1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Q6600 Danger temps?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by JC316, Dec 26, 2007.

  1. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    I picked up a Q6600 G0 today and I had a question about the temperatures. What is the danger zone for one of these processors?
     
  2. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I would not let it get higher then 60/65.

    They can take more though.
     
    JC316 says thanks.
  3. Richieb0y

    Richieb0y New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    471 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands Almere
    72c is the limet but just like tech said let it not go high then 65c
     
    JC316 says thanks.
  4. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Ok, I will stick to my normal 60*C max. Quick question though, is that 65*C in TAT, or 65*C in Bios?
     
  5. Richieb0y

    Richieb0y New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    471 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands Almere

    i dont use TAT i use speedfan

    but still i look in tat & coretemp for load temps then when i know its safe i del tat
     
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,932 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    Screw what the BIOS says. If my BIOS was right, my CPU would never survive.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,369 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,673
    70C load is fine. use coretemp (latest version) to read the temps.

    TAT and speedfan cant read G0 cores right, they're 15C too low.
     
    Wile E says thanks.
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Thanks Mussels. Good to know. My new mobo (Maximus Formula) comes on Friday, and I'll be getting my Q6600 up and running this weekend.
     
  9. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,588 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    if you want to be on the safe side use rightmark cpu clock utility and watch for your cpu to start throttling itself, if it does start to do this it means it is getting too hot.

    dif chips do it at dif temps and it is a sure fire way to make sure your getting the full performance out of your overclock, as there is no point having it setup if you are only ever running at 50% of your accutual speed because its slowing itself down when you put it under full load.
     
  10. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    tat and core temp cant read my E6750 cpu temps at all.. tat errors and coretemp produces an instant reset (system crash) when the executable is clicked..

    soo to be honest i wouldnt take any of em as gospel.. my abit guru says a nice reassuring 22 C in the bios and 40 C going balls out at 3.8 gig.. not as i trust that either but it looks good..

    trog
     
  11. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Ok, just to make things clear with temps on the Q6600. Their tjunction temp is 100c. Best way to monitor these chips is to use coretemp, and set the option to "degrees to tjunction". Keep in mind that the cores run about 15c hotter than the cpu temp. General rule is to try and keep temps 20-25c below tjunction.
     
    hat says thanks.
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,369 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,673
    which would be 75-80C :p

    Therefore, keeping it under 70 is a good idea, in case a fan fails or you have unusually hot weather (Someone turns the air con off, forgets to open a door/window, etc)
     
  13. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    LOL. I guess my point is that people should be aware of core temperatures, not cpu temps when looking at limitations.
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,369 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,673
    more emphasis here: on G0 quads, i find two cores are always hotter than the other two. For example

    cores 0+1 - 55C
    cores 2+3 - 70C

    Thats quite possible on say, a cooler in bad need of lapping. CPU software that gives a SINGLE result, would average that out and give you something like the low 60's - which is off by enough to be concerning.

    (speedfan etc, sometimes only show ONE core (the first they detect) which is just as misleading)
     
  15. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    So this is ok?

    [​IMG]
     
  16. largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,780 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    technicks,
    "66ºC to Tjunction remaining" means your temp is 34ºC (100ºC - 66ºC).
    Go to Options - Settings in Coretemp window and untick "Show Delta to Tjunction temp.".
     
    technicks says thanks.
  17. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Core temp don't work for me. When I try to start it, I get "Driver Failed to Load" over and over till I stop the program in task manager. In fact, Everest is the only thing that does work to read the temps.
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,369 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,673
    press F8 as your 64 bit OS is loading, and choose 'disable driver signing'

    It only works for that one boot, but it lets coretemp be happy.
     
    JC316 says thanks.
  19. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    I will give it a shot
     
  20. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Exactly. That average cpu temperature does not tell you that you have 2 cores hot as hell, and two nice and cool. Always monitor cores.
    Note: I've always had 2 cores 5-6c hotter than the other 2
     
  21. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Paulieg says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page