1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Q6600 and need MOBO Advise

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by MarcusTaz, Jul 5, 2007.

  1. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ
    Gentlemen, I just purchased an Intel Q6600 Quad core. I own an ATI 2900XT and I want the ability to go crossfire one day. But it seems that crossfire support mobo's are just plain hard to find as least with Asus who will be the manufacture I go with. Doing my own research I see the new P35 series but all the models seems to only support 1 slot at 16x and the other @ 4x or 1x... I just do not understand this limitation especially if it is the latest and greatest Intel has to offer. the same problem seem to exisit with the 965x series chipsets. Sure you can get crossfire in them but at the expence of the slave/2nd card running @ 4x. The only chipset that seems to support crossfire @ 16x16 is the older 975x chipset and the particualr mobo I am looking at is the:

    ASUS P5W DH DELUXE/WIFI-AP LGA 775 Intel 975X ATX Intel Motherboard

    Yes it is dated and even clasified on Asus's website as "older products"

    I do not get it and moving on from Asus AMD ATI 3200 chipset to Intel is a bit confusing to say the least. Any helpful knowledgable advise would be greatly aprreciated.


    Thanks!
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    x35 shall be greater ...
  3. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    I don't think 975x supports x-fire @ x16 and x16, I thinks its x8 and x8, but could be something else.

    THEIR IS NO CROSSFIRE x16, x16 mobo....dont ask me why :(

    I've got a P5k in the mail, be here tomorrow, its supposed to do 500-600fsb



    Thats gonna be a nice rig...
  4. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    aren't sli boards 16x 16x? or is it 8x 8x?

    and why the hell are there no 16 x 2 mobo's for xfire! thats just fucked up!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    yeah the newest sli's are x16 and x16....

    ATI apparently hasn't figured out how to do x16 and x16...sux for the fanboi's :p
  6. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ
    Yea this is a big let down. Mediocre are you sure man??? It does say PCI Express 16x2
  7. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
  8. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,699 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    960
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    No, that mobo still does x8 on each PCIe card when in Crossfire:

    Dunno of an Intel mobo that can do x16 for each card in crossfire...
  9. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ
    This is rediculous man. WTF is AMD doing??? I mean the 680i has been out for quite some time and Nvidia can do SLI 16x2 (the drivers are horrible this I know) but I mean all this time and still not 16x2? I give up man... how can this company not give us a chip to run their premier card on in crossfire 16x2....

    Frustrated....


    Seems like the old 975x is the one to go with, old technology but still 200 bucks on neweg for a decent mobo... nuts plain nuts...


    Bro thanks for the link to newegg but I would never go with DFI.. They do make great mobos for OCing but their support is horrendous...
  10. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
  11. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ


    Fusion Block System - water cooled northbridge (Blitz Extreme only)
    Crosslinx technology - CrossFire with two 8x PCIe lines
    CPU Level Up - OC CPU function
    COP EX to protect NB/SB and GPU from overheating
    2-Phase DDR including Voltminder LEDs and an external LCD poster

    yea still 8x8, but maybe it is wasted bandwidth as some others have said. Who knows..

    Thanks boys for all your input.. I will let you know how the intel rig runs my 2900xt. I wanted to hold out for the AMD quad but for 299.99 I could not pass it up and I have had it with my X2-4800...
  12. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ
  13. Cuzza

    Cuzza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    New Zealand
  14. Cuzza

    Cuzza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Why is that? Do intel just keep the price high so that people adopt the new stuff ?
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
  16. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ
    Well acording to the specs the X38 will also be 8x8 in crossfire. I went ahead and got the:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131025

    975X guys, I cannot wait for the X38, I will have this CPU on Monday and want her up and running ASAP. You know us gamers... :roll: Crossfire will be a little time off for now so this should do until I upgrade again....

    Thanks boys for your input really appreciated
  17. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,699 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    960
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Having Crossfire at 8x8 shouldn't be too detrimental on your performance anyway, so good luck with your mobo :)
    MarcusTaz says thanks.
  18. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ
    Thanks mate!! I am so excited to get this proc... I know one thing for sure, no more CPU bottleneck and my 2900XT will scream!! w00t!!!
  19. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Where did you find the specs? I just assumed it was 16+16 because no info on any of them stated 8+8. If it really is 8+8, I'm truly gonna be disappointed.

    Oh, and that's still a good board you chose.
  20. The Nemesis New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mansfield, TX
    I hope you researched that board & know that you won't get over 3 GHz with that board. Most 975X boards do not overclock quad cores well. 300-320FSB or so.
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    That's getting better with BIOS updates.
  22. The Nemesis New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mansfield, TX
    Have they hit 400FSB yet? What's the max you know of? I wouldn't mind putting my Q6600 in my P5W DH when the G0 stepping Quad cores become available.
  23. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ
    IS that so? where did you get your research from? I would love to know and read up on it... Everythign I read with the latest bios it OC just fine, but I have been AMD for some years now so i am a bit of an Intel n00b. And you wait till now to post this info!!! :wtf:
  24. The Nemesis New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mansfield, TX
    Last place I saw it mentioned was waaay back here.
  25. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page