1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Q6600 Owners, What Fan/Heatsink use for Overclock?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Kusimeka, Sep 25, 2007.

  1. Kusimeka

    Kusimeka

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hey everyone, as the title sais, what's the best heatsink / cpu fan cooler for the Q6600, preferably not too expensive, i'm looking to overclock to about 3-3.2 ghz

    Thanks!

    Edit: Oh, and also will a Q6600 overclock fine with a Asus P5k?
  2. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro - Budget
    Tuniq Tower - Reasonable
    Thermalright Ultra 120 EXtreme -Expenive
    Zalman CNPS 9700LED Cu - Expensive
    Kusimeka says thanks.
  3. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    vanilla version of mobo?

    Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro
    Kusimeka says thanks.
  4. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    dont get the p5k, its got bad vdroop and some say its got shitty ocing and others dont, not a good board overall, get the deluxe premium or e or just get a gigabyte, the clock higher.
    Kusimeka says thanks.
  5. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    heard teh quads kill that board ...
    Kusimeka says thanks.
  6. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,357 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    902
    I would get a Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3. Any version is good and I would go for the Freezer pro.
    Kusimeka says thanks.
  7. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    theres the scythe infinity, the freezer pro, the ultra 120, the thermaltake max orb, all great coolers. and some zalman ones are good too.
    Kusimeka says thanks.
  8. driver66

    driver66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,046 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    indiana
    Abit IP-35 period ;)
    Kusimeka says thanks.
  9. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Works great for me...horrible Vdroop though...great for $130 (mine hits 480fsb @ 9x multi = 4.32GHz :eek: but reallly hot!)

    Using a custom Liquid setup now. I have horrible flow rate though, need a better pump


    Stuff to note with quads:

    They run ALOT hotter than people want you to believe. I've found my new load temp is MUCH higher (52c:cry:)

    Just download a GAME that is multi-threaded (frontlines - Fuel of War - Beta) and run it. The added heat from your PSU and GFX would surprise you...my buddies Q6700 overheated an rebooted (10x333 w/Zalman 9700 & 8800gtx) after 2hrs..

    and Pancho :slap:
    :roll: :p
    Kusimeka says thanks.
  10. Richieb0y

    Richieb0y New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    471 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands Almere
    Freezer pro 7 all the way
    Kusimeka says thanks.
  11. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    On a budget, the AC Freezer 7 pro is the best price-performance, period. Mine handled moderate overclocking on my Q6600 like a champ (>3.4ghz). I've moved to water cooling, so I do have a lapped freezer 7 for sale, if your interested.
    Kusimeka says thanks.
  12. Kusimeka

    Kusimeka

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks alot guys, and thanks for the offer paul but i'm gonna be buying them in a bundle so all is fine :)
  13. orionbg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Sorry for the offtopic but a little question.

    I had an ASUS P5N-E SLI Mobo nForce 650i SLI and with Core2 E6300 everything woked fine and the CPU worked at 3.15GHz without any problems! Now I have a Core2 Quad Q6600 and it is imposible to push it any further than 1100MHz FSB!!!

    E6300 1800MHz FSB and Q6600 1100MHz FSB ?!?!?!?
    I hoped fot atleast 1333MHz FSB but no! The system fill freeze in bios even at 1200MHz FSB. I thought that the mobo is not in order and get myself an ASUS P5N32-E SLI nForce 680i SLI. but the same thing!

    I'm going to think that the CPU just can't overclock but it is the newer G0 stepping.

    700w PSU Fortron Epsilon
    Active cooling on the CPU PWM area
    and everything that I have thought of.

    Ideas?
  14. Kusimeka

    Kusimeka

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm yeah i'd like to know whats up with that too orion, for me its either the:

    P5K-E/WIFI-AP or

    gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R

    gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (seems like the same board just minus the C, could you guys help me with the diffrence between this and the C version?)

    The gigabyte boards are about £25 ($50) cheaper than the asus P5k-E, i'm going to be overclocking my Q6600, what board would you guys suggest?
  15. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    439 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    I have heard some good things about the eVGA 680i boards for good OCing on the quads. Mine is to new, so I won't be pushing it it yet (feels miles ahead of my old laptop). They are a little finicky to work with (like american mechanics working on a VW. They can do it, but they hate it).

    I run mine with the Freezer 7 right now, and it is great. During my SuperPi tests I have yet to see the cores go above 30c. I have a post about an oddity in my speedfan, but from what people are telling me it is normal.

    The freezer 7 won't let you down regardless.

    NOTE: Be sure to get some of that Artic Cooler thermal paste remover and take the stock paste off the heatsink. If you want some MX-1 or Artic Silver on there, it it easy as hell. Its 5 bucks but hey, 5 bucks is really nothing. Made me sleep better that night.

    edit: if you look at reviews, remember that there are idiots on Newegg, look at more to get a good idea.
  16. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
  17. driver66

    driver66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,046 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    indiana
    Kusimeka says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page