1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU Wattage for x2 Nvidia 8800GTX Suggestions

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by PyroX1040, Dec 19, 2007.

  1. PyroX1040 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    283 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I'm currently recovering from a issue with my HDD and I'm planning on getting a second Nvidia EVGA GeForce 8800GTX 768MB card so I can have 2 of them running but I'm unsure of what my power supply wattage should be I plan to slightly OC it to 610/1000 instead of 576/900 and it's a small OC but I was wondering if anyone has suggestions on the power supply wattage, my current supply is 700 Watt check my computer info for more info on the current PSU but It only has the cords to power 1 Nvidia 8800GTX not 2, so that's another problem if anyone has suggestions!!

    So thank you I'm open to suggestions, I'm also wondering if anyone is selling a EVGA Nvidia 8800GTX 768MB Card let me know I'm looking into buying one NewEgg wants 509.99$ for a brand new one and I was wondering if anyone is selling one used or new, let me know thanks all!!!
    joker71 says thanks.
  2. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,223 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    you need at least 900w but with 2 GTX I would go for 1000watts modular sli certified....
    :toast:

    Attached Files:

  3. joker71

    joker71 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    finland
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    Wattage is not what is important, it's the number of amps available on the 12V lines.

    His has 56A available on the 12v lines. Considering his lack of cpu overclocking, his psu should be fine, but an upgrade never hurts. lol.

    As far as needing 2 more PCIe 6pin cables, you can get molex to 6pin adapters. As seen here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812887001
  5. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,862 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Not ture its more about the 12volt+ rails i would say 750w and higher i have a cooler master 850w with 6 12volt rails+, quad sli when i mean quad sli i mean 4 6pin plugs and 2 8pin plugs
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,711 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,424
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    You'll need a minimum of 4 +12V rails to your PSU, It can have a wattage of 850W and an efficiency >80%. I'd strongly recommend you choose a PSU with four PCIe connectors and not that which has two of such connectors making you to use Molex to PCIE power converters.

    You have some very good PSUs from trusted brands such as Seasonic/Corsair, ABS-Tagan, Antec, Cooler Master, OCZ, Mushkin, etc. NEVER be fooled by amazingly cheap PSUs that are priced around $25~$50. These could damage your system big time.
  7. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    Enermax Galaxy 850-1000W.
    Etasis Gaming 850W
    Silverstone Strider 850W
    Fortron Epsilon 1010W
    Silverstone Olympia 1000W
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2007
  8. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    they say a 450 watt is needed for one card or at least they did when the cards came out.. a decent 750 watt should be more than enough for two..

    whats with all this way over the top psu business.. a 1000 watts come on.. that would run four of the bloody things..

    looks good in the specs thow.. he he

    trog
  9. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    Having more is always better than having less...
    personally i`d go with a top 850W one..
  10. joker71

    joker71 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    finland
    my lack of overclocking , lol my cpu runs on 3,80 ghz x 4 = 15,2 GHZ and still stable
  11. jurrasstoil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    137 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Germany, NRW
    I'd put two 1.2kW PSU in SLI, otherwise you shouldn't be able to run the bloody thing.

    Seriously... thats just ridiculous...

    A single GTX consumes up to 145W... So, buying a PSU with more than 700W is just pants on head retarded. A good PSU (say: Corsair or Seasonic) with something like 620W is BY FAR enough to run a GTX SLI + overclocked Quadcore.

    ** For those who don't believe that a GTX doesn't consume less than 350W:
    http://xbitlabs.com/articles/video/display/gf8800gtx-roundup_6.html#sect0 (scroll down)
  12. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    +1. So true..and don't forget about PC Power and Cooling and Silverstone. :D
  13. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,711 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,424
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ^Yeah but not many 620W PSUs come with 4 PCIE power connectors. If they come with two, you'd be using two Molex to PCIE power converters that together require 4 Molex connectors in all. Normally such 620-odd watt PSU's don't come with more than 4~6 Molex connectors which harms your upgrade path anyway.

    Yup. There still are many brands that I don't know because they don't sell here. All I'm saying is you just have to be smart with brand choice and not fall prey to those el-cheapo "800W for $35" PSU's
  14. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I've seen in Live or Die's Manual, that you need at lease a 1000 watt peak PSU in order to run tri Sli... So with that in mind, I would have to think you would need something around those lines and with 4 +12v rails...
    There is a lot of good PSU out there.. Just have to check on the rating on the PSU. And find one that suits you.
  15. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    a damn good 650watt or higher power supply would be sufficient. i've run 2 GTX's on a enermax infinity 650watt that has 65amps on the 12v rail. i would imagine the new corsair power supplies around the same wattage would be just fine. you don't have to do overkill.

    FOR EXAMPLE: my enermax galaxy 1000watt can comfortably power(at the same time)
    3x 8800ultras in tri-sli
    780i motherboard
    q6700@4.2ghz
    4 WD raptors in raid 0
    1 WD 1TB drive
    2 seprate water loops
    dvd-rw
    10 120mm fans
    6 usb devices

    without any hicups at all. the galaxy 1kw can power its way through that mess.
    thats just gives you an idea of 1000watts can do. if your not even close to that much power draw, i'd just go with a 650-750watt. pc power and cooling is GREAT as well.
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    I was talking about the OP. And 3.8GHz Quad cores are not equal to 15.2GHz. It doesn't work that way.

    And everybody needs to get off this huge wattage psu kick for the guy. His psu will run it perfectly fine.
  17. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    I second that ;)
    sustained amps is what its all about... not peak wattage

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page