1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU Question for my new build

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Chaddcl0ps, Feb 22, 2012.

  1. Chaddcl0ps New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    This is probably a noob question, but hey, that's what these forums are for.

    I recently completely upgraded my computer. (except hard drive, PSU, and optical drive)
    My build is as follows...

    AMD Phenom II X6 1055T Thuban 2.8GHz Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processo
    GIGABYTE GA-970A-UD3 AM3+ AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
    (2)(Crossfire) Gigabyte's GV-R685OC-1GD Radeon HD 6850 1GB OC
    G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
    Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD5000AAKS 500GB 7200

    I'm still using my 500W power supply which has 2 cables for the cards so I can crossfire.
    Everyone...atm...works, haven't had a problem since the new year.

    I recently did a recommended PSU check on newegg's website and it recommended 950W PSU.

    So my question is, is 950W really how much is needed?
    Am I currently losing performance for each component? Mainly my video cards?

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    A quality branded 700W would be sufficient.
     
  3. Chaddcl0ps New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Thanks,

    Any recommended ones?
     
  4. AhokZYashA

    AhokZYashA

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,154 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    155
    something like Corsair TX750V2 should be suffice
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  5. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    +1 I would say any quality 700w - 750w will be sufficient, i just picked up an OCZ zx850w unit @ Ncix for $140 + tax & shipping after rebate, not sure if the deal is still on :confused: I couldn't find anything in that price range that was comparable, i wanted 80 gold cert and full modularity :eek:

    For your future reference you can use this link to help calculate PSU need's http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp

    :toast:
     
  6. Chaddcl0ps New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Cool, thanks for the help.

    So is a new PSU necessary?
    And, if so, Am I currently loosing performance with what I have?
     
  7. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    I would say you are running it REAL close with that PSU and could fry something, i'd move up the PSU ladder as quickly as possible and if you are currently doing any OC'ing i'd back it down just to be on the safe side. Untill you upgrade of course ;)
     
  8. specks

    specks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    441 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    You should change the PSU now. You are gonna be maxing out that 500W with that configuration and you will blow something up.
     
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    If/when you do any gaming for now you should use vsync & don't overclock your cpu. Try to get a new psu sooner than later. What supply are you currently using?
     
  10. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    I wouldn't trust any 500w in that system for any amount of time. If budget is an issue you could pull 1 GFX card untill you have the $$$ to update the PSU
     
  11. Chaddcl0ps New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Thx for the help everyone. I'll be getting a new PSU this weekend.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page