1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Q6600 jumping back and forth from 1.6 ghz and 2.4 ghz??

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mikel33, Nov 23, 2007.

  1. mikel33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi,

    I have a Core 2 Duo Q6600 and in Everest, the core lcock speed is jumping from 1.6 to 2.4 ghz.. why is this? shouldn't it be at a steady 2.4? CPUz also registers it at 1.6
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2007
  2. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    it called speedstep and is absolute normal don't worry it is so your cpu lower its temps and wattage consumption
  3. mikel33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So it's normal for it so show up in CPUZ at 1.6 Ghz?
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    also could be C1E.
  5. mikel33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    what is C1E?
  6. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,380 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,118
    a power saving feature in some bioses. if you enable c1e, it will reduce the fsb when the processing power is not needed. if you enable speedstep, it will drop the multiplier.
    in order to figure out which is enabled without rebooting, post a screenshot of cpuz.
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,866 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Disable Speedstep and C1E in the BIOS if available. Then it will be a solid 2.4GHz.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    I would also say this is down to SpeedStep and/or C1E.....basically just disable all thermal monitoring ;)

    PS: drop your multiplyer to 8x and raise your FSB to 400 (1600 effective) and get that baby running @ 3.2GHz :rockout:
  9. mikel33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks guys!
  10. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,866 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, get that bi*** running at 3.2gig 400FSB 1:1 ratio for DDR800
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. mikel33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    yeah, after I get some water cooling,, I really can't afford to take chances, esp with my experience with overclocking (none, lol)
  12. black light burns

    black light burns New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    151 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    what are your temps? Use core temp and post a SS so we can see the temps.I am sure you could do some OCing if the temps will let you. many other members and I would be happy to help. :toast:
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,866 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    You don't need water cooling to OC. In fact, you don't even need any aftermaket cooling to OC. As long as you don't overvolt, there's virtually no temperature increace.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. black light burns

    black light burns New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    151 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    hat is right. Anyways you have after market cooling so you should be fine without alot of voltage
  15. mikel33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Here are the temps.
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2008
  16. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    I'm afraid 3.2GHz (quadcore @ 9x 356MHz) isn't going to happen on the abit AW9D (i975X chipset)...
    :(
  17. mikel33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Why is that? I bought this motherboard because it had great reviews on it's overclocking capabilities..
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2007
  18. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    FSB scaling on i975X is much worse with quadcores than duallies.
  19. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,380 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,118
    you wanna try that again?
    check hwbot, many of the top oc's on this chip are on the abit aw9d max or the asus p5w dh, both are 975x boards.
  20. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,866 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    pwn'd
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. mikel33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Sooo... I'm ready to listen, haha :)
  22. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,866 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Looking at your cpu cooler, it seems like it would be pretty much around the performance level of a AC Freezer 7.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. mikel33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    The reviews on the revolution were pretty sweet.. I'm sure it's more than up to the task.
  24. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,380 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,118
    the revolution is actually a very under rated cooler. it does better than the arctic freezer 7, and the fan is easier to change.
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    Perhaps you should start off with an even 3.0ghz.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page