1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Pulling hair out new build

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by hdwizard, Jan 21, 2010.

  1. hdwizard

    hdwizard New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello all,
    I am new to forum and have spent hours reading which has led to more confusion. I am looking to build a gaming/general use rig. I want to spend about 800-$900. I am more concerning about value for my buck and ability to upgrade than anything. Last time I build a rig I put in an ASUS Pentium board and two weeks later they came out with Pentium ll, so much for the upgrade. With that in mind can someone recommend a build for this noob.
     
  2. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    At this moment both 1366 and AM3 have a year or two worth of upgrades pathed. You can't go wrong with either but if you want a gaming computer I would suggest going AM3, this way you have more of the budget to spend on a good video card.

    Give this forum a little more time and I'm sure someone will have a great build put together for you.
     
    hdwizard says thanks.
  3. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,171 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,811
    Location:
    04578
    alright revised my list comes in at $1052 before shipping but worth the price considering the GPU thats in there namely a 5850 which is head and shoulders above the 5770

    DVD burner:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827136177

    Case:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811129066

    Motherboard:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131402

    GPU:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814129141

    Ram:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145260

    Cpu + stock heatsink:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103674

    Combo PSU + HDD:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.319410

    OS:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832116754

    i believe thats everything im sure another forum member can come up with something better but otherwise as i stated before something you can start with and edit as needed
     
    Jetster and hdwizard say thanks.
  4. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Are you particular as to what CPU you want to use? You have AMD phenom series Intel i7s that come in socket 775, socket 1156 and socket 1356. Intel is lining up to release new chipsets for their i7 platform. Currently they are using x58 and P55. That will change to x68 and P65 by summer of this year with notable improvements.

    BTW: are you buying in the USA or else where?
     
    hdwizard says thanks.
  5. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,195 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,752
    I dont want the OP to get confused, there are Phenom IIs (AM3 and AM2+), Core 2 Quads (LGA 775), Core i5 (socket 1156) and Core i7 (socket 1156 and 1366).
     
    hdwizard says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. hdwizard

    hdwizard New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    To make sure I understand EastCoast, are you saying that the board I get now for the i7 will not support the new i7's this summer?
     
  7. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    They will, its the same socket just the chipset will be improved.

    Intel are making things needlessly complicated with their latest series of chips in my opinion.

    Easily confusing to people that are not following what's going on.
     
    TheLaughingMan and hdwizard say thanks.
  8. hdwizard

    hdwizard New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    gpu

    Can someone tell me if the MB that Crazy suggests will support an NVIDIA card with SLI?
     
  9. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,171 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,811
    Location:
    04578
    no SLI is not supported on that motherboard has only Crossfire support for ATI gpus

    now the GTS 250 will work in that mobo but only in a single card configuration no sli
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2010
  10. hdwizard

    hdwizard New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    additional info request

    Any suggestions on if I should add a sound card? I do jam sometimes with my system. Not sure what the mobo will provide.
     
  11. SnoopKatt

    SnoopKatt

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    202 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    SoCal
    It depends. If you have a nice stereo, it makes a pretty big difference, but if you're just using generic computer speakers it's hardly going to be noticeable. I went from an ALC888 integrated set to an Auzentech CMI 8770 on my custom stereo and the difference was night and day. I think there's some nice sound cards in the BST forums for good prices.
     
    hdwizard says thanks.
  12. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    What SnoopKatt said. Just for the computer, the intergrated sound will be more than enough. If you are hooking up something series, media center equipment and such, a nice sound card is a must.

    While there is room for cost effective choices in Crazy's setup for you, he was going more for quality. The list of parts he has are all from some of the best in those areas. Very, very, very unlikely to get DOA, hard to use items, or any issues at all for that matter. While you could save some money and keep the quality level, you would sacrifices some reliability. For your first build, it is best to spend a little extra to avoid Returns, exchanges, etc.
     
  13. hdwizard

    hdwizard New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Lost my mind

    ok, starting to get a grip on things. More reading, more or less confusing?
    What would you suggest if I wanted to go with intel chip. The truth is WOW is about the only game I play now (no judgements please). I figure I can save some money now, but want to be able to upgrade without having to replace the entire rig.
     
