1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Q6600 + Cosair H50 / Coolit ECO: worth it or not?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by qu4k3r, Jan 5, 2011.

  1. qu4k3r

    qu4k3r

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    253 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Valencia, Venezuela
    Hi, I'm just a little curious about if changing my ocz vendetta for one of those liquid cooling kits worth it or not.

    I searched some reviews of both kits, but I only found which use them with non skt755 cpus.

    Vendetta cooler worked very fine at full load with my former E7200 (413x8 @1.3625v) reached 63ºC but with Q6600 (400x8 @1.4325v) reaches 67-73ºC.

    So I'd like to know if I buy H50 or Eco what could I expect from them?
    I can add them other 12cm 1800rpm fan to make a push/pull setup.
    Maybe could I reach 3.6GHz (400x9 or 450x8)?

    Waiting for advises, thanks in advance.-
     
  2. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,602 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    My suggestion is to save the $70+ on a liquid cooling kit and upgrade that Q6600 to a Q8300 or better. I still have my old Q6600 but it is a hot running chip. With a huge custom watercooling setup I was able to hit 4.1Ghz on it but the heat output was immense.

    So IMO the best way to reduce heat and increase clock speed is with a new chip at lower microns. 65nm vs 45nm.

    You could even get $70 to $100 for your Q6600 depending on step/revision.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2011
    qu4k3r says thanks.
  3. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    The temp different won't be significant enough to warrant the cost. Plus, the next time you upgrade your system, processors will be running so cool that the stock heatsink would do a modest job.
     
    qu4k3r says thanks.
  4. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    I would say its not worth it with the case you have. I would upgrade hardware instead like ZenZimZaliben.
     
    qu4k3r says thanks.
  5. meow1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    45 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    If you dont want to invest time, money and effort into a full water cooling kit, then make an ECO or H50/H70 part of your next upgrade.
    For your current setup, you will experience around 2-3 degrees drop at the most (according to most reviews). I personally would wait for the next build.

    I am currently using an ECO in push/pull exhaust and its good for my needs. 1090T @ 4.1 ghz & 1.42V peaks out at 52 degrees in most stress tests.
     
    qu4k3r says thanks.
  6. Play3r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    i would buy a different cpu rather than upgrading to water cooling.

    but honestly i would say just keep things the way they are and wait until your next big upgrade.

    also toggle with your voltage a bit i used to have a Q6600 but i cant remember what settings i had but i think you should be able to reach 3.6ghz at around 1.4v, but maybe i just had a good chip.
     
  7. gumpty

    gumpty

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    744 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Auckland
    I've not heard great things about the CoolIT ECO, which is why I went with the H50 personally.

    But that aside ... if all you're worried about is cooling then I wouldn't bother with either just yet. I got mine pretty much for the sole reason that it takes up less room in my case than my old tower cooler, leaving the motherboard less cluttered and more workable. The temps are better too - but not by a great deal.
     
  8. meow1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    45 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Rest assured, if installed correctly, it works great. Just get good fans and do a push-pull. Personal experience.

    OP, play around with the voltages, upgrade to Sandy Bridge when you can (2600K will be priced at $319. thats a GOOD deal) and think about cooling then. If you invest in cooling now, it might work with your current setup, but not with your next.
     
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,778 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,004
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Low end CPU's, maybe. But high end, i doubt it. Even if they'll make the chip smaller, there will be more cores and more threads, resulting in at least the same level of heat if not more.
    Also, once you're overclocking, the temps go sky high, regardless of the cooler. I'm talking 4GHz and beyond here.
     
  10. meow1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    45 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Sandy bridge went at 4.4GHz on air.

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/4083/...ore-i5-2600k-i5-2500k-and-core-i3-2100-tested

    As long as they keep improving the architecture, temperatures will keep getting more and more reasonable allowing for crazier overclocks.
     
  11. pitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    quad 6600 working great : 450*8 and temp is maxim 34 load , idle is 26-27 celsius !
     
    qu4k3r says thanks.
  12. qu4k3r

    qu4k3r

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    253 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Valencia, Venezuela
    VID?
    CPU Voltage Control?
    FSB OverVoltage Control?
    (G)MCH OverVoltage Control?

    My Q6600 is VID=1.3250v and to do 400x8 needs:
    CPU Voltage Control: 1.43125v
    FSB OverVoltage Control: Normal
    (G)MCH OverVoltage Control: Normal

    I think that's the reason it's a little hot and dont know if WC could really help.
     
  13. pitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2

    Attached Files:

    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      207.1 KB
      Views:
      112
    qu4k3r says thanks.
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,732 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,199
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Talk to Josh154, he ran a H50 with Q6600 G0 for a while
     
    qu4k3r says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,251 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  16. pitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    for those who do not want to put 2 pounds of tin on the motherboard is an option! quiet, easy and motherboard is very airy.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page