3d aplicattion.
     
  9. humacyrnus New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My mobo has no onboard vga :( , and i was able to determine that the sound comes from the psu, i recorded it and it was only audible near the psu. The sound was made by scrolling a text doxument, if i scrolled it to fast the pc shut down, if i scrolled it slowly nothing happend. i thought it might have been Hard drive at first, but i checked it for the sound and nothing.
     
  10. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    Ok, so the VGA card is alright, the prob must resides on the vga slot (agp or pci-e) that maybe are damaged or your PSU is it.

    A good idea will be disable the pci-e/agp port on the BIOS and only use the onboard video, if the problem persist, the PSU must be the problem, also if you have another PSU would a nice way to confirm it thought.
     
  11. humacyrnus New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    am going to test another PSU tho brb
     
  12. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    Ok, you must then exchange your hardware since those restart problems that you're talking about is sometimes caused due to bad RAM, again, could be the RAM slot on the mobo or the RAM itself that are causing trouble, but first change that PSU with another and try. Out of this there's no other way to probe that's the exactly cause.
     
  13. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    mmmmm....are you're OC your system????, sometimes the system fails a lot when It suffer a suddenly restart and the FSB are OC, this is an example.

    reset your BIOS and try again.
     
  14. humacyrnus New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    for the purpose of these tests i undid my fsb OC, also, changing the PSU worked, no strange noise, and runs 3d apps (at least with this card), sadly, i am broke lol and this is just a borrowed PSU XD
     
  15. humacyrnus New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Any sugestions on fixing a powersupply ? is there anything inside i can replace ?? i am decent at soldering and such. also, i was reading from newegg (where i got it) some reviews from after i got it said that they had leaking capacitors
     
  16. humacyrnus New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK, i have a great idea (maby) i have an old 250w psu right here, it wont power my mobo (lacking 12v atx i think is what it is called) but, it might power the GPU, is it safe to tie the power on cables with the cables from the one in the case , almost like i was just testing it by shorting p-on and a ground ?

    thoughts ?
     
  17. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    Try to don't mess with that if you're not COMPLETELY SURE what are you doing. One mistake and all your system will end in the trash. I sugest you to buy a new PSU, you can even buy a generic one since your system isn't a power-eater. About the idea to use the 250W to suply your VGA card....is a X1600pro right?, does it have a 6-pin jack to power it?, otherway I don't see how you pretend to suply it wattage.....or I don't understood your post (if so, sorry).

    Anyway, just buy a new cheapy PSU, to avoid sadly and unwanted endings.

    GOOD LUCK AMIGO!!!!
     
  18. Buckaroo Banzai

    Buckaroo Banzai New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Deep In The South Of Texas
    If the Rosewill is making funny noises it's probably on it's last leg. I wouldn't advise using it anymore as it may take other components with it when it goes.
     
  19. humacyrnus New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  20. humacyrnus New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OMG IT WORKED !!!! MY HEART IS POUNDING !! I was soo scared, but it is up and running, going to test stability now ! 2 PSU'S = PRO !
     
  21. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico

    mmmm, I Just review it and is very interesting, some hardwork to fit 2 PSU on one case but I think in some cases IT WORTH IT!!!.

    I hope you'll don't fry anything, and thanx for the guide, maybe I'll put in practice since i have a SFX PSU and its almost impossible to find a powerfull one.

    AGAIN GOOD LUCK and when you finish Tell us how it works.
     
  22. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    CONGRATS pal, good work!!! :toast:
     
  23. humacyrnus New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    YAY !
    SOO STABLE ! it is working like a charm ! I got all teary when i put my clock speeds at default !, it ran without a hitch, in fact, it was smoother than it was before !!!! if it breaks or causes the universe to implode i will tell you !! TY all for the great help and fast responces !
     
  24. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Hey sounds like your happy with your MOD - 2XPSU's; thats realy good. However, as mentioned before, try and get a new PSU before it goes out and takes the MOBO with it!! That squeeling is most likly a bad capicitor in the PSU, it is about to die. Please, don't try any repairs inside of a PSU, those big capicitors inside carry a rather large electrical charge and can "throw you across the room" and possably do a lot of harm to your person.

    :toast:
     
  25. humacyrnus New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    AGreed, do need to replace, but till i get the $$, I am happy with these results ! TY all for the help. And i WILL NOT try and repair the old one lol :)

    Update !, just played a game of 2142 with effects and textures on max (that is how i like it lol) everything else on low lol, ran at between 70 and 89 the entire time !!

    in comparison, underclocked, it ran at 50 - 70(70 in small small areas)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page