1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU Question???

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mos187, Dec 15, 2008.

  1. mos187

    mos187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Quick Question guyz, will the Gigabyte Superb 460w PSU run the below setup...
    http://img.techpowerup.org/081215/power_productimage_ge-r460-v1_big.jpg
    http://img.techpowerup.org/081215/gb_superb460w.jpg

    Intel Pentium Dual Core E2180 2.0Ghz
    Gigabyte Ga965P-DS3 Mobo
    4Gb Kingston HyperX 6400 (2X2GB)
    Nvidia 8800GT 512Mb
    1x 1TB Maxtor Sata2 HDD
    1x 320Gb Seagate Sata2 HDD
    Creative Audigy2 Souncard
    Some TV Tuner Card

    im just looking for a cheap but good PSU that i can depend on (not frying my pc), and i got a pretty good deal on this one, so what do you think...
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,654 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,044
    Not enough on the 12v rails.
     
  3. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    The PSU is the most important part of a comp. If I were u, I would rather spend less on the other components and a bit more on the PSU. At those specs, 460W will run fine but I'll doubt u can do any good oc's on that.
     
  4. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Try and get one with more power on the rails. And, tbh, you may need to up the overall power of the psu just a tad. That way you know you have enough power rather than just slipping by the amount you need.
     
  5. mos187

    mos187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    no intending to oc...
     
  6. King Wookie

    King Wookie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    I'd say ok, but that 8800GT kinda worries me a bit.

    If you can, go for a little more, like a good 550W.
    A Corsair HX520 would be a killer buy.
     
  7. mos187

    mos187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    btw what are power/PSU requirements for the 8800GT.....
     
  8. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    200 idle - 280 load W for the 8800gt. For amperage, the 8800gts takes up 20-25A so i think the gt will take up 18-23A.
     
  9. mos187

    mos187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
  10. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
  11. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    You will be just fine. Till couple days ago I had 450W PSU with one 12v 14A rail and at stock it was running just fine when overclocked it was freezing from time to time in games in windows was ok.
    I still regret that I spend 70 eur on the current supply. And my last PSU was Gembird 450W very low budget but I had it for the last 2.5 years and it is still working.
     
  12. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    And for NVIDIA recommendations of 26A 12V rail it has safety factor of x2 it is very logical if you know that you GPU needs only 12A you put on the box that it needs 26A and they can`t be wrong.
     
  13. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,603 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    368
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    yea i wouldn't get that PSU for that setup, however i would change a few things, i would drop the 8800GT and get an HD 4670, with the money saved ~20-30 i'd upgrade the cpu to an e5200, a big difference and much better system all around, and i believe that interchanging those parts would allow for you to use that PSU. The performance of the HD 4670 is that just above the 9600GSO or roughly a 9600GT, compared to an e2180+8800GT, the better CPU will make up for performance, if any, loss. it will run most games on high at 1280x1024. what resolution will that computer be using?
     
  14. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Where are you located, minus the gigabyte psu, I havent heard of the other one. If you cannot get a decent PSU right now, hold off on the system. You will regret it later. Doesnt matter the wattage, if the 12V rail doesnt have the amperage, it wont matter anyways.
     
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah, but when it does go, it can take every single component out with it. Skimping on the PSU is the absolutely dumbest thing you can do when building a new computer. A psu is to a computer what the heart is to a living being.

    A 460W psu is plenty for that setup, if, AND ONLY IF, it is of a very high quality.
     
  16. mos187

    mos187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    what is the least 12v amperage you recommend for this setup....
     
  17. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Loose one of the HDD's then get a better PSU.
     
  18. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,603 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    368
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    how much is that PSU?, this is a Rosewill but it does have good review ratings and is 80%+ certified.
     
  19. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I'd recommend grabbing one with at least a combined 32A on the 12V rails. As an example, keep in mind that 2 16A 12V rails DOES NOT equal 32A, for instance. It just means that you can pull no more than 16A on an individual rail. It doesn't mean you can pull 16A from 2 rails at the same time. You need to look up the manufacturer's info on combined 12V amperage.
     
  20. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
  21. lollerskater69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    395 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    That PSU will be fine.

    I am running my 4870 and a q6600 on a 450 watt no name PSU.

    I love how people reccomend PSU's that are too much for people's needs.
     
  22. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    :nutkick:
     
  23. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    The problem is you suggest PSUs that BARELY meet people's needs and the suggestions don't take factors like capacitor aging or a (new one to me) active PFC into account. Just having the stats on paper doesn't mean it's good. For some people's needs, your suggestions would work.
     
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    And when it does blow, and takes your video cards, mobo, ram, hard drives, cpu and every other component with it, don't come bitching to us. Risking high dollar hardware on a cheap psu is flat out stupid. Whether it works now or not, you are taking a risk.
     
  25. lollerskater69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    395 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    People's experiences with the product matter. The reviews are good for all of PSU's I reccomend. I think that people's experience's really show how well the product performs and most of all, how happy people are with the product.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page