1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Q660 cpu with 4GB DDR2 800 & 7970 ghz edt

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by i9000gt, Mar 4, 2013.

  1. i9000gt

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    55 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Doesnt do it with my 69502gb. I've got sea sonic s12 600w thought that was fine. Hmmmm :-/
  2. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    that 7970 can a eat around 100w more power than a 6950, do you have the posibility to test it with another psu wich has the proper power cables?.

    look at 7970 ghz ed vs 6950 there's quite the difference.
    [​IMG]
    i9000gt says thanks.
  3. i9000gt

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    55 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    thanks for that, now u got me curious! when it doesnt shut down, bf3 feels really laggy would that also be due to a psu issues?
  4. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    sure, it could be. Did you buyed new mobo +cpu or is it on the old q6600 ?
    i9000gt says thanks.
  5. i9000gt

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    55 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i still got the q600 with 4gb ddr2 ram. i only took out the 69502gb yesterday which was working fine.....


    im starting to look at psu's now lol.
  6. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,514 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,160
    Check the temps first. It could be something else entirely.
    i9000gt says thanks.
  7. i9000gt

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    55 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    temps seem fine at 60c.....anyone know any good psu? im looking at corsairs tx750.....
  8. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,658
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Yea, your PSU has 2x 18a 12v rails.. It only has 1x PCI-E 6pin. So, you are using a molex to 6-8pin adapter with the 6pin. You need to make sure you're using both 12v rails on the 7970. So, you can try switching around with different molex plugs on the adapter. I'm not sure on the 7970, but my GTX680 needs at least 38a and the 7970 is a little more power hungry.
    If you are using both rails then you can try underclocking until you get a new PSU and yes the TX750 is a great PSU and has a beefy single 12v rail. :toast:
    i9000gt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. i9000gt

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    55 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    thanks for that bit of info..... :) what should i underclock it too????????
  10. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,658
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I would try switching around your molex cables first and see which config is the stablest. Then you can try underclocking if that doesn't totally fix your problem. Well at stock a HD7970's core is 925.. So, I would start out at -5 increments until is stable. :toast:

    EDIT: Wait your PSU has 2x 6pin.. So, your using both correct? if so then they should be on different 12v rails.. So, yea your only option is to underclock until you get a new PSU.
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2013
    i9000gt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. i9000gt

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    55 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    lol yeah i was well confused.

    shall i reduce both gpu clock and memory clock by -5 increments????
  12. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,111 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    294
    Location:
    CZ
    To lower power consumption go to 1v or less if you can on the core and take clocks to 900mhz then lower the power slider to -20% also take your mem to 1250mhz and see how low you can get the voltage without crashing the computer this will get you slightly under 7970 non Ghz performance.
    Also when you buy the new mobo+CPU+RAM I strongly recommend 8GB ram as on my rig I measured 6.3GB mem usage when I had a game + a couple of apps open at the same time after 4 days of nonstop usage. A slow 8GB kit is much better than a fast 4GB kit as no matter how fast your RAM is once it's full frequency won't let you store more data in it. 4GB will almost definitely cause a bottleneck.
    i9000gt says thanks.
  13. i9000gt

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    55 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    cool thanks. i'll follow those instructions as i wait for my new psu. ive notices reducing the graphics quality to med-low on bf3 doesnt cuase the pc to shut down anymore. never seen bf3 look so ugly in my life.
  14. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    Never. 38 amps x 12v = 456w

    @i9000gt Please tell me your exact psu model
    i9000gt says thanks.
  15. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,658
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I'm quoting from the specs of the GTX680
    He already stated in this thread what he's using.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. i9000gt

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    55 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I've got the seasonic s12 600watts
  17. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,838 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,943
    The minimum recommendation is always way higher than what the actual card requires, because when making that recommendation they have to include the rest of the system, and they always guess high.

    If you look at the actual power use by just the card the GTX680 only uses about 186w, or ~15.5 amps. The HD7970 GHz Ed. on the other hand uses about 238w, which is ~19.8 amps.

    My guess the problem is that the HD7970 is hitting the over current limit on the 12v rail and the PSU is shutting the computer down, since a single 12v rail is limited to 18A. My guess is also that both PCI-E power connectors are on the same 12v rail. A poor design, but not exactly uncommon in cheaper power supplies. It isn't uncommon to see the CPU and Molex/SATA connectors on one rail and the PCI-E power connectors on their own rail. Or even just the CPU on one rail and the PCI-E and Molex/SATA on the other. In this case the GPU would be hitting the power limit and shutting down the computer.

    Either way, I'd look for a power supply that is better, as that Seasonic barely qualifies as a 500w unit. In fact I've seen 500w units with more balls than that Seasonic.

    So yes, if you are looking at a TX750, go for it. That is an extremely good PSU, and way better than what you have now. And if you can, overclock your CPU. The Q6600 is going to hold you back, but if you push it to 3.0GHz+(and they easily do that) then the bottleneck will be a lot less noticeable.
    i9000gt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    i9000gt says thanks.
  19. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,376 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    With my old q6600 the secret was to find the stable fsb points as some didn't work well like 333, 366 some worked well like 300 350 400 then adjust mem multi to bring it in spec obv at 400 I ran a lower core multi of 8 but the higher fsb helped a lot
    i9000gt says thanks.
  20. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,658
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Hey guys I know you're right, but I'm still just quoting the min specs from Nvidia.. Hell if I would have said anything other than that, then someone else would have came in and said your WRONG the min spec is bla bla bla.. hehehe Notice I didn't tell the guy to not try it.. ;)

    EDIT: and that PSU is pretty old.. Hell that review is from 2005.. If that PSU is pushing that much i'd be surprised.. lol
    i9000gt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    No worries. :)
    i9000gt and Mindweaver say thanks.
  22. i9000gt

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    55 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    k wicked guys thanks for all your input knew this would be the best forum to come too!!!! u guys been really helpful!!

    ive ordered the new psu corsair tx series and should be coming in tomorrow! i'll definitely post my findings. given what u guys have concluded I agree most likely an psu fault and nothing to do with the gpu. gonna keep an eye out for the corsair tx v2 series as the one ive ordered is the first edition but im sure it'll do the job for now. :)
  23. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,658
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Nice! You'll like that PSU. I've used it to push 2x 5850 toxics in CF then GTX570, and It'll push my GTX680 coming in today. :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. i9000gt

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    55 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    680 wow on par with the 7970ghz! lol bout time i upgraded my psu too its been eight years served me well!
  25. i9000gt

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    55 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page