1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU Powerful enough?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by entsyymi, Mar 23, 2009.

  1. entsyymi

    entsyymi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Finland
    My friend is building a new rig that is going to have:

    Core i7 920
    Asus P6T
    GTX 295
    Couple of HDD's
    Corsair HX620 PSU (He already owns this)
    6Gb DDR3 1600Mhz

    So the question is, is the old PSU powerful enough, or should he buy a new one?

    Would be great to get comments of someone who is running a similar setup here :)

    I've read some post on the net wich some claim that it is perfectly enough, and some claim that you cant even play games properly with that. NEED A CONFIRMATION! :D
     
  2. Elijah86

    Elijah86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    51 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Yes that is a quality PSU and should hold up good.
     
  3. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    That PSi will be fine.

    Corsair Make Damn good PSU's hence why I bought one.

    That could probably kick out near to 700W :D
     
  4. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,033 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    815
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Powerful enuf well in terms of wattage i would recommend an 800watt minimum but i dont know if a 700-800watt would work fine, see the gtx is the main pull add in the i7 and the extras like the hard drives it seems like a lot. No just adding it up in my head to be safe your friend should get a higher wattage psu.

    Needs to be a high amperage too especially to supply a dual graphics card and such a high end cpu.
     
  5. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    For a single GPU setup you should be in good shape. I'd upgrade if you're considering SLi.
     
  6. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    In my opinion if you have to ask, then it probably isn't.
     
  7. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,033 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    815
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    isnt that a dual graphics card tho and i seem tho remember them pulling a lot and the friend has a lot of hard drives and its an i7

    seems like a lot if you add it up
     
  8. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Although its a dual GPU card, I would only recommend upgrading if you wanted to run two GTX295's.

    I ran the OCCT PSU test (GPU test plus linpack!) and my PSU didnt even get warm.

    I'd happily run a GTX295 on my PSU
     
  9. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    That psu should be fine. But if your friend does plan on getting a second gtx295 he should upgrade.
     
  10. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Its a SeaSonic built PSU. I would trust it with that system. Corsair hand inspects its units before sending them out as does SeaSonic. SeaSonic uses Rubycon caps internally and never cheaps out. It will hold up.
    Just I just wouldn't OC that GPU.
     
  11. BazookaJoe

    BazookaJoe

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    869 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    235
    That PSU should be Just fine - provided it's in good condition

    Far too many People seem to think that buying a big PSU will somehow make their system better but I'm afraid in most cases it just makes them plain stupid, as to many ppl spend way too much on a PSU that they DONT need.

    A little googling will let you know pretty much what the expected power consumption of your CPU / GPU / HDD's will be - now add those up, and make sure you have a PSU that's ~ +50watts on the answer you got, and you should be fine, with plenty of room for overclocking (OC hardly affects your total power consumption that much)

    End of the day VERY VERY few systems can max-out a 600watt PSU, unless you start heading for multiple GFX cards / More than 3 HDD's / or even multiple CPU/s.

    Although most of those ppl need the ego trip when they post their system specs - It really just explains their lack of understanding in their system design.

    (UNLESS YOU ARE ROLLING IN MONEY THAT YOU NEED TO SPEND - Then I say buy a new everything every time ! :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. G@dn!q

    G@dn!q

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    43 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    jfurterer says thanks.
  13. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I can guarantee the PSU will be fine with the GTX 295 and i7 heavily OC'd.
     
  14. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I was just about to say the same thing. Most PSUs are over-rated. Corsairs are under-rated. That psu will have more than enough juice.
     
  15. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Nevermind what i just posted, I misread the chart.
     
  16. BazookaJoe

    BazookaJoe

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    869 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    235
    Like I said - Add the wattage's up - if you get closer than 50watts, buy a new PSU for sure - But if you land at 580watts , and you already HAVE a 650watt psu - buying a new one would be pointless and a waste of money.

    Edit :

    "Nevermind what i just posted, I misread the chart." -- Heh Shiz Happens :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    You cant just add the wattages up, for a start the wattages stated are never true life ratings.

    MF's always over spec power requirements for people with cheper PSU's.

    Most important thing is Amps on the 12v line(s)

    I bet under full load that system would only be pulling about 400w.
     
  18. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Yeah, I thought it was saying that the card was drawing 320W peak, it was actually saying that it was full system load.

    I would still get something a little beffier to be safe though.
     
  19. BazookaJoe

    BazookaJoe

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    869 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    235
    But my point again - VERY few systems actually need more than 400 watts

    One advantage to an OVER-SPEC PSU is that it will run a lot cooler... and if it has a regulated fan probably a lot quieter.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
  21. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    I'd say that's overkill... but then again my two 650W psus are overkill as well.
    But like BazookaJoe said, it will definately run cooler and quieter.
    When I got my Power Express my CoolerMaster PSU dropped in temp considerably.
     
  22. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    The Corsair HX620 would wipe the floor with the one I linked to.
     
    OzzmanFloyd120 says thanks.
  23. BazookaJoe

    BazookaJoe

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    869 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    235
    The question was initially "Would the existing PSU be good enough" probably because of the cost of replacing if not needed.

    And I see no reason to spend on any more on another PSU when you already have a suitably rated one.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    You tricky son of a bitch. I'm about to look up specs now.
    to be honest I just seen peak 1.1KW and made my verdict.
    you>:nutkick:<me
     
  25. entsyymi

    entsyymi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Finland
    Thanks for the quick answers guys, didn't mean to start a war here :D He's gonna go with the old PSU and see how it performs. Im sure that the good ol' Corsair has enough juice for the beast. Just saw those posts on some forums and wasn't so sure anymore.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page