1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

psu wattage calculator???

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by d1nky, Feb 13, 2013.

  1. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,740 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,216
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    There are many factors and most the calculators can give you is a rough estimate.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    PSU Calculators are somewhat bullshit because some PSU's specs are not what the PSU puts out. The best way is to take a look at how many amps are needed and look the the Rial(s) amp ratings. A cheap PSU boasting 500 watts may not actually put out 500 watts making PSU calculators worthless.
     
  4. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    thanks.... I definitely need to upgrade psu and was just browsing for a cheapish one but what meets my needs, and im soon to have a 225w card so need to upgrade asap
     
  5. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I would esimate the amps the system and PSU puts out and look at the Amps on the rail(s) the PSU your looking at and take it from there
     
  6. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    tbh I don't understand the rails and amps thingy, but mine has dual 12v rails at 21 amps 700w total output....your wisdom would be appreciated! psu buying time soon!
     
  7. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    326 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    D1nky, tell me how how much your budget is and I'll take a look being a fellow UK guy. You don't want to skimp if you're gonna need enough power for an FX 8350 and an HD 7950.
     
    drdeathx and d1nky say thanks.
  8. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Pacman is on the job!:toast:
     
    ...PACMAN... says thanks.
  9. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,203 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    I wouldn't skimp on a PSU even if you are using a simpler setup. I used to do this long ago. The cheap PSUs last maybe a year or two if that and when they go they take other parts with them. At least in my case. Blew out the boards, think a couple other parts. Definitely go a quality maker like Antec or better.
     
    ...PACMAN... says thanks.
  10. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    326 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Not only that, hardware paranoia sets in, meaning if a certain game or something is not performing right you start really questioning your POS PSU and whether it's actually doing what it's meant to be doing :laugh: I have had those 2.00am scratch your head moments where you just end up thinking, am I going mad?

    PC's when done wrong can be a total PITA. Better to just do things right and use companies that not only make quality products but also sort you out if anything goes wrong with their parts.
     
    drdeathx says thanks.
  11. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    well urm tbh im not sure I think about £50 or maybe a bit more. ive just blown 250 on a gfx card (and cant wait) but I know itll need sufficient power. well my specs are listed along with future plans...... and ive had my psu 2 months and wouldn't care if it blew but would hate a cpu or my new baby (gfx) going with it! can someone explain in brief what a good amp and rails would be thanks! and pacman youre da man lol
     
  12. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    should edit but I keep touching my psu and seeing if its hot etc lol
     
    ...PACMAN... says thanks.
  13. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    326 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    TBH that's not a great budget for a quality PSU? The nearest I can get with anything thats even worth while is this Corsair TX 650 V2 with 53Amps on +12v

    These are solid but can be prone to be a tad noisy. Currently £69.10 with free shipping. I shall keep looking but there are very few within that price range that I would trust.
     
    drdeathx says thanks.
  14. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    hmmmm ive definitely overlooked this! so more amps = better? I read a bit about this and kind of get that its all about controlling the amount of flow in the cables and their limits! I probably deserve a slap for buying a £30 700w psu......im a noooooob lol but they do sell corsairs in pcworld and always got deals on them


    I could get this next week??? http://www.maplin.co.uk/corsair-cx750m-atx-modular-power-supply-686060
     
  15. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    326 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    That's actually a really good find for your budget, well done :laugh:

    Here is the readout from the side of it -

    [​IMG]

    Should be more than enough to power your current and future rig. I have read it may have some coil whine but alot of people don't. if you do, just RMA it straight away and get them to replace it.

    Ideally in future you want to get an awesome PSU which has low ripple. This means "steady" or "clean" power. High ripple means "rough" or "dirty" power. It can lead to instability and degradation of components. All PC's are designed to take some ripple. Its not the be all and end all but its something that can be an arseache if you start OCing and you will if you stay on TPU. :D
     
  16. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    963 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    Remember that a computer use more power on the +12v. fo if a PSU gives you a total 500w on +12v, but is branded 800w, that might be scrap...

    500w off a 700w starts okay, but the build of the PSU is something you need to make sure it is a good one.

    Corsair PSU does the jobs in the low end. Corsair has really good PSU.

    If you look for a PSU I recommend website for review like jonhyguru, hardwaresecrets, TPU :D

    that corsair would do the trick.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    heres my amps and rails....

    input 230v ac 50-60hz 5a

    +3.3v = 29a +5v = 32a +12v = 21a (x2) -12v = 0.3a +5vsb = 2.5a

    700w total output.............

    just a thought......could I keep mine, lessen the fans (got 8 atm), wait and save then get a higher end psu....bearing in mind that mine will have the 7950 on it very soon!
     
  18. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    326 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    There is no way I would risk it and TBH, it probably won't even be able to power an HD 7950 without something bad happening.
     
    d1nky says thanks.
  19. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    SHIT!!!!! well I best get shopping because if my new baby goes up in smoke ill cry also I wont be able to use her till I do!!

    and what is ocz like with psu??

    just seen some guy on here with crossfire and the cx750, its a done deal I think! shame I don't get paid till Monday grrrrrrrrr

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65012&page=932
     
  20. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    326 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Patience is the key mate, it really would royally piss you off if your goodies went up in smoke. All for the sake of not waiting a couple of days.

    I'm not so keen on OCZ at all but that is just personal preference after having bad DDR2 from them a few years ago :)

    Hope it all goes all right and nice card BTW, that thing is huge :)
     
    d1nky says thanks.
  21. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    thanks pacman! I cant wait tbh I don't think itll fit but I got an angle grinder at work lol
     
  22. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    326 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Ghetto mods FTW!!! :D
     
  23. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    963 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    depends on which one you,re looking at. Those Z series, ZX, ZT, ZS are quite good.

    Corsair PSU are nice build, you can also look to XFX, which are very good build quality and you can find cheap one (not modular at low price)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page