  14. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,171 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,811
    Location:
    04578
    intell = more expensive for equal speed at this point and im not really familar with intell so someone will have to do that build for you i gave a decent starting point to work from for amd because the only way to get a quad for cheap thats fast is AMD hell if you change out the Phenom II 955 for a Athlon II x4 630 propus you can cut the price by $50 and still get a decent quadcore

    you can change the PSU to a 500-550 watt and get rid of the 1 terabyte HDD for a 500gig point is tho in terms of speed at that price point your probably going to have a hard time finding something better then what i listed

    changing to a 550watt PSU and a 500gig HDD should save about $20-25 switch out the Phenom II 955 ( i still highly recommend it) to an Athlon II X4 630 and you can save $50 thats $70-75 saved right there and you can save another $10 by dropping down 1 lvl on the asus boards but the point is what you lose is alot just to save a few $$$

    anyway i respectfully ask any other forum goer to take a crack at this with an intel build and see if you can equal it with cpu / gpu / etc with everything included and the only thing i can think of is an intel dual core or a i5 750 but thats still more expensive meaning a lesser gpu to get there

    the AM3 platform offers the ability to upgrade to a 6 core CPU later as well as crossfire and the 5850 slaughters every game out there
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2010
  15. hdwizard

    hdwizard New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Budget is not really the problem. I am just very value oriented and want to make sure (if possible) that I can up grade the rig and run it for 5 or 6 years. I have to say I love this forum, might get me divorced though! I have spent at least 10 hours reading here since I joined.
     
  16. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,171 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,811
    Location:
    04578
    well quadcore now 6 core thuban later 4 gigs ram now 8gigs + later 1terabyte HDD now SSD later 5850 now 2 5850s later or a better gpu from the next series etc
     
  17. hdwizard

    hdwizard New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Very cool. That is what I needed to see.
     
  18. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,171 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,811
    Location:
    04578
    so you can save money if needed but the Phenom II i still highly recommend

    WoW isnt the most demanding game its actually a crappy game in its optimization in that it dosent use multiple threads well it has crappy SLI or Crossfire suport basically you can spend $5000 on a PC but its still gonna lag with wow in certain cities not because of the PC not being fast enough but because WoW dosent use resources effectively now with that said the rig i specced out above will run Crysis at High settings and depending on resolution Very High settings and be fluid at least point with the rig above you have to wait for Game devs and software companies to actually CATCH UP since most games / software uses 2 cores at max

    you have to remember WoW is a 6 year old game its based during a time when games like the Elder Scrolls III Morrowind were popular back when 1ghz processors could still run games etc the game just isnt up to using hardware as it should but with that said if Blizzard ever makes a new MMO from the ground up well at least you can play that for another 6 years :roll:
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2010
  19. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I've found WOW actually performs better with integrated graphics then proper graphics cards.
     
    musek and crazyeyesreaper say thanks.
  20. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,171 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,811
    Location:
    04578
    there ya go ^^ epic point made thank you panterx12

    id thank the post more then once but im unable to
     
  21. musek

    musek

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    367 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Europe -> Poland...
    And because I don't like WOW i can give you my own thank you. :D

    But seriously, hdwizard, with budget like that, go with the rig that crazyeyesreaper's made for you. It's golden and future-proof. :cool:
     
  22. surfingerman

    surfingerman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    209 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    you can probably save another 10-20 on the OS if you check ebay
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2010
  23. werez

    werez New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Romania
    My suggestions :
    MOTHERBOARD : http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...398&cm_re=gigabyte_am3-_-13-128-398-_-Product ( it is crossfire capable , but i advise you to go for a single card setup / a really strong GPU will provide you enough performance for all the games , and will save you some money that you can invest in another component )
    RAM : http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...145260&cm_re=ddr3_1600-_-20-145-260-_-Product
    CASE : http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811112237&cm_re=lancool-_-11-112-237-_-Product ( there are other alternatives .. i just picked one that i like ... there are cheaper ones that do the same job ... )
    CPU : http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...08&cm_re=phenom_II_955-_-19-103-808-_-Product ( keep the stock cooler - trust me it does it's job if you don't overclock / or mild overclocking without voltage tweaking )
    HDD : http://www.newegg.com/Shopping/ShoppingItem.aspx?ItemList=N82E16822136319
    PSU : http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139004&cm_re=corsair-_-17-139-004-_-Product
    VCARD : http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131184

    And that is less than 900$ .
    From what i'm reading you don`t actually need an HD5850 , so if you want to save some money go for a combo PHENOM II x3 720 / HD5770 and in time buy another one . IF you want a single video card setup you should wait because in February the HD5830 will launch , and i believe it will be 50$ cheaper and that will be a really good deal . The corsair PSU will do the job anyway you want to go .
     
  24. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,171 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,811
    Location:
    04578
    except like everyone else you forget the damn operating system when ppl ask about a build

    if i add an operating system to your build it becomes $990 which is a mere $60 cheaper

    the asus board is better supported and is the 790x chipset the replacement for the 790gx boards not to mention you forgot a dvd burner meaning your build is $1020 making it a mere $30 difference and you have a lesser psu (not by much its still corsair so thumbs up) lesser HDD no OS and no ODD meaning the build above is basically a rehash of my own with no improvements and more things taken away for no real tangible effect on the price

    its an option sure but not one i would take to save a mere $20-30
     
  25. kyle2020 Guest

    Considering that the new i3's outperform some phenoms I wouldnt suggest the AMD route, id go for an i5 750 for a gaming rig or a hot dual core 775, like an E8600.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page