1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU too small/PSU Failing?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ChevyOwner, Apr 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    O/P I would have went with a 750w/850w unit myself, 1000w is a tad overkill for your system IMHO. I can't see your sys pulling more than 600w at FULL load & OCed. You'll prolly lose a tad of efficiency but otherwise should be Ok, aside from spending more $$$ than necessary... I'm a poor man anyways, always bargain/rebate hunting! :rockout:

    Glad there was no damage :)

    :laugh: You actualy wear underpants? :roll:
  2. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,176 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    He wouldnt lose any efficiency... ;)
  3. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,184 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,028
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I'll second this. Every PSU I've recently used with one big 12v rail have been incredibly stable... or maybe it has to do with my two last PSUs being a Corsair and a Seasonic. Either way going to Corsair or Seasonic is always a good bet. Thermaltake PSUs tend to be pretty cheap from my prior experience. I learned this the hard way several years ago.
  4. ChevyOwner

    ChevyOwner

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    63 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    well the PSU I just finished frying was 600W, by that i mean it smelled bad when powered on and IMO sounded terrible(was not the fan). Now i am trying not to buy a 3rd GTX660 to try that. :laugh:
  5. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Salt included with opinion... :eek:

    In regards to Single/Multi rail: Single rail all the way for me :)

    He'll be just barely in the sweet spot with that 1Kw unit, and only when fully loaded. Anything less than 100% load on his system and he'll be under that 600w figure. I try to think about the enviroment :eek:

    Well just FYI, as others have stated, that previous unit is NOT quality so i would expect it to fail. As it did. :eek:

    Now, if it was a quality unit you prolly would have been Ok. It more than likely would have ran a bit on the warm/hot side but it wouldn't crash the system. If it was me i would have gone with a quality 750w/850w like i said earlier... In the end it's your system & $$$ and as long as you are happy and are issue free; Everyting be Irie, mon! :pimp:
  6. ChevyOwner

    ChevyOwner

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    63 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    yep true, and after everything was said and done i don't remember seeing a quality PSU with 750W+ for $100 or less.

    better get back to fixing my car.
  7. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,176 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Sweetspot Schmeeet spot... the difference in efficiency on modern PSU's are from like 20-90% load are usually within 1% or so. Hardly noticeable and not even worth a mention IMO. Look some up and see. Leaving a light bulb on by accident would cause more of a stir in your electric bill than the difference between the same load on different wattage PSUs.

    Where he feels it more is in his wallet... not to mention that PSU isnt much of an upgrade, if any, as far as quality goes... AFAI am concerned he replaced MEH with MEH.

    Oh well.
  8. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,827 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,517
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    In response to the m1dg3t and EarthDog argument, he was using a 72% efficiency PSU before he upgraded to an 85% efficiency PSU. It's still saving him money whether the new PSU is junk or not. Of course, I would have gone with a smaller Gold/Platinum, but he paid $100 for the unit, which the only thing even remotely comparable at that price is the Seasonic X750 Gold when it's actually on sale for $99.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    If you say so, gotta deal hunt mah mang ;)

    What car?

    Your opinion. I try to scrimp at every point. Why should i be wastefull or an over consumer? Agreed on the quality of the unit, but at least this time he has enough headroom for his specs.

    What argument? :laugh:

    Of course his new unit is better than the last, that goes without saying :clap:
  10. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,176 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Dude, its not an opinion.. do the math! Look at reviews!

    http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story3&reid=331 = <2%
    http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story3&reid=329 = 2%
    http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story3&reid=314 = <2%

    I mean at that load that is what 10W? Lets double that... How much does 20W cost running 24/7 (which his I imagine his PC isnt running at that load 24/7 unless he is folding, but Im more than willing to show the absolute worst case to display a point) for a day/week/month/year? I pay .10c /KWh... That isnt squat to me, pennies yo!

    And to Jstn... this is a discussion. We dont agree, but it has been factual with no insults. I'm plenty happy with that. I also would have bought that Seasonic in a HEARTBEAT over the thing he bought. HANDS DOWN NO QUESTIONS ASKED I wouldnt have touched the same PSU that shit the bed on me except it had more wattage. Wattage was never the issue it was the quality of the unit.
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2013
  11. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Like i said, i try to scrimp at every point. It's 2013, not 1997 :rolleyes:

    I don't even pay for electric here, currently in an apt, but i still minimize my consumption. I care about the enviroment, if you don't then that's your choice. :toast:
  12. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,176 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    ROFLMAO...your pointing at the wrong person! I care enough to buy appropriately sized Gold/Platinum PSUs (see system specs). The OP... not so much. :p

    EDIT: And perhaps more so than you too...since you have a gold rated PSU and one that is simply 80+ vs my gold/Platinum. So put that shaming finger down or point it in the mirror! LOL! You spent more money on overpowered PSUs for your systems than you will never make up in your electric bills...you are fooling yourself kind sir! If you practice what you preached you wouldn't have a PSU over 550W. ;)

    EDIT2: And before you note my second system with a KW PSU, I am also part of a benchmarking team and need that power for benching cpus and gpus under LN2, otherwise, outside of reviews, that system is off. :)

    Anyhoo... :)
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2013
  13. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Ok so you have dual +12v rails at 23a and 20a respectively, but what is the COMBINED amperage/wattage over both rails as usually multi rail PSU's don't deliever the rated wattage/amperage for each single rail combined, so you may well find that even though you have 43a on the +12v rails which equates to 516w on the +12v rails you may get lower than this, the sticker should tell you the combined maximum wattage for both rails.
  14. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,073 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Why is this thread still going he's already resolved the problem
  15. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,176 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Because of the discussion going on and guys like you and the dude above you not helping either...If you have a problem with it, report the thread and have it closed instead of adding to it. ;)
  16. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I clicked on show the latest post and it led me to page 1 when it still wasn't resolved, my bad :laugh:
  17. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Trolling the wrong guy, Buddy.

    Really? Glad you know so much about my system/s to make those comments.

    Care to speculate on tonights lotto numbers? Judging by your perfect perception you should know the numbers already! I'll split it with ya, honest :toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page