1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU works, but wont power for test

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Jaywray, May 24, 2012.

  1. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Hey Jay, you finally have a build up and running then....good man. Looks a bit different to the one that was originally specced. Let me know how you get on with the HD 7850, I have one at the moment but it's matched up with a crappy system so will be interested in the results you get to compare.

    Hope the keyboard comes soon :)
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2012
  2. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,438 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    I do not take questions the wrong way.:)
    I read in a couple of forums that board has a dislike for some G.skill modules and I saw at the ASRock site there is a BIOS update that fixes the compatiability problem with some G.Skill modules.
    The latest bios 1.50, here > ASRock bios page

    Bios Description:
    1. Modify i-Rock PS2 keyboard issue.
    2. Patch G-SKILL F3-17000CL11Q-16GBXL memory.

    Note:
    If, you do plan a firmware/bios update and you are unsure... make a thread for help, because you may/can run into unforeseen problems/glitches.
    There are different ways to do it. And, someone with experience on those boards may have some good advice/input.
    A bad BIOS/firmware update gone wrong can brick the device you are updating.

    Not meaning to scare you or put you off from doing it, if, you need (emphasis on need) to, but it can go wrong.



    Also, at the Memory Support List they recommend:

    Glad you got it up and running.

    Sorry, I sorta disappeared yesterday, but my wife's aunt called and had to do a call out to fix her wireless on the comcast router and did not get back 'til late.

    Check that manual and the manual for the case to be sure the header connections are correct and secure.

    And, ALWAYS make sure, whenever you turn on the system, that the heat sink and fan are placed and operational.
     
  3. Jaywray New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    47 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Hey bro! aye the specs changed based on what the prices on Amazon were at the time ^^', the 7850 was asus and only 1 left in stock so they lowered the price to £174.99, thought it was a good price and thought what the hey! same with the motherboard actually :)

    I haven't had a chance to really test out the graphics card as I'm still tweaking things to my liking but if you want me to try any tests on any software or anything let me know man :)

    And it came at 10 to 6 today strangely enough!



    No worries about you disappearing! happens to us all :)

    Thanks for the help getting everything up and running, first build went quite well I think honestly the only issue was getting the mobo to power :D I must have misplaced the audio header or something caue the audio jack ain't working but that's an easy fix :)

    Cheers for your help once again!

    I'm just tweaking the settings etc now,
     
    95Viper and LifeOnMars say thanks.
  4. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I look forward to seeing some pics of the build if you have a camera.

    They'll be a few games you can try out for me when you get the time mate, look forward to it and I'm sure you're gonna love your new system :)
     
  5. Jaywray New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    47 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14

    Well I'm playing crysis 2 on ultra right now, lagged like hell at first... then i noticed diablo 3 was running in the background xD

    But it's running grand right now with no noticeable frame drops at all :)

    Also you want pics? I got pics!
    .... But you have to promise not to laugh at my attempt at cable management LOL
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2012
    Crap Daddy and LifeOnMars say thanks.
  6. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Holy shit, Spaghetti junction in a case :) Looks great bud and some nice choices on the hardware. I can't wait to get a decent system around my card, currently running it with a phenom ii low clocked quad and ddr2 800 UUURRRGGGHHH lol.

    Will soon have a socket 2011 build up and running though so not all bad :)
     
  7. Jaywray New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    47 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Leave my cable management alone =p I spent time on that! ^^'

    I'm afraid since I never looked into AMD processors/mobos so I'm not sure what to say about that!
    Aren't they releasing a new line of processors to compete with Ivy soon? maybe you could wait for that, and for all we know it could be a killer :)

    Although from what I hear amd's top of the line bulldozer is around the i5 2500k in performance, and man, my system is fast as hell! way faster than my old computer with a 2.8ghz duo core!
     
  8. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I used to have an i5 2500k so I know how speedy they are, great chips. AMD are off the pace unfortunately at the moment hence the Intel upgrade when I get the funds. This system apart from the gfx card is my mum's old system she used for facebook and friends reunited :laugh:

    After having a high clocked 2500k this seems like I'm gaming on a calculator :D
     
  9. Jaywray New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    47 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    I was thinking you had an i5 last we talked, wasn't sure if it'd fried or something which caused you to go to amd ^^'
    But hey man, at least you've something to look forward to right? :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page