1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU Recomendation

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Squark, Feb 25, 2009.

  1. Squark

    Squark New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Merry ol' England
    Hey,

    I think I need to replace my PSU (600W - OCZ600SXS) as I'm not sure if it is meeting all of my power requirement needs or supplying stable outputs any more.
    Plus I've had it 2½ years, so it's one of the only parts of my computer which hasn't been upgraded.

    Full system specs:
    AMD X4 9950BE @3Ghz (though I want to clock it higher)
    Asus M3A79-T
    4*1Gb Corsair Ram
    4 SATA HDDs (2*160Gb Raid 2*80Gb Raid)
    4870X2 Gfx (Oc'd 790/960)
    1*optical drive
    3 case fans
    I'll be adding a PCIe sound card fairly soon too.

    Any suggestions?
  2. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    Save the cash , you are fine .
  3. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,373 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    280
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    That PSU is more than good enough for your rig. I just looked over the specs. Unless you just want to spend more money.
  4. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    agreed, no need to upgrade.

    If you are curious check and see how many watts your machine is pulling at full load.
  5. Squark

    Squark New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Merry ol' England
    How might I do that?
  6. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    there are psu calculators on pages of psu makers like antec
  7. Squark

    Squark New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Merry ol' England
    Well they're showing a recommended wattage of 640W for system load 90%
  8. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    Your PSU can handle the load , do not worry .
  9. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Fleck says thanks.
  10. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Well, since I have an APC UPS i got their PowerChute software and that can tell me how many Watts the UPS is providing which is basically my current wattage consumption, when the PC is under load that number goes way up. If you dont have one then i dont know of any other utility that can tell you, may be someone here can recomend something. But i still think you should be fine with that PSU, i haven't seen my system pull more than around 420W at full load so for a system like yours it will be a little more prolly but i would guess not above 520W or so.
  11. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    I have APC Smart 1000 XL , and the PowerChute shows only by % rating , no true watts.
  12. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2009
  13. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    I have business edition .





    .

    Attached Files:

  14. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple

    yea, mine's personal, i like how yours gives internal temp, looks like a nice feature.
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,579 (13.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,976
    I think your PSU is cutting it close, especially due to age and due to it being a somewhat older OCZ model. I however wouldn't worry about it unless you are getting some stuttering when your system is under full load.
  16. ap4lifetn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    136 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    won't the X4 and X2 pull a lot of power when its overclocked? those are power hungry suckers, but if its stable, then u don't need to upgrade
  17. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,661 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    I wouldn't worry about it unless you really need to..it wouldn't hurt to upgrade it though.
  18. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    Lets speak with some facts .... we did not show UPS specs to show off .

    KBD's system idles at 250W , and my about 300W , i have a pile of HDDs loaded .

    So what will happen at full load , would be 100 to 200W additional load over idle .

    And thats it .

    KBD's system its more close to Squark specs , is that 4870x2 so large watt killer ??
  19. Squark

    Squark New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Merry ol' England
    Thanks for the input.

    I think I may upgrade, just to be on the safe side, plus it should give me some headroom for the future.
  20. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    PSUs degrade over time. If you think it's time to upgrade then just upgrade.

    What are your prerequisites for a PSU? Modular, neon fans, maybe ultra quiet?
  21. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
  22. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    My suggestion

    Non Modular

    I couldnt really find a modular PSU with a single +12v... so I gave up.
  23. Squark

    Squark New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Merry ol' England
    What are the important things (features/specs) to look for in a good quality PSU these days?
  24. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    IMO the most important feature is high amperage +12v rails or PSUs with single +12v rails so you are getting 100% of the available power to the necessary components.

    Modular is nice so you can keep a clean clutter free case but finding a modular PSU that also has a single +12v is rare and usually carries a premium on the price.

    High efficiency rating is important also. Anything above 80% is a nice PSU.
  25. Fleck New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    308 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    FL
    That's pretty damn cool. My system will use 286W when I get the Radeon 4850. (371W with capacitor aging, which will definitely occur!)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page