1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU questions.

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Exavier, Dec 23, 2008.

  1. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    not sure if this is the right section..
    basically, I used a PSU Calculator to determine what I would need to power everything and it came to 620w exactly..
    ..which obviously maxes out my Corsair HX620.
    :cry:
    so basically, I'm looking to upgrade..
    and I found two Silverstone PSUs which seem very enticing.
    Silverstone Decathlon DA850 £130

    Silverstone Strider ST85F £105

    are they both good choices? is the Decathlon worth the extra money? (£25 more than the strider) are there any other good Modular PSUs worth considering?

    please help guys! I'm finding this really hard as this PSU has been exemplary to me..
    of course now you get to see it in a FS thread.. haha
     
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Those would be downgrades.. Corsair PSU's push out way more than what they are rated for.
     
    Exavier says thanks.
  3. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    and whats the problem of running it at 100% per cent, for that is what the psu are designed and specially the good ones (not like mine one)
     
    Exavier says thanks.
  4. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    just worried about it being over what the calculator says..
    how much higher can it go over 620w?

    I based this on how I want my rig to be by february..
    q6600@3.6
    4x2GB RAM
    4 total HDDs
    (still) one optical drive
    PCI or PCI-E soundcard (debating)
    8 120mm fans (feser 480) OR 6 140mm fans (feser monsta)
    two ddc-1t pumps

    I'm just worried. lol
     
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Dude your fine
     
    Exavier says thanks.
  6. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    I sure hope so man, I sure do.
    I'll let you all know how I get on..with sexy pix ;)
     
  7. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
  8. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    I would say running it at 100% all the time is not from the efficiency stand point a good thing.
    But THIS is a good PSU with Nippon Chemi-Con caps throughout and is made by seasonic according to THIS Review and a 60amp rail its win - win for the price of £ 103 ( five year warranty as well ),It comes in red for xfire and also black for nvidia fans, If i had the cash i buy it now...well is on my wish list for the time being.
    Hope this helps you out m8.

    EDIT: Psu calcs usually over estimate but if you are thinking of adding another card then i would say a definite yes to an upgrade. Im not sure if the water system your thinking of adding will push your psu closer to its limits, But its better to be safe than sorry and yes corsair psus are top notch but everything has a limit:).
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2008
    Exavier says thanks.
  9. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    Only thing better than a corsair is a PCP&C. Even then their pretty much equal. My rule has always been to stay withing 80% of a PSU's max output.
     
  10. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
  11. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    ideally modular psus would be nice..hence the DA850..
    I was worried about stressing it at 100% hence the move to higher W
    why would the DA850 be a downgrade?
     
  12. Damian^

    Damian^ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    552 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    PSU calculators are shit. They assume the computer is at full load 100% of the time and then give off bad readings based on it.
    I can tell you right now, the most that computer would run at is about 300W idle. (no gpu)

    Stick with the Corsair unit.
     
  13. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    it wouldnt be a downgrade by any means. both manufacturers are of quality (silverstone and corsair), i only say that your current psu can handle your config but if you want to be sure, then go for it
     
  14. Damian^

    Damian^ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    552 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    heh to run a power supply at 100% would require hardware beyond a "dual card setup, bagillion fans, overclocked madness ect" its called a PSU load tester.
     
  15. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    I would never stress my psu to 100%. Seriously the PSU is like the heart of the computer (disregarding the mobo).
     
  16. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
  17. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    because there are two diferent things, load and peak.

    load is constant and peak is not, peak is like playing crysis on a campment full of vietcongs with all in ultra high in directx 10 and load is where you play in a NORMAL ENVIROMENT.

    that calculator could be calculating the peak load and anyway, your psu handle 620w in load, in peak it should handle like 700w
     
    Exavier says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page