1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PunkBuster Fixes

Discussion in 'Games' started by TheMailMan78, Mar 10, 2010.

  1. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,887 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,461
    I've been hearing a lot of people having PB (PunkBuster) problems in games lately. If you have been having an issue please try the following steps.

    1. Make sure your PB is up to date. You can do this by going to www.evenbalance.com and downloading the pbsetup application. Once you do this follow the directions on the website and you should be good to go. This will assure you have the latest PB files.

    2. If step one does not work you may be running a 64-bit OS. For some reason PB has issues updating in game with a 64-bit OS running. This means that in some cases you have to run pbsetup each time before gaming. Yes its a pain but it does work. Evenbalance knows of this issue and has been working on it for sometime now. They have made some progress but as new games come out the issue reemerges.

    3. This is something I do as a final step to PB "failing to connect" during game play. It seems to fix more than anything else. Why I don't know but who cares! It works.

    Step 1: Quit all applications.

    Step 2: Open your "Task Manager" by hitting Ctrl+Alt+Delete.

    Step 3: Find the process "PnkBstrA.exe". Once you found it right click on it and a menu should open. If done properly it should look something like this...
    [​IMG]
    Once the menu is open select "Open File Location".

    Step 4: Once you open PnkBstrA.exe location in the C: you will need to right click it again in the new window. This will bring up another menu. Once the menu is open select "Properties". This will open up yet another window. If done properly it should look something like this...
    [​IMG]
    Once this window is open click on the tab "Compatibility". In this tab there a check box in the privileges section. In this section you have the option to "Run this program as an administrator". Turn this option on.

    Step 5: Repeat step 3 and 4 for the same application "PnkBstrB.exe".

    Step 6: Close all windows and restart the computer. Once this is done try playing the game you were having an issue with. You might have a nice surprise! :toast:

    Tip: PnkBstrB.exe is located in the same exactly place as PnkBstrA.exe. When you change the rights on one just look for the other one in the same folder. DO NOT MESS WITH PnkBstrB.xtr.

    Ill update this post with more fixes as I hear about them. In the meantime happy fragging!

    UPDATE:

    Recently I got a new error. When playing Bad Company 2 it would kick me from servers with the following error "service communication exeption: punkbusterb.exe failed to initialize". To fix this issue follow these steps:

    1. Go to the BC2 application folder.
    2. Locate the "pb" folder.
    3. Delete the content of the "pb" folder but DO NOT delete the folder itself.
    4. Now you can manually update the PB using this.

    After that follow the directions above this update.
    Last edited: May 14, 2010
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,511 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,918
    This will help a lot of people with connection issues. :toast:
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,887 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,461
    Thats what I created it for. I'm hoping more people will contribute.
    Lumarra and Kovoet say thanks.
  4. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Great fix Mailman. I was having that problem with the beta. Punk Buster themselves couldn't even tell how to fix it..

    :toast:
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,887 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,461
    Im glad to hear it helped! If you find anymore fixes PM me and Ill post them up with credit to you!
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,887 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,461
    Update to the first post. I now have a fix for the "service communication exeption: punkbusterb.exe failed to initialize" error.
  7. 00Neven New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't have ''PnkBstrA.exe'' process? What should I do to enable it or activate it?
  8. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,788 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    661
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Heres the fix i did when i installed BC2 on my system..(Windows 7 64 bit.)

    If you already have a game installed that runs Punkbuster just go into your game folder in your program files.

    Open the system folder and there you will find the pb setup file.

    Run the pb setup and update it.

    After you update look for the add game tab.

    Open the add game tab and find the new game you want to add,

    Sometimes it will come up on the list and sometimes you will have to add it yourself from your program files.

    After you get your game added run the update again.

    I was getting kicked every time for pb communication failure untill i did this update and now i dont have any problems at all.
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,887 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,461
    Thats the first step :)

    That mean you do not have PB installed or it didn't install correctly. Try step one in the guide. Post back with results.
  10. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    All that mess for nothing I am using Win 7 pro 64bits and just updated the Punkbuster. Then at first start of the game i just right click on icon and choose Run as administrator. With that no more pb problems and even in future you dont need the CD to be inserted anymore.
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,887 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,461
    Some people are not that lucky.
  12. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    People are getting Schannel errors when logging into BC2 using the event viewer. From what I've gathered the issue didn't exist before the game was patch.
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2010
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,887 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,461
    I haven't seen or heard of this. Do you have more info?
  14. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    TheMailMan78 says thanks.
  15. gunsmoke

    gunsmoke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    350 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    u.k.
    I used PunkBuster with cod 4 once and ALL PunkBuster Did was balls up my game play on line,
    With lag in mp playing cod 4 i was geting KICK,T from the game it was all ways saying i
    Dont have PunkBuster running when playing cod 4 when i DId have it running
    Now i never use it FULL STOP!!!!!!! all the bugs and crap code in PunkBuster suck like a hole
    In the head,
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,974 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    bump for old, but still helpful thread.


    info like this is why we dont ban themailman!
  17. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Haha indeed. I didn't read every post but I assume the PBSetup.exe is mentioned as well.
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,887 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,461
    Everything you need to know is in the first post. Any new solutions I find I post there.
  19. T3kl0rd

    T3kl0rd

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    490 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    I'm running a 64 bit OS but don't receive the PB error messages. PB doens't update in-game automatically like it is supposed to, I have to use pbsetup.

    Too bad people get around PB easily in games. I see people wrecklessly flaunting how much they can aimbot while being banned.
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,887 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,461
    I used to have the same issue. Have you tried running all the background PB processes as an Admin? That fixed the issue on some games. Other games I had to run both the processes AND the game as an admin. Post back and let me know if it works.
  21. T3kl0rd

    T3kl0rd

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    490 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    ATM, I'm using PB in BFBC2 only and it works just fine without reconfiguring anything. Some servers state they are updating your PB client but they never do. PBSetup isn't hard to use.
  22. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,348 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    940
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    Thanks:respect:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,887 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,461
    I agree its not difficult to use but thats not really the point. You shouldn't have to use it at all. Just adjust the admin settings and see if it works.
  24. T3kl0rd

    T3kl0rd

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    490 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    PB is up to date for BFBC2, no way to test it.
  25. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    I have a buddy who is having all hell with PB trying to play BFBC2... I linked him to this page, I so hope this will fix it for him!!!

    I'll (or he'll) let you know!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page