1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Pump recommendation please

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by rhc1690, Apr 1, 2013.

  1. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Bingo. He won't push 300 watts with CPU( not even 200 watts). With 2 x 7970's and CPU highly overclocked and overvolted, a 3770 plus 2 x 7970's can push 700 watts at full tilt but that's max 100% stress on all components. He won't come close to that. Maybe he will push 550-600 watts and I would think that is pushing it. Plus, he isn't even listing what CPU he is going to use. That is what is killing me with him wanting 3 rads.
     
    xvi says thanks.
  2. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ive already stated im using the fx 8350
     
  3. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,057 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,290
    Location:
    Washington, US
    In my experiences, Drdeathx is often blunt and to the point, but rarely wrong. I wouldn't dismiss his advice too quickly.

    Bumping because I'm curious about a similar thing. (In my opinion,) a third radiator would most likely have insignificant gains, but you could always do it "because it'd be cool". I recently did ~100 watts through a 80mm radiator and it held up much better than expected.

    I've been looking at Bmaverick's DDC-1 FS thread and was thinking about picking up one. My planned loop is a 120.3 and 120.2 with waterblock and would like to expand to up to two 5870/5970s. Haven't found much evidence to suggest the pump would be too weak for that. If all else fails, could always run two pumps.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2013
    bmaverick says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    For the readers...

    That alone will cool 3770 & 7970CF? Don't think so.
     
  5. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Try the 240 and 200. Think so. He is using a 8350 which runs cooler too. A 120.3 rad is plenty for a 3770K and 2 x 7970's. I used a 120.3 to cool my shizza, added a 120.2 that I had laying around with virtually same temps.
     
  6. bmaverick

    bmaverick

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    283 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Honky Tonk Nashville, TN
    3 RADS = more BLING :toast:

    Maybe he is F@H and needs the RADs due to 100% stress on the components for cooling. ;)

    Maybe he has an older P4 Preshott CPU that is a heat gun needing the cooling. :pimp:

    Yes, it would be nice to know more to help him out more.
     
  7. bmaverick

    bmaverick

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    283 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Honky Tonk Nashville, TN
    Yes, one pump would be fine for the CPU and one 120 RAD or one 240 RAD. Depending on the length of tubing and elbows, one pump with a performance top would be fine. If restrictions are more pronounced, two pumps with performance top(s) will do just fine. The DDC-1T (MCP350) also runs cooler than the DDC-3 series (MCP355/35X). Keeping the flow rate between 1gpm to 1.5gpm is the sweet spot for the Delta-T transfer.
     
    xvi says thanks.
  8. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    thing is before i bought the 200mm rad the 120 and the 240 was exactly what i was cooling the cpu and gpu together so only real option i had in my case was to expand to the 200mm for the cpu and leave the 120 and 240 for the gfx card and hope that when i crossfire next week that is sufficient to cool the 2 gfx cards.

    also you must be the first person i know that thinks the fx8350 is a cool running chip. also ive read more than a few reviews that claim the 8350 clocked at 5ghz pulls in excess of 300-340watts at full load.

    incidentaly when i put the cpu on the single thick 120mm rad i couldnt clock it past 4.5 without temps reaching 60c however on the 200 rad i can put the oc back upto 5ghz and temps max out at 58c after a 50 run blast of IBT
     
  9. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I cooled a 8350 and 2 x 7970's with a 120.3 rad(that would be the equivelant of your 240mm plus 120mm) at 5Ghz. You can read all you want but the 240mm and 200mm will be plenty. just trying to make things easier for you to install and make the loop less restrictive. You could always do the 240MM and the 200mm and see what shakes out. If it is not satifactory, add the 120mm. Thats a lot of plumbing inside a case.
     
  10. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,536 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,642
    I agree. Adding the third rad (120.1) would add more restriction to your loop and you will not see a noticeable amount in the reduction of your temps.
    Stick with the 240 and 200mm radiators.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    use aint listening to what im saying. the 120 and 240 is no where near enough to cool what will be 2 7970s and an fx 8350 all clocked to the hilt, christ the 120 and 240 barely cooled the cpu and gfx on there own hence why i got the 200 rad and ran it on a seperate loop. and going by the temps ive had and various dif loop setups etc and going by the many threads on the net with people complaining of high temps running small rads etc i think they way its setup just now is probably the best i can get without some serious mods to my case and putting in a 360 rad.
     
  12. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Fyi, my loop is oversized, 9x120 MO-RA3 + dual 140x3 radiators.

    I saw a drop in temperatures from single MO-RA3 to MO-RA3 + dual 140x3, not huge but noticeable.
     
  13. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    I was listening, you'll be OK with your planned loop. Pressure drop will be negligible. :toast:

    If you are concerned with flow rates/pressure drops or just more in depth WC info check out http://martinsliquidlab.org/

    Post some pix of your box when you get it all put together :pimp:
     
  14. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    It is. I cooled the same hardware. What don't you understand? I also cool a 3770K with 1.4 volts on the CPU and 2 x 7970's overvolted and the 3770K runs much hotter. You doing something wrong.
     
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,828 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    Since you're loading up the loop with rads, why not use two loops? You can pick up a couple MCP350's for the cost of one MCP35X. Keeping the GPU and CPU separate would do a lot for keeping things cool. :)

    I'm using one of those cheap XSPC 720 bay res/pump combo's on my GPU and it works great.
     
  16. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    The temp differences were essentially the same when i added another 240 rad. No need. it is overkill.
     
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,828 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    I don't look at it as overkill if price is going to be about the same. I'm not talking about adding a radiator, I don't know if you actually read my post.

    *Though, I wouldn't bother using the 120 rad.
     
  18. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs

    more plumbing and more hassle to gain maybe 2 degrees?:slap:

    He will have 3 rads and thats too much plumbing and hassle.

    1 x 120 + 1 x 240 is the same as 1 x 360. I have cooled 2 x 6970's plus a 2600K no problem with great temps and 2 x 7970's plus a 3770k at 4.9GHz bot CPU and GPU overclocked and overvolted. I added another 240 and temps stayed within 2 degrees/
     
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,828 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    For having them on a separate loop? No, there's much more gain then 2 degrees to be had. I do agree with the three rads though, I would just use two... One for each loop.
     
  20. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    LoL.

    That is all.
     
  21. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Yup, I agree but 1 loop 240>CPU>120>GPU's will be adequate
     
  22. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,412 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Think im in the same boat as you as ive a 8350 plus to 5870/50 and mobo block all cooled by 240+320 thermaltake rads (not gr8) I recommend going two pumps as one 18watt laing ddc (good pump) was not enough to keep my temps down under load ive put a shit Tt in until payday and its 10degrees better now but im thermally stuck at 4.9 atm so a better 240 rads on the cards with that pump.
    I think two pumps helped as ive a few bar all the way round my loop and strong quick flow with one it sagged after halfway round
     
    More than 25k PPD
  23. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I have no idea what going on with you guys. I cooled 2 x 6970's and 8350, 2 x 7970's 8350, 2 x 7970's 3770K with no problems with a Thermalchill TA 120.3 Overclocked to 5GHz on both with great temps. Perhaps it the crappy Thermaltake rads.
     
  24. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    685
    That fookn rad can handle a TON compared to most of today...that rad, IIRC, is a double thick, old school, on of the best rads. With decent fans that rad wont flinch at 400W and a 10C(ish) delta.
     
  25. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,412 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Different chips ,, im hopeing its the cheap ass 240 the 320 is actually very good but I've push pull fans all round im hopeing to get five ghz stable but using amds overdrive for stab testing I get 64+ temps at five 1.48corev
     
    More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page